We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Meridien Nice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Nice
Ranked #73 of 204 Hotels in Nice
New York City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed 9 October 2010

outstanding staff, location and quality. i look forward to returning in the near future. We enjoyed our stay in Nice and would highly recommend this hotel for sophisticated travelers that expect the finest things in life.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP2553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, 12 October 2010
Dear JP 2553,
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor.
I was sincerely happy to learn how much you enjoyed your recent stay at Le Méridien Nice and look forward to your return visit in the near future.
With my best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    690
    443
    233
    142
See reviews for
329
817
80
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Loved the Meridien...! The location was perfect as it was close to everything and you could walk virtually where ever you want to go.
Many restaurants, shops etc..within walking distance. I would recommend definately getting a sea view room - the rooms on the otherside of the hall did not look as nice and perhaps were not renovated yet.
We found the front desk was helpful with dinner reservations as well as arranging transportation. No issues here!
Don't hesitate as we really enjoyed our stay!
Have a cocktail at the Roof Bar - what a beautiful view!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, 12 October 2010
Dear Luv2travel67
I'm delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at Le Méridien Nice and that you were taken care of by our friendly and helpful staff. I'll ensure that your comments are shared with them.
Our hotel has indeed a great location, with spectacular views overlooking the Mediterranean and the famous Promenade des Anglais; it's only a stone's throw from the old town; the pedestrian zone, with the exclusive shops, is just around the corner.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again. Don't hesitate to contact us, we would be more than happy to assist you with your reservation.
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on this website.
With my best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Based on several previous negative reviews of Le Meridien Nice here on TripAdvisor, I approached our stay thinking "will this be the worst-ever use of 12,000 SPG points?".

What a most pleasant surprise my wife & I got when we arrived at the hotel and found it to be nothing near as bad as some reviews had led us to expect.

We took the escalator up to the hotel lobby, where we received a warm and friendly welcome. Even though we were using SPG points for our stay, we were upgraded to a Deluxe room, on Floor 8.

Our room was very large and spacious, with a balcony providing great views overlooking the Baie des Anges.

The bathroom was surprisingly big (by European standards), with a combined bath/shower.

We didn't dine in the hotel, but the restaurant was busy at breakfast when we went out for a walk.

Staff were attentive and friendly whenever we asked for directions or assistance.

We found Nice itself to be an unexpected treasure (we especially enjoyed walking through the many lanes and alleyways of the Old Town), and wished that we had more time to stay and discover Nice.

Should we ever return to Nice, we would not hesitate to stay again at Le Meridien Nice.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, 12 October 2010
Dear BrisbaneYankee,
I am delighted that you were given the opportunity to make your own opinion about Le Méridien Nice and that you were pleasantly surprised.
Thank you for giving us such a wonderfully honest account of your stay.
I do hope that your travel plans permit you to return to Nice in the not too distant future.
With my best regards

Pabli Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Wonderful location is what it has going for it - stayed deluxe room 7 th floor with great views - the room was very clean so all good so far. Check in however was a mess, just too busy and waited for about 30 minutes. Staff were fine though justvery slow.

The room itself had a great balcony but was incredibly small and felt bit claustriphobic despite the views.

Breakfast very nice but just felt like wanting more either from hotel or room - would try others before I came back here

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Argie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, 5 October 2010
Dear Argie73,
Firstly, may I thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding your stay at Le Méridien Nice.
I was glad to read that you enjoyed our location, the fantastic views and the cleanliness of your 7th floor deluxe room.
What a pity that your opinion of our friendly and helpful team at the reception was dimmed by the fact that you had to wait to check-in. In fact, the reception team is trained to give an individual personalized welcome to each and every guest to ensure that their check-in experience is second to none, which is more than likely the reason of this delay.
I do decide to return to Nice, we will be more than happy to welcome you again.
With my best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Stayed for 3 nights in a junior suite. Indeed, the location of the hotel is excellent. They have a great carrental next to the hotel (Sixt) with excellent service. Although they redesigned the suites on the top (9th) floor, and they look nice, the entre on this floor is terribly smelly. The view is nice but please be prepared for the noise of the boulevard road (which all hotels obviously have). They missed out the 4* details in the room. The design is ok, but implementation not worth a 4*. Shampoo bottle missing, towel rack broken, copied welcome card, no in-room dining, and no fast exit invoice when chekin' out. On top they know how to make money on an internet connection: with a 950EURO room they charge you for it. And WIFI is missing! Staff is o.k. as well as breakfast team. Restaurant on the top floor has o.k. food but extremely overpriced.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ybbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, 5 October 2010
Dear ybbol,
So glad that you enjoyed your 3 nights in a beautiful 9th floor junior suite.
The location of the hotel is indeed excellent, being in the heart of the city of Nice, overlooking the Mediterranean. The exclusive pedestrian shopping area is literally just around the corner and the historic Old Town is only a five minute walk away.
The noise of the Promenade can be heard whilst enjoying a relaxing moment on a comfortable teak sun-lounger on the terrace. However, this is not the case once inside every room, as new double-glazed windows and French doors were fitted during the renovations with a special anti-noise glass less than 2 years ago.
Le Méridien Nice has been completely redesigned by François Champsaur, the French interior designer, who made the most of the breathtaking views over the Mediterannean and its exceptional position basking in natural light.
Please accept our apologies for the missing shampoo bottle.
I must correct you with regards to two important aspects of our guest services :
- in-room dining is available 24 hours a day
- a speedy check-out is available upon request
I do decide to return to Nice, we will be more than happy to welcome you again.
With my best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

I visited Le Meridien Nice during September 2009. Excepting the fact that the reception tried to give me standard rooms even if I payed for executive ones for participating to an international event held there, everything was perfect.
Even so you must notice that there's a big difference between their standard and outdated rooms and the other rooms which has been renovated recently.
In my opinion the key of having a great time is to avoid standard rooms which has view over the back of hotel.
Overall the hotel is quite good with astonishing location and correct services.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cat_ioan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, 5 October 2010
Dear cat_ioan,
Firstly, thank you for writing this review.
You mention your non-renovated interior room, which provides upscale comfort in a Mediterranean style (as indicated on our website). A refurbishment programme of these interior rooms on the upper floors is now complete, with the remainder to be refurbished before the end of the year.
The location of the hotel is indeed astonishing, being in the heart of the city of Nice, overlooking the Mediterranean. The exclusive pedestrian shopping area is literally just around the corner and the historic Old Town is only a five minute walk away.
We hope to welcome you again, whenever your travel plans permit. Please do not hesitate to contact us, we would be more than happy to assist you with your reservation..
With my best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

This hotel is perfect if you want to be close to everything that Nice has to offer. We discovered that we were within easy walking distance of all the main sites and those that were further out could be easily reached by tram or bus. The hotel has a grim lower entrance that leads via an unpromising escalator up to a surprisingly nice reception area. The bar/breakfast area has a wonderful view of the Promenade des Anglais and out to sea. The rooms are well appointed and beds are very comfortable. The rooftop restaurant/pool area enjoys the best view in Nice. Food is good if a touch on the expensive side (even for Nice). Wine by the glass is ridiculously expensive (12euros for a glass of Chablis!) my only real complaint and almost worth it for the view!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, 5 October 2010
Dear CheshireJosephine,
I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent family trip at Le Méridien Nice.
I am also glad that you had time to taste the delights of our chef, Mr Giannini. Our official website has a special page "Meet the Chef" which gives a resumé about him and his delicious Mediterranean cuisine.
Thank you for having taken your time to share your comments on TripAdvisor.
I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the not too distant future.
With my best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel West End
#53 of 204 in Nice
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Nice

Property: Le Meridien Nice
Address: 1 Promenade des Anglais, 06046 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nice
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#36 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At n°1 Promenade des Anglais, Le Méridien Nice is set in the perfect location, facing the sea, right in the centre of town. Featuring a a roof top terrace with the main restaurant "La Terrasse" offering a spectacular view and a taste of the Mediterranean and a heated swimming pool, the hotel also benefits from an indoor restaurants, "Le Colonial Café," in a relaxing lounge setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Nice Hotel Nice
Meridien Nice
Nice Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing