We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed hotel”
Review of Hotel West End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel West End
Ranked #54 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
176 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Well appointed hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The hotel is situated on the Promenade des angles .Fantastic location within walking distance to the city centre and the port . The old city and the flower/fish marked a short distance away . Walking distance to the train station where you can get trains to Montycarlo or Cannes . Breakfast at the hotel was good but worth trying one of the many bar/restaurants which are on the beach immediately opposite the hotel .

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a sea view room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FranceFansBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST2010, Responsable relations clients at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for your very nice review.
We wish you to return very soon to enjoy again our hotel .
Sincerely yours.
Guest relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    428
    201
    79
    52
See reviews for
172
577
41
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The hotel is just along the beach - beautiful views and walking distance to restaurants and shops. The hotel room was small (this is Europe after all) but cozy yet very clean and comfortable. We were very pleased with the staff as they are very nice and helpful. We will stay here again next time in Nice!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaSteph31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST2010, Responsable relations clients at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you for your review. Your enthousiasm is highly appreciated.
It shows how memorable your stay was and hopefully we will welcome you back .
We do wish it .
With our best regards.
Sincerely yours
Guest relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Rooms are recently renovated and a bit small but very nice. Lobby staff don't approach u but are helpful when you approach them. Lobby needs a facelift as do some hallways. As for food, skip breakfast and walk to pastry shop 1 block behind Nagresco for a croissant. During the day, guests are given a discount at BlueBeach which is fine but food isn't that hot, walk back across the street to the West End for lunch. No biz center but wifi is decent. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCTraveler729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST2010, Responsable relations clients at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for your comment. Classic room are our first room type and if you wish to have more space we recommend our Privilege or even Deluxe room.
Our full buffet breakfast is served everyday from 7 to 11 am but if you wish to pick up a reduced selection of food, you can be charged per item and not for the full buffet.
However it is much better to have a sitted breakfast .
Business center is available on 24 hours service. For printing documenst or online checking our reception staff can assist you at any time.
Have a nice way back home and we wish to welcome you back very soon.
Sincerely.
Guest relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

It truly has a great location but their housekeeping is not up to their standards. When we first arrived, we found out that the bathroom litter bin was not emptied and it was full of rubbish left by previous guests. That was really awful. Next day one of the drinking glasses in the bathroom was missing. We wondered why, until I stepped on a piece of broken glass. Apparently housekeeping broke a glass, didn´t clean up afterwards and didn´t bring another glass to replace the broken one. On the same day we also found a cleaning sponge on our bathroom floor. This is something I have never experienced in any other four star hotel. We had also reserved a late check out (3 pm). When we came back in to our room on our departure day (1 pm) our key cards didn´t function anymore. When I asked about this, reception said that all keys stop functioning at noon on departure day. I just wonder why they didn´t tell about this earlier when we checked in, and there is nothing said about this on their web page either. Now they just caused us extra trouble when we needed to climb back down to get our keys revalidated. One last thing about the Concierge. We didn´t need concierge services but I saw couple of times guests waiting at the concierge desk but I didn´t even once see any staff members actually serving customers at that desk. I wonder if there really is a concierge.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mh79_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST2010, Responsable relations clients at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for your time writing this comment.
All our maids have been informed about this issues and procedures and training have been amended. We do assume that this a matter of person but not of service. Our maid team has been then controlled and improved.
Key card needs to be validated and no need to get back to reception as maids or valet can open your room door as their guest list show your name and departure date and time.
You can also get help using the in house phone displayed on the every floors and have a bellboy sent up immediatly.
We do have a concierge who is able to assist guests and according to their expectations, he may be obliged to leave his desk for a while. Receptionist can in the meantime assist any customers and take notice of every wish.
Should you wish to visit us again do please conatct our reservation agent, they will be deligthed to helps you.
Sincerely yours
Guest relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We just got back from taking our extended family to Paris and Nice. In August of 2011, we booked 9 standard rooms and one junior suite for us for six nights (60 nights total). The West End said they couldn't guarantee us a junior suite with an ocean view, but they would do their best. Image our horror when we checked in. Almost all of the 9 standard rooms were in the back of the hotel, facing walls with no views at all. The rooms were tiny, relatively dark, and the beds sagged. The worst was our junior suite. It was the size of a postage stamp. There was a very steep metal staircase leading up the the second floor where the shower, bathtub, and sink were located. There was no room for them on the main floor. There was also a single bed up there. Our bed was recessed into an alcove, so when we sat on the bed (no other place to sit), there was a yellow wall on one side, a closet on the other, and a blank yellow wall facing us. The only thing on any of the walls was a flat screen TV. There was a tiny window that was not visible from the bed, but if we walked to it, it faced another yellow wall. There as almost no natural light coming in. There was a toilet on the main floor, but I was afraid of bumping my head on the back of the staircase if I didn't walk close enough to the wall. I was very afraid of slipping and falling down the metal stairs after taking a shower. When we complained, we were told that there was nothing they could do as they were completely sold out. I guess the fact that we booked almost a year in advance didn't mean anything to them. We lasted about 1/2 hour in the room, then went out to find another hotel. We were very lucky to get a room at the Palais de la Mediterranee, 2 blocks away. We checked out of the West End (no refund even though they rebooked the room), and spent a wonderful six nights at the Palais. The rest of the family stayed at the West End. They were a lot younger and could tolerate a lot more than we could.

I notified our travel agent immediately upon seeing the room at the West End, and they tried to help, but got nowhere.

The location of the hotel might be terrific, but it really was awful. I have no idea where the room is that was on their website. Maybe it's a model room.

Room Tip: Stay away from junior suite 323!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fran32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST2010, Responsable relations clients at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you Sir for taking time to write us your comment.
We received a reservation for classic standard rooms from your travel and none of them have a view on the Mediterranean Sea...and the Junior suite was a junior suite with city view.
We do recommend you to contact your travel agent as the room allocated for all the members of your party were matching with the reservation.
An upgrade to a Junior suite with sea view is a request that cannot be confirmed and your travel agent has been informed about it.
Unfortunately none of our Junior suite with sea view were available and despite all our efforts to satisfy you we were not able to provide you one on arrival but the next day a room change was possible but you decline it and deliberatly choose to leave the hotel .
Room 323 is a newly refurbished Junor suite and it has two storey with a bedroom area and bathroom with sofa bed on the upper level. It is commonly appreciated by a vast majority of our guests and by now we never had such a bad appreciation about it. Should your disapointment about the view make you write such a bitter comment, it does not reflect the reality and make us rather skeptic about your objectivity .
Should you remind you that you were nicely offered to use our garden area to celebrate a party with you friends.
We do take notice and good acre of your review and contact your travel agent for further information . However you are still welcomed .
Sincerely yours.
Guest relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

Its hard not to be nice to these folks, because the staff were great and the location is picture perfect. However, the rooms were very small, the a/c almost non existent, and housekeeping was spotty. Also, not a fan of their breakfast buffet; however, their restaurant is excellent for dinner! Their WiFi service is weak and cannot handle more than one device at a time per room.
Located on the Promenade des Anglais, it is a great spot of walking, beach going and people watching, close to shopping and an easy walk to the Old Town without the crowds.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nvizble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST2010, Responsable relations clients at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you Sir
We do appreciate your comment because it matters a lot to all of us.
Please note : Our Wifi network can handle 2 different connexions but 2 different passwords are required and this can be easily be done by our reception staff.
Classic rooms are the first room type available but superior and deluxe rooms offer more space and view.
Breakfast room is located on the garden with open air area. Pretty mild in the morning but if a fan is needed for better comfort, just ask for it. We can provide you one.
Hope to welcome you back very soon.
Sincerely.
Guest relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This was our third time at the hotel West-End in Nice for an extended weekend (me and my husband). We had a nice, clean room on the 4th floor with a sea view (as asked in the reservation made by ebookers) and a small French balcony, with one chair. The room was quite tiny but the weather was soo-oo good and sunny we were outside otherwise but slept and washed in the hotel.

We had seen a promotion for a reduced price for breakfast at the hotel on the hotel website (12 euros instead of 19 euros). It was necessary to book the breakfast in advance as we diid. It was a good breakfast with basic things - I would have wanted a bit more some fruits but it was ok.

On the whole - a good stay with helpful staff (though we do not needed the personnel very much).

We recommend this hotel sincerely.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST2010, Responsable relations clients at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you for being a returning guest and to write such a good comment .
We are all dedicated to customer satisfaction and when we achieve that commitment we are all very happy.
Hope you had a nice way back home and wish to welcome you back very soon.
Sincerely yours.
Guest relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Nice
#73 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Hotel Negresco
#13 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel West End

Property: Hotel West End
Address: 31 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#31 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#33 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel West End 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1842, the West End Hotel, a jewel of the Belle Epoque, is ideally located on the legendary Promenade des Anglais. It is 5 minutes from the old city, 10 minutes from the airport and the Palais des Congrès congress centre.In an enchanting setting, the Hotel is a perfect combination of tradition, savoir-faire, and modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nice
West End Hotel Nice
Nice Best Western
Hotel West End Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing