We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Stay !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel West End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel West End
Ranked #54 of 204 Hotels in Nice
caterham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super Stay !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is the second time my brother and I have stayed at this hotel. It's position (next to a Museum in a gated park, and close to the luxurious Hotel Negresco), is perfect. Situated directly on the promenade (The Promenade des Anglais), amongst a long stretch of hotels and cafes, the view is fantastic. Access to the old town with it's renowned flower market, is only a short walk, as is the elegant Place Massena. Nice is nice, with no signs of neglect,graffiti, or rowdyism. It is also relaxed but bustling in a Mediterranean way.
The West End Hotel is a smart 4 star establishment, and was the first hotel to be constructed on the Promenade in the 19th century. It has obvously been repainted and re-decorated inside and out. The restaurant La Siecle, is very good, and exterior tables allow a great view onto the trottoir (pavement). Service is relaxed ,but attentive and efficient. The front desk staff, and concierge are very friendly and in our experience have the place running very smoothly. The maids clean the rooms very well. Breakfast is taken in a separate conservatory style building with good interior decoration, and the food selection is typical of any 4 star hotel. One great point is that the rooms have a complimentary tea/coffee making tray which is replenished daily (though no biscuits). Toiletries in the rooms are produced by Fragonard. Minibar and safe are the usual. I speak/read French to an average standard, but English only speakers will have no problems in making themselves understood. Our experience of the West End will encourage us to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Visitor1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST2010, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
THANK YOU, for such a positive review of our hotel. We all do wish to welcome you back as soon as possible and in the meantime hope the best for you all year long.
Sincerely
Guest relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    424
    199
    78
    52
See reviews for
167
571
41
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

I booked this hotel as a present for my mum. After much searching I decided that the westend was in an excellent location & would suit our sight seeing holiday! We had a lovely welcome to the hotel & was given room 400. I was disappointed in the room as I had booked a privelage room. The room was small & dark. The window was very small & let very little natural light in, when opened the noise of the air-conditioning machines outside was very loud! So we spent three days in Nice in Aug in artificial light & no fresh air! On top of that the smoke alarm in the hotel kept going off!
We did eat in the hotel restaurant & would highly recommend it! We asked the concierge to recommend a restaurant for another evening however when we arrived it was closed, so I would recommend phoning ahead yourself!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warmhotsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST2010, Responsable relations clients at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Thank you for your comment. We do hope your stay has been pleasant, therefore we do regret your impression about the room. We could have moved you easily to another but never had your request about it. Be sure, all our staff is trained regularly to listen and assist all our guests .You could also have been suggested an upgrade in oe of our Superior room with sea view and get the view and the light you were expecting. it is truely neccessary to communicate your impression as we all are ready to help you. We do not want our guests to feel uncomfortable so, do please contact us immediatly.
Our concierge may sometime be out of his office for guest assistance purposes but reception staff may help you fo any questions relating to the concierge desk. Just call or ask reception staff and get immediate and efficient assistance.
Hopefully we will welcome you back and enjoy another time the pleasure of staying with us along the Promenade . See you soon.
Guest relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

I stayed at this hotel with 2 other girlfriends and it was exactly what we wanted. The room was big and spacious, clean and the decor was very nice. The location of this hotel is great as it is on the promenade de anglais which is the main strip in Nice and literally right across from the beach. It is within walking distance to the train station, there is a bus stop right out the front which has a shuttle bus to the airport and it is within walking distance to all the shops, restaurants and cafes. The staff were also very helpful. Overall i would definately recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST2010, Responsable relations clients at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Thank you. Your comment is so pleasant .We all are very impressed with your satisfaction.
We do hope to welcome you back.
Thank you again.
With our best regards.
Sincerely.
Guest relation manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

A wonderful belle epoque hotel - Rooms facing the sea with terrace are really great-
Large rooms with terraces - very modern all white hotel seem to have been refurbished lately as well as the bathrooms -Great productto be recommended .
Restaurant good quality and quick service- Hotel is very romantic . Breakfast can be taken on Prmoenade des anglais during summer time

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boyfromla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST2010, Responsable réception at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Thank you Sir, it has been a great pleasure for all of us to welcome you.
We all are delighted to read such a positive review and all our staff has been informed about it.
We do hope to welcome you back and will make everything possible to make your stay the most enjoyable.
With our best regards.
Sincerely yours
Mr Jean Michel Sigaut
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbaek, Denmark
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Great location on the beach. Nice room but not very large. We had separate tiny toilet (with no basin) and bathroom (with no toilet). Partial view to the beach. Good breakfast with large selection of hot and cold items. Busy at times, so we usually had to wait for a table. Airport bus stop very close to the hotel. The charming old town is about 15 min. walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fouesnant, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

I did enjoy my stay there. We arrived in the morning and though the room was not yet available , we were offered to wait for the first room ready and our cases were stored immediately by the porter. We decided to enjoy the morning sun on the beach and relax.
The receptionist, a tall man was very polite and helpful. When we came back, the room was ready our cases in the room.
Room was amazing, white, marble on the floor , impressive view over the sea.Very well sound proofed , no noise at night except from the other guests next door.
We had breakfast once and had fruits and fresh bred rolls with coffee.
Staff is really busy, running in and out but always nice and helpful even with some rude guests treating them like servants
Try the beach right across the street and if you are in search of relaxing time, enjoy the smooth sunbeds by the water.
This trip was rather short but I was really in need of relaxing time and I did find it there.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank v1cent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST2010, Responsable réception at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Thank you for your message.
It was a pleasure for all of us to welcome you.
We do wish to welcome you back for a relaxing and enjoyable stay.
See you very soon.
Sincerely.
Jean Michel SIGAUT
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

The Hotel West End is a good hotel, but unfortunately it is let down by some of it's staff.

The positive aspects of this hotel include the great location, good wifi in the rooms and friendly/ helpful bell boys.

Negatives aspects experienced included a rude male staff member at reception during check in, cleaners ignored the "do not disturb" sign on our door and ice delivered to our room was placed in a dirty ice bucket without a napkin or towel. Also, we went to the bar for a drink one afternoon and there was no staff in sight for 7 minutes so we just gave up and went outside. So it appeared the simple details were lacking in this hotel.

If they could improve staff training, moral or attitude it would make this place much better. In the end of the day, it's the staff that make the difference to your experience. They set the tone and determine how much you enjoy your stay. I have to point out that the majority of staff were fine at the West End, but unfortunately there are a few bad apples here.

The room we were given was fine with all the usual level of amenities and the view was fantastic. The windows and shutters provided very good sound proofing as Nice is very noisy at night. This ensured we had a good night's sleep in air conditioned comfort. We booked in as the Superior Sea View Room (room 310).

I would recommend to consider staying at this hotel. It is at a great location right on the beach and close to the old town. There is a serviced car park (which is not part of the hotel) only a very short walk away (I think I paid approximately 20 Euro per day). Just be aware that the service is inconsistent from our experience and I hope the West End can improve on this because it would turn this good hotel into a great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcommins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST2010, Responsable réception at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Thanks for this comment. We are all dedicated to customer comfort and satisfaction all along their stay. I wish , I could have talked with you about the negative issue, this would have helped me a lot to clear out the negative issue and make you feel more comfortable. Do please mention immediately your remarks to the supervisor or the front office manager as it is always easier to amend a subjective impression. All our staff has been informed about your comments and immediate actions had been taken. I do regret, how you felt and hopefully you will be one of our returning guests, I am longing to welcoming you again with pleasure.
Sincerely yours
Mr Jean Michel Sigaut
Front Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Nice
#72 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,939 reviews
Hotel Negresco
#16 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel West End

Property: Hotel West End
Address: 31 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#31 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#33 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel West End 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1842, the West End Hotel, a jewel of the Belle Epoque, is ideally located on the legendary Promenade des Anglais. It is 5 minutes from the old city, 10 minutes from the airport and the Palais des Congrès congress centre.In an enchanting setting, the Hotel is a perfect combination of tradition, savoir-faire, and modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nice
West End Hotel Nice
Nice Best Western
Hotel West End Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing