We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accomodations, good value”
Review of Hotel Ellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ellington
Ranked #34 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I was looking for a cost-effective hotel in Nice for one night, due to having an early morning flight out of the Nice airport. Ellington was reasonably priced (by Nice standards, anyway), and located a few blocks from the city center, public transport and the beaches in Nice. Given the price I paid, I was really only expecting a basic room and simple amenities, and that's pretty much exactly what I found. The lobby area was very nice, and the staff extremely helpful and friendly. The rest of the hotel and the room I had seemed a bit shabby, with worn carpeting and tired appliances. However, everything was quite clean, and the room and bed were comfortable enough. Only downside (which isn't really the hotel's fault) is the taxi fare to the airport was 40 EUR for a pretty short ride - so it may actually be more cost-effective to take a slightly more expensive hotel closer to the airport, if you're only staying one night prior to a flight.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kc9ddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (908)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 908 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

This hotel was very well located for us. The staff was uniformly pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Our junior suite was very comfortable, but I think the furnishings will need to be updated fairly soon. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Have stayed twice at The Ellington for weekend away with the girls. When we stayed last year we had 2 lovely rooms large rooms with big windows looking out at the front, this year our rooms (similar price) were not as good (I'm assuming its because our flight arrived late evening and the hotel was full so we got what was left) my friend even complained her roomed smelled a bit 'mouldy' none the less all the other aspects of the hotel were fab, the breakfast is always great, the staff are lovely, so helpful and even are patient enough to listen to my attempts at conversing in French. At peak times Nice is very busy, so staying here is perfect and a lot quieter than in the main centre. If you do eat out some of the tourist restaurants can be a bit awful, so ask the hotel staff for some local restaurants that they would eat at..usually much better than the norm.

Room Tip: They do have some large rooms at the front which have 2 big windows, can't remember if these are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stepfordwive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Just back from 4 night stay at the Ellington. It was great. Classic room on second floor with small balcony overlooking the rear of the hotel. Comfortable king sized bed. Well appointed en suite with good shower and bath. Good selection of quality food at the buffet breakfast. All the staff were really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cometsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed three nights in September, traveling for business.
Great location. Helpful staff. Poor room condition. Loud, small, and expensive.
Not sure if I can recommend this place to anyone. In fact, I am quite surprised by the positive reviews.
the highlight of the stay were the bath towels which were so washed out and thin that felt as toilet paper.
Air conditioner did not cool down the room at all. It surely seems that the service and the comfort provided by the hotel are not corresponding to the money they charge. Definitely not four stars!

Room Tip: Not sure. Noise from the street was overpowering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alecb2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Spent two nights at the Hotel Ellington in September 2013 in a classic room on the 6th floor. Firstly rooms are tiny with musty mildew smell, terrible layout with no room to be able to close bathroom door when using the toilet and unable to get to one side of the bed if you opened windows. Noisy plumbing with water running through wall pipes keeping us awake all night. Breakfast was adequate. The only good thing about this hotel is its position, which was close to shopping, beach and train station. Staff not very helpful when asking questions and did not offer anything more than the basic information.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This hotel was booked by Monograms/Globus Company. It was listed as a boutique hotel. This hotel is very small and not my idea of boutique but may be by French standards. The hotel is old and in need of a major renovation. The hotel staff was accommodating, not overly helpful. That could have been because the hotel was booked through Monograms. The room had no clock so bring a clock with you. The air was too much and we could not figure out how to shut the air off. We thought we did but the room remained cold. This hotel has no dresser and has minimal hangers so bring hangers if you are staying for any length of time. Our major issue was the bathroom. The tub is very high and can be a problem when one is getting out of the tub. We slipped many times and thank God we did not fall and break any bones. It was not the freshest smelling hotel but it's old. The only way they could update would be to tear the hotel down and rebuild. What we did not like was the room had twin beds that were pushed together with a cover over both. If you are a married couple, OK but for 2 women traveling, we did not need to have our beds pushed together. The beds should be separated and if a couple is in the room, they can push the beds together.

The good thing is this hotel is within walking distance of everything, the sea, old town, shopping centers, restaurants etc.
Our stay included the breakfast which was excellent. There were a lot of choices for breakfast. The bacon was not cooked. Not sure why anyone would eat uncooked pork but it's not cooked. Appears to be boiled. They have an area outside where you can eat if all seats are taken inside. Staff in the area for the breakfast were very nice and accommodating.
If this hotel was updated I would consider staying there again. If it remains as is and I have occasion to visit the French Riviera again, this would not be my choice of hotel.

Room Tip: They may have bathtubs for those with disabilities. Ask for one of those. Getting into and out of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auntwaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Thiers / Train Station
Nice Excelsior Hotel
Nice Excelsior Hotel
#11 of 203 in Nice
637 reviews
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#8 of 203 in Nice
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Musiciens
La Malmaison Nice
La Malmaison Nice
#26 of 203 in Nice
193 reviews
Centre
Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ellington

Address: 25 boulevard Dubouchage, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#26 Business Hotel in Nice
#34 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £57 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ellington 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ellington is an elegant district in the centre of Nice, just a five-minute walk from the beach, the shopping area and the Acropolis congress centre. The hotel has an air of casual refinement, a subtle blend of styles, with handsome architecture, a patio with a hint of southern Spain, moulded ceilings, rich wood floors, designer furniture… and a bar straight out of the swing era.This charming new hotel with its 110 rooms, opened in January 2007, has a warm and welcoming atmosphere.A bar with a jazzy feeling, a cosy lounge, a sunny patio and meeting rooms with beautiful daylight… whatever your reason for being in Nice, just to relax, for business, or both. The Hotel Ellington will be delighted to have you discover its unique qualities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Ellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellington Hotel Nice
Hotel Ellington Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing