We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Ellington”
Review of Hotel Ellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ellington
Ranked #39 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Ellington”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Just back from a very enjoyable stay at Hotel Ellington. Well situated for the beaches, shops and restaurants. Room was a trifle compact but comfortable with a good shower/bathroom and was well serviced. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of food available. Staff were friendly and helpful. Nice bar and the hotel also had a nice courtyard. Apart from breakfast no other meals were served in the hotel. Towels were provided for use on the beach and there was also a facility to get a reduced rate to a private beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaat117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    355
    146
    53
    35
See reviews for
107
428
60
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We have just returned home after a 4 night stay at this hotel. Our room was freshly decorated and was very clean. It was on the side of the hotel on the 4th floor and so was light and airy and not too noisy. The air conditioning was so silent, we thought it was not working. However a member of staff came to check it and sure enough it was on, although very quiet. The bathroom was modern and had a bath with a shower over and a very long shallow basin. We were provided with bathrobes on the evening of our first day. There was a tea tray in our room and we bought tea bags and kept milk in the mini bar fridge so that we could make a cuppa first thing in the morning - lovely.
Breakfast was billed as a 'buffet breakfast', but actually had a really good range of food, both hot (toast, scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, crepes and sauteed potatoes) and cold (croissants, bread rolls, fruit salad, fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals and a variety of pastries and cakes). Hot drinks were from a coffee machine and you could help yourself. It was a 'bean to cup' machine and the standard of coffee was excellent. It also provided hot water to make tea. A large selection of tea bags were on offer. You can sit inside for breakfast in a light airy dining room, or outside on the terrace, in the very centre of the hotel - quite private and warm in the morning sun.
The staff were very helpful indeed, from carrying our suitcases up to our room, helping us with bus timetables (one euro each to Monaco by public bus) and answering any questions we had about the local area, always with a smile and a good sense of humour.
This hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the main square and 10 minutes from the old town and the beach. It has a bit of history to it as a plaque on the front tells of 2 arrests of French soldiers there in WW2 by the gestapo. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The higher floors are brighter and lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beanydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012 via mobile

We booked the hotel 2 wks before our trip and those hotels in promenard des anglaise was sold out. So I booked hotel ellingtone because it was at the mid to high range $155 euro per night hoping it should be a nice, decent hotel. Unfortumately everything was below standard. The hotel was not that close to the city centre (10 min), as well as the 99/98 station. The front desk was dark even in the afternoon. The female reception was friendly. We stayed at the classic room. I was shocked when i entered the rm. The carpet was stained. The wooden door was fading out. The bathroom make you feel like the 80's. The worst thing was,, the wall was paper thin. I heard everything coming from the next room and of course vice versa. There was not enough toilette utilities as well. We were given 2 (half the normal size) toilet paper on the first day and there was no refill till the end of our stay.
The breakfast there was great though it may be a bit expensive 17 euro. Nice to have a try.
Overall i will not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samantha_hongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

It won't win prizes for the bedroom decor or size, but this hotel is ideal for a few nights away in Nice. Perfectly located near the centre of town, great bar with very accommodating barman, and good quality breakfast. Didn't eat other meals in the hotel so can't comment there, but you won't go wrong by choosing this mid-price hotel. Free internet too which is rare these days. Just bear in mind the rooms - ours anyway - are quite small and could do with a makeover.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTSMOUTH
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We have just returned from a week's stay at the Hotel Ellington in Nice. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist and offered help to bring our bags up the front steps. They upgraded us to an Executive room on the 3rd floor at the front overlooking the main road. The room was a bit tired but nice and large with a fridge, kettle, dressing gowns,TV and a good bathroom in which everything worked perfectly (always a plentiful supply of toiletries). However the towels were very thin for a 4 star hotel. The first thing we noticed was that there were very few hangers and no drawers in which to put small clothing and we called reception. Immediately a man arrived with more hangers. We used our cases for drawers. The air conditioning was very quiet and efficient but the room was extremely noisy because of the traffic. We decided to not let this worry us as there is alway something not to your liking. We didn't eat breakfast there as it was about 17 euros each and we settled for a 3.50 euro coffee, juice and croissant/bread in a lovely little cafe... all we needed. The use of mirrors helped to keep the hotel bright and the bar was good with a friendly barman. The little terrace outside was lovely for early evening drinks. A small supermarket opposite provided us with bottled water. All in all a lovely stay and we would go back to this hotel but hope for a quieter room .. if there is one.

Room Tip: A good room cannot be guaranteed as they are all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELLIOTTSPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel for three nights. Do not be fooled by its 4-star rating! This hotel deserves 2 stars at best as it is in dire need of renovation! The reception area and lobby are small but decent and could bamboozle you into thinking it is a classy hotel. But as soon as you enter one of their sooms all those fantasies are blown into smithereens! Mine was cramped and terribly shabby with a saggy-mattressed bed and a partially popcorn textured wall. The asking price for in-room wifi was 15 euro, although they supposedly offered a free wifi connection in the lobby, which was unbelievably slow and unreliable. Breakfast was very frugal with tons of carbohydrates and little protein. No freshly squeezed orange juice, of course. The reception esk staff were attentive but the last day of my stay, a few hours after checking out, I realized I had not put my skeakers into my suitcase. A colleague phoned the hotel to ask them to please take them to reception so that I could collect them later that day, but they said that no sneakers were to be found in my room! No comment.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The is a hotel of 2 halves:The good half & the bad half.
I'll start with the positives first..
The location of the hotel was great. Nice and central, 1 mins walk from the main shopping street and trams and about 10 mins from the sea which leads (about 20 mins) nicely round to the port.
The exterior of the hotel is grand and very attractive with a sweet/ Parisian style reception area and bar. The staff were incredibly efficient at check in. The courtyard is sweet too and with the bar finely stocked, it a lovely place to have some drinks.
The breakfast room was gorgeous and they had a fantastic arrary of food from freshly cooked sausages, scrambled egg, pastries, fruit, cereal and even pancakes. However the breakfast was extra but at 15 Euros, thought this was slightly steep. It was also hard to eat breakfast outside due to the pigeons! Anti pigeon devises need to be installed!
The bad points..
The corridors are very dimly lit and quite narrow. Our room was small but had a lovely window that opened fully and gave us a lovely view over Nice.
The room in general was quite outdated and didn't really have the feel of the photograph we saw on the website at all!
The shower was shocking, took 5 mins to heat up then failed to retain a constant temperature, spluttering as it went. Closer inspection of my pillow (and corner of the bed sheet) revealed ink marks and spots of blood. All bedding was freshly laundered but when running a hotel, sheets with marks such as this just need to be thrown away!
Our TV was also a let down as it didn't work but a maintenance man was sent immediately to try and fix it. He failed but the following afternoon it had been replaced with a new one :-)
I also would have appreciated the staff being more forthcoming about attractions in the area, buses, restaurants etc. Although they were willing to help, it always felt like I was putting them out of their way.
However.. overall we did have a pleasant stay and must take into account the hotel was fully booked as we traveled over the Monaco Grand Prix weekend. There are rooms lower down which are bigger and have balcony's so I hope they were of better quality (although seeing people alight from the alight at floors 1& 3 (we were 5) the corridors still looked to be as dingy as ours).
I also left a personal belonging at the hotel and had no time to collect it before our flight and the hotel was very efficient and speedy at sending it back to me which I really appreciate. We also spotted Lawrence Llewellyn Bowen before we left who had stayed the night so if its good enough for Lawrence...!

Room Tip: Suite rooms are affordable when the Grand Prix IS NOT ON. Go for one of them and I'm sure this h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicadiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Centre
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thiers / Train Station
Nice Excelsior Hotel
Nice Excelsior Hotel
#11 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#20 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ellington

Property: Hotel Ellington
Address: 25 boulevard Dubouchage, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#26 Business Hotel in Nice
#34 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ellington 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ellington is an elegant district in the centre of Nice, just a five-minute walk from the beach, the shopping area and the Acropolis congress centre. The hotel has an air of casual refinement, a subtle blend of styles, with handsome architecture, a patio with a hint of southern Spain, moulded ceilings, rich wood floors, designer furniture… and a bar straight out of the swing era.This charming new hotel with its 110 rooms, opened in January 2007, has a warm and welcoming atmosphere.A bar with a jazzy feeling, a cosy lounge, a sunny patio and meeting rooms with beautiful daylight… whatever your reason for being in Nice, just to relax, for business, or both. The Hotel Ellington will be delighted to have you discover its unique qualities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellington Hotel Nice
Hotel Ellington Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing