We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming old Fashioned Hotel”
Review of Hotel Ellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ellington
Ranked #34 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 25 August 2014

From reading the reviews of the hotel, I was expecting and a slighted dated hotel but one with plenty of charm not seen at a big chain hotel. To be fair that is exactly what we got. We stayed 7 nights, from the 5th to 12th of August 14.

The location of the hotel is very close to the Tram Network [Jean Medicin stop] and the Nice Etoile shopping centre and from there a pleasurable walk along Avenue Jean Medicin through Place Massena to the Plages, sorry beaches.

The Breakfast is decent with the usual selection of ham, cheeses, yogurts , cereals, pastries and pancakes. With a small selection of warm food of scrambled eggs and potatoes with bacon and sausages alternating days.

The staff were very friendly through the stay, throughout the hotel, and were able to lend an adaptor, which was very handy to charge phones. Only a small thing, but this can make a big difference to a holiday.

The bedroom was decently sized with a free safe, with plenty of sockets and a writing table, and both bedroom and the bathroom were very clean. There are 3 levels of storage in the cupboards. One thing about the upper storage space is that it is about 7 foot off the ground and not really usable, perhaps the shelf can be lowered a bit. The room on the 4th floor was pretty quiet overnight.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel, and if we were to come back to the beautiful city of Nice, would definitely consider coming back to the Ellington.

Room Tip: Upper Floor Overlooking Courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank JackOne26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELELLINGTON, Gérant at Hotel Ellington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear guest,

We would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback which is in fact very important for us in order to improve our quality of service.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed the chram of our boutique hotel and the friendly staff.

Hotel Ellington is looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip on the French Riviera.

Best regards from the sunny Nice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

My third stay here this year after trying quite a few hotel in Nice. The rooms are very comfortable, you get what you pay for in Nice. A good breakfast in a nice area of the hotel and a nice bar too.

More importantly is the personalised service I have received at this hotel by the team in reception! Well done to all of them, Karim, Monica, Eduart and the others. The smile by the staff at breakfast also goes a long way...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank London T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELELLINGTON, Gérant at Hotel Ellington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear guest,

We would firstly like to thank you for your loyalty, and also for taking the time to write your feedback which is very important to help us improve our quality of service.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed our staff, which is greatful for your appreciation.

Thank you in fact, for your private comments during our meeting, which we have taken note of and will try to improve.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next trip on the French Riviera.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I were staying at this hotel for one night and we found this place last minute due to all of the other nearby hotels fully booked. The room was smaller than expected but for snatching the last room available during the month of August in Nice where it's usually the busiest, I was offered a room on the 6th floor, which was the highest. Rooms were air conditioned, bathroom was clean and renovated, but the beds were a bit too short for me (6'3"). We also refused complimentary breakfast for a cheaper rate but nonetheless, they honored my offer for the night and still threw in free breakfast! Very good customer service in my opinion! Staff was friendly and would recommend staying here at the Ellington!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELELLINGTON, Gérant at Hotel Ellington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear valued guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback which is very important for us in order to improve our quality of service!

We are delighted to read that you have had a very good experience with Hotel Ellington, and that we have managed to exceed yours and your're girlfriends expectations! The staff has been informed by your appreciation.

Thank you for recommending hotel Ellington!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next trip on the French Riviera!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just what you would want for convenience and comfort, friendly staff and bartender, breakfast was enjoyable and a great start to the day. Convenient for walking to the beach area and cafes...enjoyed my stay.

My room was large and modern, bath area was new and clean...add the Ellington to your list!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELELLINGTON, Gérant at Hotel Ellington, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear valued guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback which is very important for us in order to improve our quality of service and standards.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us especially the room.

Hotel Ellington is looking forward to welcoming you soon!

Best regards from the sunny Nice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Have just returned from the Hotel Ellington. This must be the friendliest hotel we have stayed at in Nice. The staff are very obliging - during our short stay we were able to borrow beach towels and an umbrella when there was a bit of a storm! The location is great for both the centre and Old Town. We loved the 'happy hour' sitting on the outdoor terrace with very nice wine! We will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie528789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELELLINGTON, Gérant at Hotel Ellington, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear valued guest,

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with Hotel Ellington, especially the happy hour on our sunny patio and the location of our hotel.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback which is very important for us!

Hotel Ellington is looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the French Riviera!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights in august. The room of hotel was very old and dirty. It had a very bad smell. The bathroom was the decade of 50s, awful with bad smell. on the contrary the breakfast was very good also and the location nearby to plaza massena and beach

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELELLINGTON, Gérant at Hotel Ellington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear valued guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback which is very important for us to improve our quality and service.

We are unhappy to read that the room was not up to your expectations and to your tastes. Most of our rooms have been recently renovated and all are of different style and time period in order to suit more of our customers’ needs. We do also constantly renovate the rest of our rooms to maintain the uniformity of our hotel.

On the other hand, we are delighted to read that you have enjoyed our breakfast.

Please let us know if we may be of any other assistance!

Best regards from the sunny Nice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were unable to find a B&B on arrival late in Nice so stayed at Hotel Ellington as a second option. The hotel was a clean and practical choice in a good location in the city center. We were told that due to the last minute booking the hotel were able to upgrade our room booking which was a nice touch but the room turned out to be a little tired and bland. It was however fine for the short stay and provided great access to the historical part of town where we had an excellent evening.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELELLINGTON, Gérant at Hotel Ellington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear valued guest,

We would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! It is very important for us to know our customers opinion about the services and accommodation we provide. The majority of our rooms are newly renovated and decorated with different styles in order to suit more of our customer’s tastes. We do also constantly renovate the rest of our rooms to maintain the uniformity of our hotel.

Please let us know if we may be of any other assistance!

Best regards from the sunny Nice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Musiciens
La Malmaison Nice
La Malmaison Nice
#23 of 204 in Nice
212 reviews
Thiers / Train Station
Nice Excelsior Hotel
Nice Excelsior Hotel
#11 of 204 in Nice
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#12 of 204 in Nice
852 reviews
Centre
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ellington

Address: 25 boulevard Dubouchage, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#26 Business Hotel in Nice
#34 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £61 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ellington 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ellington is an elegant district in the centre of Nice, just a five-minute walk from the beach, the shopping area and the Acropolis congress centre. The hotel has an air of casual refinement, a subtle blend of styles, with handsome architecture, a patio with a hint of southern Spain, moulded ceilings, rich wood floors, designer furniture… and a bar straight out of the swing era.This charming new hotel with its 110 rooms, opened in January 2007, has a warm and welcoming atmosphere.A bar with a jazzy feeling, a cosy lounge, a sunny patio and meeting rooms with beautiful daylight… whatever your reason for being in Nice, just to relax, for business, or both. The Hotel Ellington will be delighted to have you discover its unique qualities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellington Hotel Nice
Hotel Ellington Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing