We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel close to the sea.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Ranked #51 of 204 Hotels in Nice
GreenLeadersGold level
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Good hotel close to the sea.”
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Overall hotel experience was good especially availability of carpark under the hotel. However I was disappointed to not get one of the rooms that I had booked and had confirmed and with hindsight should have booked the 2 rooms as internet specials, as the room that my children had (the internet special) was a good room. The delux room did not have a balcony but had been upgraded to a delux suite instead as they did not have any of those room available! When I queried the fact that I had booked this room and that it had been confirmed as such I just got shrugged shoulders and an attitide that well we are giving you a suite for the same price!! Yes this was a fantastic room but lacked the balcony/terrace which would have been nice to sit on in the morning etc.
The hotel pool area was good with a small pool, but a good sized terrace area with sunloungers on different levels and a jacuizzi. Food and drinks were expensive but no more that in other places in nice, i.e. 4 euros for a coke or 6 euros for a beer. The food we had at the hotel was good overall and there was quite a variety for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sh0rtbreakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    406
    196
    67
    38
See reviews for
149
474
50
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
munster
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Stayed here for 5 days celebrating my birthday. Rooms are bit scruffy but quite nice with balcony. The air-conditioning system wasn't working very well for our stay which made the rooms very hot at night. The pool on the roof is small, and the bar was very quite, but has great views of the city. Didn't eat in the hotel as the restraunt is very expensive compared with other places close to the hotel. Used our free time in the spa only once as we had to book in advance, could only get it at lunch time, and was then left waiting 20 minutes before we were left in. Overall I don't think it deserves a 4* rating but was an enjoyable place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roseoconnorryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Have been going to the Splendid for years and always enjoy our visits. Really love their new addition, the spa, it is wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fifegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceSplendid, general manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2009
Bonjour
thanks for taking the time to let others know about your feelings; I was delighted to know you enjoyed your stay and do hope to welcome you back soon
you can subscrire to our newsletter on our website
have a splendid evening

MIchel Tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Just returned from a 5 night trip. The Hotel is in a very central location.The beach is very close as is the train and bus stations.

We had a standard room on the 5th floor with a balcony overlooking the hills. It was too hot to sit on the balcony in the afternoon but we really enjoyed sitting there enjoying a glass of wine in the evening.

Breakfast was included and was good and again the views while you ate were spectacular.

The pool area is small but we never had a problem getting a lounger. The pool water was very clean although a wee bit cold for Cathy!!.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

We really enjoyed our stay in Nice and when we return we will stay at the Splendid Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlCatraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceSplendid, general manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2009
Bonjour
thanks for your kind comments; I was delighted to know you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you soon again
have a splendid week end

michel tschann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Got a fab room at the back - overlooking the Med Alps. Lovely friendly staff and very nice room. We were quite high up - 5 floor, which made everything look better. Ground floor looked a little dark. Didn't do breakfast, as so many nice cafes around. We tried to go to the restaurant one night but it was dead (early April), but the location is truely great. Going back in September so will keep everyone posted!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceSplendid, general manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2009
Bonjour
thanks for your kind comments; I was delighted to know you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you soon again: let me know your dates in september
have a splendid week end

michel tschann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

After our second visit to the Splendid, in November 2008, we discovered that we had been given an inferior room to the one we had booked. It took a long time for the manager to reimburse us the difference, but the cheque finally arrived at the end of April. We would advise guests to take a copy of their booking details with them and check their room.
Apart from this problem, we would recommend the Splendid for its location and its charming reception staff. The garage is a bonus, albeit a pricey one, but much better than leaving your car on the street. We did not enjoy the breakfast, which was bland. Instead we found a great little café just up the road.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranceJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2009

We stayed at the Splendid Hotel in Nice for my mother's birthday, and I had booked a deluxe room as I wanted to ensure that we got a good room. The room was a deluxe and had a large terrace and a jaccuzzi bath (which when we came to use it - didn't work). The rooms itself was quite small and although reasonably well furnished it was very dark. In addition the remote control did not work for the TV and the bedside light did not work.

A point to note the roof top pool is VERY small - and the photo's on the website are completely unrespresentative of the size and quality of the pool - I booked this hotel because of the roof top pool, but after going to have a look we didn't use it because of size and colour of the water!

Overall it wasn't a bad stay, just a little disappointing as we paid over £175 per night - which I felt was VERY over priced.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ickleperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2009
Bonjour
thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay; just a few clarifications:
+ the rate you paid is indeed 175 but Euros, not pounds, which compared to London hotels is certainly not outrageous
+ the pool is indeed not very big, but it is regularly checked, analysed and the water is on prime condition; it might happen than leaves fall into it however
+ your room had been checked by our executive housekeeper who had noticed the faulty remote control and lamp; maintenance was called in but in the meantime you had checked in and they could not get into the room not to bother you; I do apologize, but as you notice it is such an unusual event that -even though your name was not mentionned on the comment - our housekeeper remembered the incident and we are able to locate your room and stay
Again thank you for your comments; I hope these few remarks shall help you understand the situation; I look forwars to welcoming you again soon to the Splendid
have a splendid day

michel tschann
gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#20 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Centre
Hotel Nice Riviera
Hotel Nice Riviera
#50 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Hotel & Spa

Property: Splendid Hotel & Spa
Address: 50 boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Musiciens , Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Nice
#5 Spa Hotel in Nice
#29 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Splendid Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Hotel & Spa, part of the Warwick collection of hotels, is located in Nice city center, 5' walk from the beaches, casinos, shopping area and Massena Museum. Its 128 rooms and suites are elegantly furnished and very comfortable with full bathrooms, satellite TV, free WiFi, tea making facilities, etc. On the 8th floor, a panoramic restaurant: l'EssenCiel , bar, swimming pool and heated jacuzzi. On the ground floor, a spa featuring Decleor natural products and essential oils with 2 cabins for treatments as well as jacuzzi and hamman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Splendid Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel And Spa
Splendid Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing