We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what's not to like!”
Review of Hotel West End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel West End
Ranked #55 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow, what's not to like!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Excellent location, superb service and a very modern and well appointed room with a million dollar view! The entire staff ensured that what ever we needed was taken care of promptly. My wife and I fully recommend Hotel West End -- make sure to have dinner in the restaurant, the staff are beyond charming.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and staff on the sea side on the 5th floor, you won't be dissappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to read your comment, our staff do every day a nice work to surpass your expectation.

We hope to welcome you soon at West End Hôtel.

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    428
    201
    79
    52
See reviews for
172
576
41
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Near Norwich, Norfolk England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

HI there

We are just back from a 4 night stay at the West End. I have to say I was a little nervous after reading some of the negative comments, but all to no avail. the hotel was FAB, first class service, location is amazing, right across the road from the beach. Blue Beach food and just a coffee was very nice! The bus stop in about 10 yards from the main entrance, only 6 euro door to door for the airport. 20 euro in taxi. Do book a sea view it is worth it. we had rom 315, could have asked for better. Slight drawback, my only (ish) comment - Breakfast whilst very varied in choice, was only a glorified continental offer, but of a high standard. Still who wants and English Breakfast when in NICE! - Blue Beach is first class if you want to chose this in stead, failing that there is about 10 little cafe's all around a 5-10 walk along the promenade.

You are only 10 min stroll along the Prom until you get to the old town a must. AND whilst the tourist train is tacky, for 8 euro it really does give you a base knowledge of the local area, including stopping right at the top on the hill for 10 min, with a view of the whole of Nice and the promenade, amazing.

YOU MUST visit - St Paul de Ville, its bus 400, 45min journey, wait for it 1.5 euro each way!!! takes you to this amazing old walled city with hundreds of local art and craft shops, the gallery's are truly amazing and some very affordably!

Also take the 200 bus (again 1.5 euro and about 15min) to VilleFrance sur mar - fab small fishing village with marina, and amazing sea food, very up market and a place to go for a romantic meal, day for night!

Weather was around 23c totally unexpected :-) Take an umbrella just in case!

All in all, a great place and will def. be coming back again!

Any questions do lease ask :-)

Peter

Room Tip: Go "room only" and explore all the good food Nice has to offer. Get a HIGH floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tomo1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to read your comment, our staff do every day a nice work to surpass your expectation.

We hope to welcome you soon at West End Hôtel.

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Great location on the Promenade and almost next door to the famous Negresco. We had two rooms (408 and 310) both with full sea views and both with small balconies. 310 was slightly larger. Our stay was for 3 nights at the end of October. Apparently this is classified as Winter as the air-con was switched off for the whole building despite day time temperatures of around 70F vand night time temperatures in the 60's. Room 408 in particular was sweltering at night and as the Hotel is located on a very busy main road (virtually a dual carriageway), traffic noise is a real problem if you open the windows and it's almost impossible to sleep. We requested a fan which was supplied (the first one didn't work). This improved the situation slightly. However, after we returned home and on checking the bill (yes, I know we should've checked it more carefully before!), we were charged 50 Euros for it! A bit of a cheek or what? In my opinion, this Hotel is too expensive and the advantage of a sea view is massively outweighed by the traffic noise. We didn't have breakfast in the Hotel. I suggest that you try the La Dolce Momento cafe a few yards away (turn right out of the Hotel). Very friendly, enjoyable and a fraction of the price of the breakfast in the Hotel. On the plus side, the staff are friendly and helpful and the Hotel is quite well maintained. If ever we returned to Nice we'd choose to say in one of the many plush looking Hotels in a quiet side street, forego the sea views and save a lot of money!

Room Tip: High level as possible and to the rear of the Hotel if you want a decent night's sleep and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 18 April 2015
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for the time you spent writing us that comment.
I will take in care in each things of your comment to exceed your futur stay with us.

Looking hopefully to welcome you soon,

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed at the West End in October 2013 in a Superior Room with sea view. I would start by saying that the hotel is well situated and easily reached by bus from the airport. The bus stop back to the airport is right outside the hotel. It is also next door to Negresco. Check-in was easy, excellent welcome and very helpful and nice staff. The hotel has clearly recently been upgraded and the rooms/furnishing etc is excellent. We did not eat in the hotel, prefering to have breakfast at some of the nice cafes along the front. much cheaper and at the same time more authentic way to start the day. The restaurant did look nice and the prices reasonable but there wqere some lovely restaurants nearby to try out.we went back a street one night and there was a significant drop in price.
My only complaint would be that the room was quite small although it was designed well so there was plenty of storage etc. The bathroom was a bit tight as was the balcony and it was difficult to get both of us out there at the same time. The picture shows a balcony with a sun lounger!!!. Not a hope. All in all however I would be happy to stay in this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damasust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The West End Hotel on the promenade near the centre of Nice is a fantastic location, just across from the beach and close by to numerous restaurants. We stayed in room 312 with two small balconies and had a wonder view of the med, we merely leant over in the morning and pressed a button and the shutter rose up to let us see the water, pricey but well worth it

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The West End was a very nice stay, the staff were helpful and friendly. The morning breakfast in the garden was a real treat and one night we ate at the Hotel restaurant which was fantastic both in meal and entertainment by attentive staff. A great hotel overall.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My group of four had used a travel agent to book two "superior sea view" rooms months in advance at this 4-star hotel. First, the pictures on the website are misleading. The overall feeling in this hotel is tired and shabby. Both of our rooms had dirty carpet. Secondly, know that there is a LOT of street noise with the sea view rooms. Thirdly, we were very disappointed with how our reservation was handled. When we checked in, one of the rooms had been upgraded to a junior suite and not the other, but we were not told this. I was in the junior suite so was pleasantly surprised when I walked in, as was my roommate. Our companions were extremely disappointed after they saw our room, and rightly so. We should have had the same accommodations or at least been told that the one room was an upgrade so that we could decide who would get the better room. By the time we knew, we had already unpacked. Even our travel agent said that it is unusual to treat two parties differently if they booked the same accommodations. Our companions were told that there were no other rooms available with twin beds and that if one did become available, they would have to pay an additional 100 Euro per night because the room they had was the one we had initially booked. European twin beds are so close together that it seems to me that our friends could have been offered a king bed in a junior suite, but were not. I can see both sides of this issue, but it really colored the last three days of our two weeks in France and made it unpleasant for all four of us. The least the hotel could have done was comped our friends something for the difference and the disappointment.

Room Tip: If you go in the fall and don't like hot and humid, check if AC is available. Large windows hel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Com4tableAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 18 April 2015
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for the time you spent writing us that comment.
I will take in care in each things of your comment to exceed your futur stay with us.

Looking hopefully to welcome you soon,

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Nice
#75 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Hotel Negresco
#15 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel West End

Property: Hotel West End
Address: 31 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#33 Family Hotel in Nice
#33 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel West End 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1842, the West End Hotel, a jewel of the Belle Epoque, is ideally located on the legendary Promenade des Anglais. It is 5 minutes from the old city, 10 minutes from the airport and the Palais des Congrès congress centre.In an enchanting setting, the Hotel is a perfect combination of tradition, savoir-faire, and modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nice
West End Hotel Nice
Nice Best Western
Hotel West End Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing