We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Ranked #51 of 204 Hotels in Nice
GreenLeadersGold level
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient location”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This is a very nice hotel on Victor Hugo boulevard only a 5-6 minutes walk from Promenade des Anglais. There are also several restaurants on the way to the seaside.
The staff was very helpful at the hotel and also very attentive at breakfast which was very good and had a lot of options. Perhaps it needs some renovation on the outside as it may go unnoticed as you pass by. The rooms are comfortable and some of the decoration is cute reminding classic French pictures e.g. the flowery curtains you get some nostalgia feeling. Did not notice anything with airconditioning seemed ok. Some things for improvement could relate to bathroom fixings and accesories to add a more modern touch. it also has a spa, restaurant and swimming pool but did not have time to visit them. I would consider it again for my visit mostly because of good location and value for money.

Room Tip: Better not to book a room overlooking boulevard Victor Hugo; you may have view but could be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christakis1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to share your feelings about your stay with us; I was delighted you enjoyed your stay; we are at the moment preparing a 100 000 euros budget to do some renovations during the winter season, and I hope you shall see the changes on your next stay
Please do not hesitate to contact me personally the next time you come to the Splendid, thanks a lot for your comments and have a splendid week end

michel tschann - gm
g-m@splendid-nice.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    406
    196
    67
    38
See reviews for
149
474
50
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This property had very shabby look, but everything worked fine and caused no trouble. Their breakfast was very average, their swimming pool on the roof is a joke, but the hotel is very conveniently located, not overpriced and is a very exact value for money. Nothing fancy, nothing unpleasant. Stay there is what you need is just stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene3739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others know about your stay with us; I was disappointed that you did not like the hotel as much as we would have liked you to do. We are constantly struggling to improve our services and your comments will help us in that matter
Thanks for pointing out our good location
I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to the Splendid: let me know personally when you, and of course you can join us on our Facebook page "splendid hotel & spa nice"
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm
g-m@splendid-nice.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Stayed here for four nights, got free upgrade to a deluxe room which was glad we did.
Nice size room with a balcony and good view (724). However like previous reviews it was the poor air conditioning that let the room down, had it on all the time but still warm and rather stuffy.

Short walk to the beach and very central for the main shopping area and for the old town and the many restaurants and bars.

The pool area was adequate and we always managed to get a sun bed, the gate to the pool
can be rather tricky tho, most people struggled at some point.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and would probably return, unless of course I could ever afford to stay at The Negresco!!!

One more point is that it is very easy to get into central Nice from
the airport, via bus 98 which takes about 15mins and is just €4 per person.

Any questions... Feel free to ask.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matchingnailvarnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others know about your stay with us; I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for pointing out our good location
I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to the Splendid: let me know personally when you, and of course you can join us on our Facebook page "splendid hotel & spa nice"
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm
g-m@splendid-nice.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Stayed for 4 nights in a Delux room. Would agree with previous reviews - hotel is 4-star but is looking a bit faded around the edges. Nothing major, just small things like rust around various metal fitments in the bathroom and a broken shower bracket. Having read earlier comments on (lack of) air conditioning, we took a thermometer. The AC did work but only blew air at 21 C, which never managed to get the overall room temperature below 27 C, a bit hot for sleeping. As others have said, the staff were excellent.

We didn't use the hotel restaurant but found nearby a wonderful small restaurant called 'Le Maison Bleue' serving excellent local food. This isn't just another tourist restaurant. We couldn't fault either the food, the traditional atmosphere or the service and when we visited a second time, we were welcomed back with a free Aperitif (a nice touch). The restaurant is located in a small side turning about 2/3rds of the way along from the hotel to the Promenade, opposite a Subway store.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to post your comments; we were delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us "overall", and are of course attentive to your positive comments, even though some are negative
we are in the process of planning this winter's renovation and your comments shall help us in our scheduling
I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon
have a splendid evening and thanks again

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We had a superior room which was spacious and had a very good bed. We had a big bathroom with a bath tub with bubbles. The rooms were Worn and in need for renevation. We chose a superior room because we wanted a balcony.

The staff at the reception was very helpful and kind, but the service at the breakfast was very poor. The staff at the breakfast was not very cheerful and it was missing food from trays all the time.

Overall it was a good stay, but the hotel needs to be Renovated and better service at the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The hotel is very standard fare, the rooms are basic but clean and the area is quiet. The roof terrace has some wonderful views of Nice, but the pool to be honest is a bit of a disappointment, only about 7 meters long and it gets extremely crowded from very early on.

Don't bother going for breakfast, at €16 you can get better and cheaper at most of the beachfront cafes.

Unfortunately when we stayed, they were renovating the bar so I can't comment on drinks on the terrace but given the price menu on the mini bar, it was probably quite reasonable.

Room Tip: Room's away from the road have a small balcony compared to ones on the road side which are close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
bonjour
thanks for taking the time to post your comments; we were indeed repainting the bar and restaurant and am sorry for any inconvenience
The pool is indeed not olympic size, but -as you mention- it is a pleasant area to relax, and if you need a much larger "pool", the sea is 400 meters away
thanks again for your positive comments, and I look forward to welcoming you again soon
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

A very nice hotel.
Very nice reception staff especially (the older ) person I forgot his name who was very friendly , helpful, cheerful , nice and did everything to make me feel welcome.
The hotel is (5) minutes walk to the beach and , old town
shops, restaurants, bars, supermarkets, and café's are all around the hotel.
The spa, the swimming pool. And Jacuzzi are fantastic.
The room is comfortable , clean, spacey with a big balcony (6th) floor and very good coffee and tea utensils.
Everything was five star

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ali_o_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others -and ourselves- know about your stay with us. These comments are always very useful for us, and of course when they are as positive as yours, they encourage us to do better next time !
I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the Splendid
Thanks again and have a splendid evening

michel tschann
gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#20 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Centre
Hotel Nice Riviera
Hotel Nice Riviera
#50 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Hotel & Spa

Property: Splendid Hotel & Spa
Address: 50 boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Musiciens , Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Nice
#5 Spa Hotel in Nice
#29 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Splendid Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Hotel & Spa, part of the Warwick collection of hotels, is located in Nice city center, 5' walk from the beaches, casinos, shopping area and Massena Museum. Its 128 rooms and suites are elegantly furnished and very comfortable with full bathrooms, satellite TV, free WiFi, tea making facilities, etc. On the 8th floor, a panoramic restaurant: l'EssenCiel , bar, swimming pool and heated jacuzzi. On the ground floor, a spa featuring Decleor natural products and essential oils with 2 cabins for treatments as well as jacuzzi and hamman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Splendid Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel And Spa
Splendid Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing