We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,648)
Filter reviews
2,648 results
Traveller rating
738
1,041
507
227
135
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
738
1,041
507
227
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolsea viewprivate beachbusiness roomold townclose to the airportthe busa city view roomtown centresun loungersfrench rivieranice airportsouth of francepromenade dessea frontmonte carloconcierge
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 2,648 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
reginekruger, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Firstly this hotel is not of a standard I would expect for 4 stars in Nice. It’s a long walk from the city centre and when staff were asked if there are local cafes and bars we were told no. In fact one road behind there are loads. I had a more expensive sea view balcony room but it was so noisy even with the doors shut that a good sleep was impossible. The room itself smelt vaguely damp as did the corridor approach. It’s a second floor room so maybe higher up is better but this was dreadful.

The TV shows the usual list of stations however many are unavailable and you can’t even get BBC world! When I questioned this I was told that I could watch Bloomberg! Not really relaxing viewing or appropriate as a replacement for a UK citizen wanting to keep up with the uk!

My partner wanted to speak to the manager and was told they would be in touch, needless to say they weren’t.

I have stayed in Nice before there are many nice hotels at a similar price point use them but avoid this one it’s very poor.

I was looking at the hotel for future business events without declaring my interest so I could get a true feel for the place. I would not recommend it and would go as far as to actively blacklist it within my supplier list.

It’s not often I get so angry about a hotel and it’s offering but this time i have been so irked as to write this scathing review.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reginekruger, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017


Dear Guest,

We are very sorry that your stay did not correspond to your expectations, especially, the location, however, we thank you for having taken the time share your feedback.

Your remarks regarding your room deserve our full attention and we regret that you have been disturbed by traffic noise. We have also taken good note of your comments concerning the unavailable BBC channel. Your comments have been transmitted to the technical manager et the executive housekeeper in order to take immediate actions that this kind of issue do not occur again.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for all the inconvenience you encountered.

We can assure you that your feedback will be taken in consideration in order help us to improve our services to serve you better in the future.

We stay at your entire disposal to get in touch with you and we will be grateful if you would contact us and share your feedback with us directly via email to regine.kruger@radissonblu.com in order to take adequate action within our hotel services.
Reiterating our apologies for the experience you have met, we hope to have the chance to welcome you again and then give us the opportunity to meet your legitimate expectations.

Eric van Dalsum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Was not impressed with this Radision Blu room had balcony but poor decor and the bathroom tiles needed a good scrubbing!!! Plus linen needed to be inspected better and not reused once guest has gone!!! Change it!!
The staff did suggest a great place to eat which was a good sign!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank lydia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reginekruger, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback.

Your remarks regarding your room deserve our full attention, especially, the decoration and the cleanliness and your comments will be shared with the concerned department heads.
We kindly inform you that the ground floor area with restaurant, bar, reception, meeting spaces as well as our business class rooms and suites have already benefit of a complete renovation and a new design. The other room renovations are also planned in the near future.

We present you our sincerest apologies for the experience you have met, we hope to have the chance to welcome you again and then give us the opportunity to meet your legitimate expectations.

Eric van Dalsum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Really enjoyed the amenity of the Radisson Blu and its location right on the beach, and with its private beach front bar and restaurant. The buffet breakfast was excellent and had an outdoor option. Rooftop bar and swimming pool were very popular and we enjoyed the rooftop restaurant twice during our stay.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a seaview room - it's worth it
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDAASouthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reginekruger, Responsable relations clients at Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for your positive comments regarding our hotel services and beach.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again.

Eric van Dalsum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
reginekruger, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews