We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and nice room, over all not impressed with service”
Review of Hotel West End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel West End
Ranked #48 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great view and nice room, over all not impressed with service”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

As part of our honeymoon we travelled from our starting point of Paris to Nice via train which was a long 7 hour ride. We arrived in at midnight but were so excited to get to our 'privlidge' room on the water that we have paid top dollar for and booked for 5 nights.

We were happy to see our bags taken to our room on arrival (was quite a delay though) as other hotels in France did not offer this service althought they were 4 or 5 star. We were greeted by a nice lady who had excellent english and handed us our key for room 203.

Our excitement was quickly gone when we entered a very small and dark room with a window that could barely open looking onto a brick wall. We could not believe how much we had paid and that we were stuck there for 5 nights and unrefundable as we booked through expedia. It got worse we when realised the beds were two single beds, not even made up as one bed.

My husband made the call to reception as I was quite emotional and exhausted from the trip. We were told that it would not be a problem to move us tomorrow to a better room and with a sea view. We were happy with this and expected big things the next day. So we slept in the two single beds. So we packed up again in the morning before heading to breakfast and went to the lobby to ask where we would be moved. They knew nothing of it and said they were completely booked and that she was in disbelief that someone would offer us an ocean view room. After some thought the receptionist said that tomorrow there was a 'delux seaview room' available but we would have to pay for the upgrade. I was quite shocked by this but ended up taking the deal as it was our honeymoon and didn't want to be unhappy any longer in a terrible room. She did however give us a discounted upgrade if that means anything..
So after a terrilble breakfast - do not waste your money to make it short, go elsewhere. We went off and enjoyed our day, the private beach is very good where you can lay on the comfortable beds with unbrellers and food and drink service direct to you. This was expensive however, I believe around 20 euro a day each (not included in the hotel, merely access)

We bared and grinned another night in our tiny room (luckily they have made the two single beds up with king size linen so we could sleep in the same bed almost).

The next morning we were told we would be moving to the top floor (room 609). The room was amazing and quite spectacular, it had a very large balcony like a roof top villa coming off our room and the most magnificant view 360 views. The whole room was stylish and white and the bathroom was seperated by glass so you could look at the ocean from the bathtub. We were very very happy with this room.

We decided to have breakfast sent to our room the next day 'a la carte' as it was cheaper than eating in the restaurant buffett which was poor quality and bad service. We filled in the breakfast form that went on our door and stipulated it to arrive at 730am. We both woke up the next day at 8am and puzzled about our breakast not arriving yet. We waited another half an hour and then made a call. The receptionist apologised and said it would be sent straight up and gave no explanation. Another half an hour went past and I called again to be told I should have recieved it and that she would go to the kitchen and personally escort it to our room. Ten minutes later we recieved a phone call that they had lost our order and what did we want. We made the order again and ended up getting our breakfast just before 10am. A big difference from 730 and took a big chunk away from our day. When examining the bill that was left with the room service we saw that we were also over charged for two full buffet breakfasts rather than the eggs and coffee we ordered. Another call to reception and they said they would fix it and they did...

Another night we brought takeaway in and asked for some knives and forks to be sent to our room. They never came.. and we just couldn't be bothered and ate without the cultlery.

Just some attention to detail missing with this hotel. The room we eneded up in was amazing, but I think floors 2 and 3 must have those terrible small rooms. Great location though and also the bell boy packed our bags into our car on the final day which was great. (expected, but we have had worse in Europe).

Only stay in this hotel if you are in the delux seaview or junior suite.

Also ate in the french restaurant for dinner one night the was apart of the hotel looking at the water and it was very very good food and service.

Room Tip: Only stay in this hotel if you are in the delux seaview or junior suite. The Classic and privlidge r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EttyMetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST2010, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Thank for your writing your comments about your last stay at the West End.
We do consider with good care every reviews from our past guests because they help us a lot to improve our product and services.
We do regret the inconveniences , you had all along your stay. Our staff has been informed and immediate actions required from all of them.
Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and make your stay the most enjoyable .
Thank you again for your visit.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    443
    208
    83
    53
See reviews for
182
600
44
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We had a fabulous experience at this hotel from start to finish. We found all the staff to be extremely helpful throughout our stay. We booked a superior seaview room and were given a room on the 1st floor overlooking the sea. We asked if it would be possible to move to a room which also had a balcony (seaview) within the same price range, as we love to watch the sun go down. The receptionist tried to accommodate our request, but apologised as we would be unable to move until the next day. This wasn't a problem as there was nothing wrong with the original room except for not having a balcony. The next day we had a wonderful surprise, as not only had the hotel staff given us a room with a balcony....but they had also given us a room upgrade! We had a room on the 5th floor with an even better view and a balcony; and also a much bigger more modern room. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we were very happy and very grateful. All too often people are very quick to complain, but not so quick to give praise. We will definitely be going back to this hotel when we return to Nice because we were so well looked after during our 4 night stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

On check in we were told we had been upgraded to a "privilege room", would hate to see what the regular rooms are like!! The room on the 3rd floor was tiny with a bathroom that you could not use the facilities ver well as it so small. The decor was peeling and had damp patches in several places. The breakfast is expensive and of very poor quality.

Room Tip: Are there any?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessamies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST2010, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
You would have loved to visit our other rooms and make your own choice with one of our receptionist.
We would have loved to talk with you and find the best solution for your comfort and so make you happy all along your stay.
We would have expected to be thanked for a free upgrade despite your impression about the room.
We would have love to suggest one of our various special offer to make every guest feel considered .
Obviously anonymous comments are not the best way to get a solution in the present and for the future and their accuracy is not always reliable .
Anyhow, we do thank you for your visit.
Sincerely yours
guest relation manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairview, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Arrived in Nice after a nine day cruise. Had to wait several hours for our room, but that was not unexpected. The hotel is right where the Promendate stops being "tourist" locale, but is right on the beach and you can get transport ion easily. Our room was on the side of the building but we did have an oceanfront view from the window down the strand toward the airport. We had paid for a room with breakfast, but since we did not have a room number while waiting for our room, we had to pay for breakfast. We left the following morning for an early flight and breakfast was not served at 6am. Therefore we paid for something we never got. I should had considered this when making the reservation. The front desk did not speak English when we departed and we had difficulty with our limited French. Overall, it was a good experience. Nice was lovely - one of the best stops we made. In fact, I would rate things as Nice, Lisbon, Paris then London for the cities I enjoyed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST2010, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
Thank you for this positive comment. Please allow me to clear out a few points, breakfast if included in the rate can be served for early departure as a take away breakfast box if needed.
As long as a service is paid, it is due and we do engage ourselves on that.
Early breakfast request is to be announced to our staff and as well as any special requirement for an early departure. All our staff speak fluent english, it is somewhat surprising to read that you had difficulties to communicate as it has never been mentionned before to us . We remind that check out time is 12 o'clock and check in time at 2 pm, and first rooms ready are allocated to early arrivals . We do hope to welcome you back for your next stay in Nice.
Thank you again for your comment. Sincerely.
Guest relation manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, WAshington, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Non-smoking room reeked of smoke. Refrigerator and all its contents were hot because it didn't work. One outlet (by desk) didn't work. Way too much money for a pathetic room. Rings on nightstands where people had glasses wasn't cleaned.Room smaller than any others we had in Europe. My husband and I aren't that large and couldn't even walk past each other without turning sideways. We were seaside, so the view was fabulous, but that is the ONLY thing this room had going for it! We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST2010, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 24 September 2011
Thank you for such a personnal and subjective comment.
You did enjoy the view from the room which is really exceptional.
For all the other issues mentionned in your comment, we regret all of them of course and would recommend to every guest to call immediatly the front desk upon arrival..Our guest relation staff is in charge of verifying and solving all the negative impression, a guest could feel.
Writing them down in a message after departure is not very usefull for the guest comfort and satisfaction and may mislead the readers about the quality of our product.
The guest realtion service is to be contacted and all the issues may be verified and solved. All our team is ready to assist our guests whatever the issues are.
Comparision between hotels is to be made on objective matters.
We do wish to welcome you back anyhow and make you feel comfortable living the most pleasant and peaceful stay with us.
Sincerely.
Guest relation service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

After a terrible experience at the Washington Mayfair London it was with trepidation I booked another grand old hotel in a great location. This time I was pleasantly surprised. It is an old building and the common areas whilst grand are older style, however, the room - 520- was gorgeous. Fabulous views roomy comfy beds everything you want or need in this elegant and grand old city. We are in the middle of a 2 day stay and will come back for our last night of a wonderful holiday. The service is a little slow but the concierges are all first class - directed us to a great restaurant for lunch.

Room Tip: Room 520 or any with a view - avoid near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST2010, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
What a pleasant comment...!
All our team thank you and wish you the best.
We hope to welcome you back and this is to happen one day, do please contact us in advance.
We will welcome you back with great pleasure .
Sincerely yours.
Guest relation manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caterham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is the second time my brother and I have stayed at this hotel. It's position (next to a Museum in a gated park, and close to the luxurious Hotel Negresco), is perfect. Situated directly on the promenade (The Promenade des Anglais), amongst a long stretch of hotels and cafes, the view is fantastic. Access to the old town with it's renowned flower market, is only a short walk, as is the elegant Place Massena. Nice is nice, with no signs of neglect,graffiti, or rowdyism. It is also relaxed but bustling in a Mediterranean way.
The West End Hotel is a smart 4 star establishment, and was the first hotel to be constructed on the Promenade in the 19th century. It has obvously been repainted and re-decorated inside and out. The restaurant La Siecle, is very good, and exterior tables allow a great view onto the trottoir (pavement). Service is relaxed ,but attentive and efficient. The front desk staff, and concierge are very friendly and in our experience have the place running very smoothly. The maids clean the rooms very well. Breakfast is taken in a separate conservatory style building with good interior decoration, and the food selection is typical of any 4 star hotel. One great point is that the rooms have a complimentary tea/coffee making tray which is replenished daily (though no biscuits). Toiletries in the rooms are produced by Fragonard. Minibar and safe are the usual. I speak/read French to an average standard, but English only speakers will have no problems in making themselves understood. Our experience of the West End will encourage us to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Visitor1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST2010, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
THANK YOU, for such a positive review of our hotel. We all do wish to welcome you back as soon as possible and in the meantime hope the best for you all year long.
Sincerely
Guest relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Nice
#79 of 204 in Nice
2,039 reviews
Hotel Negresco
#15 of 204 in Nice
2,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel West End

Property: Hotel West End
Address: 31 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#28 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#33 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel West End 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1842, the West End Hotel, a jewel of the Belle Epoque, is ideally located on the legendary Promenade des Anglais. It is 5 minutes from the old city, 10 minutes from the airport and the Palais des Congrès congress centre.In an enchanting setting, the Hotel is a perfect combination of tradition, savoir-faire, and modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nice
West End Hotel Nice
Nice Best Western
Hotel West End Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing