We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff pleasant, but terrible sleep quality”
Review of Hotel Ellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ellington
Ranked #34 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Booked an executive room because reviews tended to suggest the rooms were quite small. Had a reasonable sized room with a little lounge area and a Nespresso machine which was a nice touch, front desk staff very pleasant. Good breakfast. However, the room was disgustingly hot at night, the air con was blowing out hot air despite being set to cool. When we spoke to the desk staff they said that the air conditioning was set to heat the entire hotel at night 'because it was cold in Nice in October' - however it was 24-25 degrees during the day!! They suggested we open the windows at night instead of having the aircon on, however as our room looked out onto the street it was incredibly noisy all night long. Had we been booked in for longer than 3 days we would have cancelled the remainder of the reservation and gone elsewhere, because it was impossible to sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank joodle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

429 - 435 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2012

Dont choose this hotel. Pictures are misleading. Not only was the bed squeaky but it was off kilter. The carpet was stained and smelly and the hallways are darkened. The room is tiny and there are 10 steps to get into the hotel. Complaining only got the standard "hotel is fully booked " line. PLEASE...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jemared1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a short break in late September. We would not consider it a 4 star hotel. The room was small and there was not a lot of hanging space in the wardrobe or much space on the top of the bed side locker. The dining room was a shambles on several mornings it was the first time we ever had to clear a table ourselves for our breakfast. It was 9.30am and all the tables had been used and not cleared . There did not appear to be enough staff on duty there. The food was good but was very haphazard in layout sliced bread beside the toaster but all the rest of the rolls and other breads were at the other end of the dining room and the butter was all alone away from the jams and honey. We had a nice time there and the staff were great but we had paid extra for a 4 star hotel and we felt it didn't deliver.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front are noisy because of traffic lights refuse collection and very early morning stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Second stay at this hotel with 3years in between. This time out room overlooked the courtyard. On the surface these rooms looked nicer but inside they are a bit musty and disappointing. The rooves sloped so the bathroom was a funny shape. Some of the tiles had fallen off around the bath. The wardrobes were cheaply fitted and it all felt a bit grubby. The rooms were chilly too.
The bar is nice as is the breakfast area and there is a reasonable selection to choose from. May get quite busy though.
Situated not far from the old town and promenade so not a bad location.
Bit of a shame as we enjoyed our stay last time. Probably won't return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veggie2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We only had a short stay overnight so we cannot give a full review. The staff was friendly and courteous. The lobby bar and patio were very pleasant. The location was ideal.

We booked an upgraded classic room. I don't know how the plain classic room could be any smaller that ours. Everything was clean and comfortable. The bathroom could do with a little upgrading.

We would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We were on a long weekend to Nice where we have stayed many times, never at the Ellington though, it was comfortable, clean and central but the biggest treat was the staff who were very helpful and friendly. I mentioned to them that it was my partners birthday and in the morning they brought her a small cake, a present and two glasses of champagne. This is the kind of care and attention that is all too often missing from hotels. Thank you the staff at the Ellington, you were so kind.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We chose the ellington to use up airmiles before the scheme became obsolete and took a basic b+b package which delivered beyond our expectations - it was not a large room but it was clean and had everything you might need including tea and coffee tray, the en-suite was spotless with very nice complementary toiletries and rooms were refreshed daily by a smartly uniformed unintrusive team.
The breakfast buffet offered an excellent choice of hot and cold options - you could eat as much as you liked and attentive friendly and helpful staff topped up everything frequently.
The hotel reception staff all conversed happily in English and were always obliging and helpful even when it was busy and in the bar we found the happy hour a very pleasant way to rest at the end of a long hot day enjoying a cold drink in the lovely hotel courtyard before setting out to explore Nice at night.
The hotel exuded faded grandeur and is possibly not to everyones taste but we found it a very comfortable and convenient place to stay as it was an easy stroll into the old town or to the beach and the hotel had an option for guests to have a good discount at the closest private beach.
The Ellington is in a quiet avenue close to one of the main shopping streets with Galeries Lafayette not far and across the road a little Spar type of outlet where you can buy basics.
It felt like a very safe part of town and was a great base - if I ever returned to Nice I would not hesitate to stay there again.
footnote: actually stayed august 2011 but drop down menu did not offer as an option

Room Tip: book a b+b package as it is expensive to add on breakfast and possibly choose to upgrade if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank INVERNESS-margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Musiciens
La Malmaison Nice
La Malmaison Nice
#23 of 203 in Nice
212 reviews
Thiers / Train Station
Nice Excelsior Hotel
Nice Excelsior Hotel
#11 of 203 in Nice
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#12 of 203 in Nice
850 reviews
Centre
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ellington

Address: 25 boulevard Dubouchage, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#26 Business Hotel in Nice
#34 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £62 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ellington 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ellington is an elegant district in the centre of Nice, just a five-minute walk from the beach, the shopping area and the Acropolis congress centre. The hotel has an air of casual refinement, a subtle blend of styles, with handsome architecture, a patio with a hint of southern Spain, moulded ceilings, rich wood floors, designer furniture… and a bar straight out of the swing era.This charming new hotel with its 110 rooms, opened in January 2007, has a warm and welcoming atmosphere.A bar with a jazzy feeling, a cosy lounge, a sunny patio and meeting rooms with beautiful daylight… whatever your reason for being in Nice, just to relax, for business, or both. The Hotel Ellington will be delighted to have you discover its unique qualities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellington Hotel Nice
Hotel Ellington Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing