We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel..but....”
Review of Hotel Ellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ellington
Ranked #40 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Belfast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel..but....”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

When we finally arrived at the Hotel, we were greeted my a crowd of American tourists filling up the lobby, we stood at the back of the crowd and awaited our chance to check in.
We had booked with Booking.com for an executive room for 3 people..when we got to the desk they then asked us for a further 40 Euros per night for the "3rd person" a total of an extra 160 Euros for the stay! Obviously, we said no as to our knowledge our balance had been paid in full..we were then greeted by the manager, who was honestly the most horrible person I encountered the entire time I was in Nice, he argued with us and complained to his college about us which unfortunately for him I understood what he was saying as I speak French, he then finally begrudgingly gave us our room & safe keys. Throughout our stay he was helpful and pleasant to every other guest but us...horrible person! But what I do have to say is that every other member of staff were absolutely wonderful! A girl called Laura I believe was particularly helpful!
Other than the horrid manager, the hotely was nice, in my eyes quite big rooms by French standards, having stayed in Paris twice previously, these rooms are NOT small, our room however had some dodgy wardrobe doors, and a "camp bed" for one of our party instead of an actual bed!! Even though they were actually wanting a further 40 Euros a night for this!!
Breakfast was okay, typical continental.
The location was PERFECTION, literally a 2-3 minute walk from Nice l'etoile and 5mins from a decent supermarket, 5 mins from the main shopping area rue medicin and around a 15min walk to the market which is great!
This stay would have been perfect had it not been for the grumpy and downright rude manager!!

Room Tip: If you like your peace and quiet request a room overlooking the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dearbhlagh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    365
    150
    54
    35
See reviews for
107
438
62
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Booked 5 nights at The Ellington via Travel Republic, I confirmed the booking via the web site but required confirmation. I phoned Travel Republic gave my debit card details and was then asked to wait for some time whilst the booking was confirmed.
Eventually I was informed that the reservation was confirmed and the full cost for five days for 2 rooms was taken from my account.
I am now told that the Ellington want another €380
Very unsatisfactory. The Hotel appeared to offer everything we wanted, however we most certainly would not consider this again

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank UKTravellers89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Only downside is the location is on a busy street in the rush hour, there are rooms overlooking the courtyard ask for them. The service in the hotel is exemplary in all parts, especially in the Reception area.They even gave us a little present for our Wedding Anniversary.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reikiman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1,943 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,900 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We were on a tour and spent 4 nights in this 6 story hotel in Nice in a pleasant, commercial neighborhood. Location is very good--if you exit the hotel and turn left you are at Rue Alberti--if your turn left again and follow Alberti for about 5 short blocks you are right in Old Town. To get to the main shopping street and the tram on Av. Jean Medecin, turn left out of the hotel and continue about 4 blocks--there is also a food market in the Monoprix for snacks, drinks, etc. that is open until 9 PM.

When you enter the hotel you have to go up eight steps to the desk and lobby. There is a bar area and the lobby is the only area in the hotel with free wifi--you have to get the password at the front desk and can use the wifi for one hour. The staff at the desk are very pleasant and helpful--they provided us with much information, maps of the area and when leaving we were able to email them our boarding pass information and they printed our boarding passes for us--they were really great!

There are two relatively small elevators--it says it can hold 8 people but usually could handle only 4 people with luggage. We were in room 603 on the top floor, facing the street with a view of the city and mountains--there was a little street noise, but not really disturbing. The room was fairly small. There was a comfortable king size bed, some storage space, a coffee/tea maker and stocked fridge (items all for sale). The flat screen TV was nice, but many times the picture and sound went off. One negative was very poor lighting--we had two small side lamps and a small lamp on the desk The bathroom was adequate and even had an old fashioned bidet. There is a very small safe--you have to get the lock and key for the safe at the desk.

The buffet breakfast was in a lovely room with many choices--eggs, sausage, bacon, pastry, cold cuts, bread, rolls, juices, cereals. There were two machines to make a variety of individual drinks--coffee, tea, hot chocolate, espresso, cafe au lait, etc.

If going to either the Matisse or Chagall Museums from the hotel, there are easy bus connections. Walk down Rue Alberti three blocks to Rue Gioffredo and go the the bus stop--bus #15 or 22 for 1 euro will take you right to either of those two interesting museums.

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel even with some of its flaws because of the good location and the great staff at the front desk.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

The location is one of the best things, in the center and close to the main avenue of the city. The staff are very kind, speak English, no problem at all. The problems I had: 1) the bathroom curtain flew about me when I was taking a shower, due the ventilation system. So, I had to take a shower with it opened, when I did wet the bathroom completely. It was a mess. 2) at midnight on the 5th floor I was hearing noises from others rooms. As the building is not that new, it might happen in some rooms. Although, it is not a big problem. In general, it is good, I just guess the price is a little bit high.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marllondias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Our stay at the Ellington was great. It is very well situated, within walking distance to everything. The old town was very pretty, lots of restaurants and shops with a lovely beach and promenade. The shopping is within a short walk from the hotel with C&A on your doorstep! Our room was nice, clean and bright with a perfect nights sleep. The breakfasts were nice, a good choice especially the pancakes and maple syrup. The staff on the reception were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Great location, lovely small hotel, very helpful & friendly reception staff, good value for money when booked a long time in advance. I'd recommend staying here if looking for a good place to stay in Nice for a long weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ross N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Thiers / Train Station
Nice Excelsior Hotel
Nice Excelsior Hotel
#11 of 205 in Nice
584 reviews
Centre
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 205 in Nice
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Centre
Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture
Hotel Vendome
#34 of 205 in Nice
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ellington

Property: Hotel Ellington
Address: 25 boulevard Dubouchage, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#26 Business Hotel in Nice
#34 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ellington 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ellington is an elegant district in the centre of Nice, just a five-minute walk from the beach, the shopping area and the Acropolis congress centre. The hotel has an air of casual refinement, a subtle blend of styles, with handsome architecture, a patio with a hint of southern Spain, moulded ceilings, rich wood floors, designer furniture… and a bar straight out of the swing era.This charming new hotel with its 110 rooms, opened in January 2007, has a warm and welcoming atmosphere.A bar with a jazzy feeling, a cosy lounge, a sunny patio and meeting rooms with beautiful daylight… whatever your reason for being in Nice, just to relax, for business, or both. The Hotel Ellington will be delighted to have you discover its unique qualities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellington Hotel Nice
Hotel Ellington Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing