We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice 3 Star Hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel Ellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ellington
Ranked #40 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We have spent 4 nights of our easter holiday at the Ellington.
The location is great! Just 5 Minutes walk to the beach, the harbour or the train station. There are many restaurants in this area and there is a lot of shopping around.
Our first Room , a Deluxe, was very nice, clean, double glassed windows and a second door to the corridor. We didnt hear any noise from the street or other hotelguest, even our room was next to the elevator. But the bathroom had no ventilation, it smelled humid and like mould. After the first night we complained about that and moved into Room, which was an upgrade into an Executive. This room was bigger and had a better bathroom with heated towel rail. But somehow the interior was older instead of more luxurios. AND we had no double glassed windows, means we could hear a lot of the street noise.
Breakfast was nice with a limited but good choice of hearty and sweet breakfast.
Service was very friendly, not only the ladies at the reception and the concierge have been very helpful, also the staff at breakfast have been very sweet.
The Hotel Car Park was EUR 20.- per day which was cheap compared to the car parks around and you need luck and a small car to get a good parking space at the street.

If you can get a good deal for this hotel book it as it has a great location and good rooms (for France), but do not expect a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YellowCrazyFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ellington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 875 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2010

We stayed at the Ellington for the third time. It has always been excellent. The staff are polite and helpful,the rooms very clean and the beds comfortable. It is a well located base for exploring Nice. There may be cheaper ,similar, hotels to be found, but I can't see the point in trying.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickelben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

The location was very good, near recommended restaurants, the beach, the park and shopping. The room was small, as is common in Europe, but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was FABulous! They have longer, deeper bathtubs than we have in the US, and they're just made for soaking after a long day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gambling_3NT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We stayed two nights, and my impression of the Ellington is ambivalent. On the one hand, it has four-star amenities like A/C, good toiletries, full breakfast buffet including a hot option (although sadly, and considering the location, no fresh juices), good furnishings, bedding etc. On the other, however, rooms border between ok and shabby - our bedroom door was peeling paint and its wooden edge hadn't even been painted in the first place. The threshold to the bathroom was also breaking free from the floor and carpet to the extend we feared tripping over it. While reception staff is friendly and attentive, the breakfast room attendant was indifferent at best (completely absent on our second morning - we got coffee by the time we had finished our food and only after asking for her twice). Maid service is ok, but toiletries and refreshment tray replenishment doesn't seem to be within their remit. To be fair, there is a turn-down service and replenishments can be asked for at this time, and we also had replenishment of the refreshment tray when asked for during the afternoon. This should nevertheless be automatic.

In terms of location, the Ellington is well situated between the bus and train stations, an easy ten-minute walk from the sea and old town. Despite facing a busy street, traffic noise was not a problem, although we needed to keep our window open since it was impossible to cool the room (A/C doesn't work in the winter, and the heating system could not be turned down).

What we had not been informed of, however, was that the facade is undergoing renovation, and so we had scaffolding running down one side of our window. It was a minor nuisance, as one shutter was blocking any view to/from the scaffolding, but it is still quite disturbing to hear people climbing next to your open window in the morning and afternoon.

Overall, you sleep well, you get a good breakfast, internet is free in public areas, and you are close to most of what you want to see. But, this is not a four-star hotel, so look for a good three-star deal and you might not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thatsmystuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2009

It was touch and go if I'd make it to France, as all eurostars going out had been cancelled, and my substitute flight was at risk of being cancelled owing to snowy weather, but, luckily the flight left. However as it was 3 hours late taking off, I didn't arrive in Nice till 10.15pm. I asked the airport where the airbus to Nice train station was but was told it was no longer running - they only run until about 9pm or so. So I had no choice but to get a taxi, which cost a whopping 35 euros which is just disgusting considering it is only about a 15 minute journey if that.

Arriving at the 4* Ellington Hotel at about 10.35pm I was starving but I was told their room service was closed for the night and that the only place open were a couple of burger bars, so off I went in the rain, but it was worth it just to eat something as the flight only gave out a very small packet of nuts.

But a sight for sore eyes was noticing a massive C & A shop at the end of my road (less than one minute away) on the corner of the main shopping road - great!

The hotel itself was in a quietish road with lots of birds tweeting their hearts out in the daytime, and I was glad the hotel gave me what I asked for - a room on a high floor, away from the lift, with some peace and quiet.

The room itself was very small, the double bed took up most of the space. The lighting was bad, only 2 sidelamps in the main room which was a nuisance in the mornings as you couldn't open the curtain without others across the road seeing in, so very dim to dress in.

Although clean overall, I noticed no heating in the bathroom, an insect crawl onto the blanket from underneath a pillow, and out of date chocolate in the fridge. But I told myself these were one off's, and the apologetic staff quickly changed the chocolate for me.

Breakfasts the coffee was not piping hot, but the croissants were proper ones.
However I was shocked to read that if you wanted a boiled egg it would cost a whopping 5 euro's - now that in my mind is a total rip off! Especially as the so-called scrambled eggs on offer that were free looked severely undercooked. Throughout my stay I did not risk eating these at all, so stuck with the croissants and cereal, as the bread was manky and the cakes were too sickly-sweet to eat first thing.

Hotel staff overall very polite and accomodating, all of them.

Location great for a bit of peace yet very close to the main shopping area. The old town, seafront and train station were within easy reach from the hotel. I was relieved after getting to know Nice, that I was not staying in a hotel near the train station's side roads as it looked a bit seedy up there.

There is an internet cafe open till late in the side road opposite the front entrance of the hotel.

Beware of tramps and beggars around the main square/market area.

Worth doing are the hop on hop off bus tour & Marc Chagall museum - getting a 24 hour tourist pass just todo these 2 works out cheaper than paying seperately.

Also worth doing is a train trip to Monaco for the cactus garden/grotto there (great views from the train and quicker than the bus too), wandering round the old town, and catching the seafront lift by the old town to the top of the hill for great views overlooking the whole of Nice.

While taxi's and the boiled eggs were expensive, eating a meal out was not as expensive as I thought if you steer clear of the really big hotel area along that section of the Prom d'Anglaise, and you really do need to shop around to find reasonably priced clothes/shoe shops down each of the side roads on the other side of the road to C & A in between the train station and the seafront.

I'd consider staying at the Ellington again but only because the grand, seafront hotels are out of my price range.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClassicBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2009

spend two nights on our none officially honey moon, we had a great room with a big bed (clean and well maintained), although it was cold, the room was very well heated.. we only had breakfast but it was just right with all the continental foods and the amazing french bread/ Croisants, the hotel is cute and very romantic, the staff where great, english friendly & very kind. the hotel is value for money in our point of veiw..
location is perfect from the shopping district and from the old Nice which harbors great shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlivierM08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in October and got a deal with Lastminute.com.

The location is excellent within easy reach of the beach, the Old Town , the shops, the railway station , the bus station. All about 5 minutes away except the railway staion (10 minutes).

The room we had was clean and tidy but was small and functional. The landings and corridors were drab and dreary. The lights were on sensors so you needed to move around a bit before the lights to come on.

As mentioned on other reviews the air conditioning was not on (it was 25 degrees outside) and we had to leave the window open whenever we were in the room. Not a great hardship but not what you would expect.

We didn't bother with breakfast at 12 euros per person at the time you check in, or 18 euros on the mornings.

The lobby was small and except for the bar there was no communal areas. The bar was small but that wasn't a big problem because on each of the three nights when we returned to the hotel there was nobody in the bar.

The hotel is fine/good if you've booked/paid for a 2 or 3 star hotel but we expected more from a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonicama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Thiers / Train Station
Nice Excelsior Hotel
Nice Excelsior Hotel
#12 of 204 in Nice
612 reviews
Centre
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Nice Riviera
Hotel Nice Riviera
#51 of 204 in Nice
1,269 reviews
Hotel Vendome
#31 of 204 in Nice
607 reviews
Centre
Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ellington

Address: 25 boulevard Dubouchage, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#26 Business Hotel in Nice
#34 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £65 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ellington 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ellington is an elegant district in the centre of Nice, just a five-minute walk from the beach, the shopping area and the Acropolis congress centre. The hotel has an air of casual refinement, a subtle blend of styles, with handsome architecture, a patio with a hint of southern Spain, moulded ceilings, rich wood floors, designer furniture… and a bar straight out of the swing era.This charming new hotel with its 110 rooms, opened in January 2007, has a warm and welcoming atmosphere.A bar with a jazzy feeling, a cosy lounge, a sunny patio and meeting rooms with beautiful daylight… whatever your reason for being in Nice, just to relax, for business, or both. The Hotel Ellington will be delighted to have you discover its unique qualities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellington Hotel Nice
Hotel Ellington Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing