We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Ranked #37 of 203 Hotels in Nice
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We were a little apprehensive about the Splendid Hotel as we had read some poor reviews on tripadvisor. However, these concerns were completely unfounded. We were allocated a room on the second floor with a large balcony (room 224). The room was very tastefully decorated and had tea and coffee facilities, iron and ironing board, trouser press and a safe as standard as it was a deluxe room. The bathroom was huge with his and hers basins, a bidet and a jacuzzi bath and shower and complimentary toiletries.
We had breakfast each day in the fabulous rooftop restaurant with wonderful panoramic views, there was a good choice and all was regularly replenished. The french bread was to die for! We only ate in the restaurant on our first night but we did choose dishes from the a la carte menu as the main course on the set menu did not appeal to us, this did mean that it was quite expensive but the food was superb. The set menu did look very appetizing on other nights but we preferred to explore and eat out at the many other restaurants in the old town and port area.
The restaurant / cleaning / reception staff were very obliging and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is located a couple of streets away from the sea and wonderful promenade. Its location was ideal for us as we could walk into the old town or port each evening for dinner and walk back afterwards which was a really nice situation. We did not use the swimming pool or roof top terraces as we had our own balcony but did have a look and the pool looked very inviting even though it was quite small.
The bar area of the hotel was being refurbished whilst we were there but as we were out every evening this did not affect us at all.
It is an old hotel but with lots of character and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others, they really made us feel welcome and looked after us extremely well.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gertie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

bonjour
thanks for letting others know about your stay; I was delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us; we indeed were renovating the restaurant and bar area (it is completed now..) and I am sorry about the disturbances
I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to the Splendid; do not hesitate to contact me personnally the next time you make a booking
thanks again and have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm - g-m@splendid-nice.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

573 - 579 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2011

stayed here for 3 nights recently,we were delighted with the hotel.its location was perfect for sightseeing i.e 10 minute walk to the train station (for our to visit Cannes and Ville-france) and one street away from the bus stop.2 minute stroll to the sea front-ideal.The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was spacious and quiet,a great nights sleep!The roof top pool was a joy... didnt have breakfast,too pricey for our budget but there are lots of cafes nearby to use.would most certainly stay here again on our next visit to nice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank turkey1Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2011

bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others know about your stay with us; I was delighted to know you enjoyed it, and we all look forward to welcoming you again
If you book on our website or by email, full hot buffet breakfast is complimentary for a 3 nights minimum stay
I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you here again: do not hesitate to let me know personnally

have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I have stayed at this hotel several times, and am going again soon for a two-week stay. The location is ideal - it's in a quiet area, but a short walk from the Med or the downtown. There's a great restaurant on the top floor serving a wonderful reasonably priced prix fixed dinner. It's true that the hotel is not new, but I have always found it spotless and very comfortale.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank altadesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed in the hotel for 5 nights in September 2011.
Check in was quick and efficient.
We had a deluxe room on the 4th floor (415). The room was a little drab (decorated in brown) but it was clean and comfortable with a fridge a safe and tea and coffee facilities. The bathroom appeared to have been recently renovated and was very spacious (more about that later). The room had a large balcony which was a little shabby and needed a good paint. However it was nice to sit out on first thing in the morning.
The bed appeared to be made up of two smaller beds pushed together ( I may be wrong). However it was very comfortable. I have noticed a few comments about the air conditioning including one from the hotel saying it was improved in August. The air conditioning in September was really poor. The room was cool on first entering but the air conditioning couldn't cope over night.
Back to the bathroom. Nicely renovated but with a couple of problems. The bathroom has a large whirlpool bath and a shower. However the shower is tiny and it was quite a struggle to open the door and get in. I'd get rid of the bath and put a big shower in.
As with every other hotel we have stayed in, we didn't go for the overpriced breakfast. The hotel is well situated and there are numerous places to find a much cheaper alternative. Hotel location is good with the seafront and station nearby. Cour Saleya is about 20 minutes.
The staff in the hotel ranged from very helpful to really unhelpful! When our safe broke and we needed to move our stuff to the deposit boxes the member of staff at reception was really unhelpful. He just kept saying that our belongings wouldn't fit. They did fit quite easily. When we needed to check in for the flight home we asked the same staff member about using the internet. He pointed us in the right direction. Having sat down I realised I needed a log in. I went back to reception and asked the same member of staff. He then advised me with a shoulder shrug that we did indeed need a log in (which he gave me).
Check out fast and helpful. Luggage stored for us and a taxi was called when we needed it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ConnaughtRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in September 2011. The hotel is far from a 4 stars hotel. It feels old and in great need of a renovation. Judging from other reviews, I guess that the quality of the rooms varies. We stayed on the second floor facing the street. The room was awful, ugly and full of scratches and quick fixes. The bathroom had cracks everywhere and the water temperature in the shower went up and down. The only positive thing about the room was the A/C that kept the temperature on a prefect level. A very limited breakfast didn’t make up for the room in any way.

The lobby is too hot, the staff dull and the two elevators are very small (4 persons fit). And one of those broke down during our stay. On the positive site, the 3 course lunch was very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carl016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2011

Bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to post your comments; as you can imagine these are very important and valuable to us
I was very disappointed that you did not like the room you had; we do renovations every winter and are planning them now so your comments will help us
Unfortunately we shall not be able to enlarge the lifts, it is just impossible without tearing down the building
I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again nevertheless; do not hesitate to contact me personnally when you wish to make a booking
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm -----------------

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Just returned from yet another fabulous stay in the Splendid Hotel Nice. We had a room on the 6th floor, views of the city with a fantastic balcony. The room was spotless, comfortable with a jacuzzi tub and walk in shower room..... We enjoyed the roof terrace and pool area. The guys at the desk even told me not to park the car in the hotel park as it was a Sunday and I could park free on the street outside ..... car park is 24 euros in the private park but parking in the whole of nice is expensive and difficult .... everyone was polite and extremely helpful.... I will return again next year.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ephill2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

This is a very well located hotel which we grew to love. Yes - it's not brand new. Yes - the standard rooms are a bit disappointing (we upgraded on arrival to a fantastic Deluxe room which we were more than happy with) but the staff are great, the jacuzzi and pool a welcome relief from the mid-August temperatures and the restaurant/bar were very nice.

Our only gripe with this place is the less-than-aggressive air conditioning but after a couple of nights we acclimatised. Plus, France had a bit of a heatwave while we were there so pretty hot overall. The hotel gave us a fan without any fuss which also helped.

Once we got oursleves a bigger room we really enjoyed staying there. Simply don't judge a book by it's cover.

Perfect for exploring.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walfie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2011

Bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others know about your stay with us... I was delighted to know you enjoyed your stay and actually yesterday we launched an agressive renovation program including the air conditioning which indeed suffered a bit this summer
I look forward to welcoming you again in the Splendid, let me know personally when you make a booking
have a splendid week end

michel tschann - gm
g-m@splendid-nice.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#19 of 203 in Nice
1,059 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Nice Riviera
Hotel Nice Riviera
#54 of 203 in Nice
1,313 reviews
Centre
Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Hotel & Spa

Address: 50 boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Musiciens , Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Nice
#4 Spa Hotel in Nice
#22 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £69 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Splendid Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Hotel & Spa, part of the Warwick Hotels & Resorts, is located in Nice city center, 5' walk from the beaches, casinos, shopping area and Massena Museum. Its 128 rooms and suites are elegantly furnished and very comfortable with full bathrooms, satellite TV, free WiFi, tea making facilities, free soft drinks in the minibar, safety box etc. On the 8th floor, a panoramic bar & restaurant: l'EssenCiel, swimming pool and heated jacuzzi. On the ground floor, a spa featuring Decleor and Phytomer natural products and essential oils with 2 cabins for treatments as well as jacuzzi, hammam and fitness corner. Private underground garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Splendid Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel And Spa
Splendid Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing