We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent room, great sea view and friendly staff”
Review of Hotel West End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel West End
Ranked #49 of 204 Hotels in Nice
JMNYC_13
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Decent room, great sea view and friendly staff”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here got a room facing the sea - worth it as the room itself is average. The positives were its clean and the staff was helpful. Location is great a short walk into old town. Blu Bar across the street on the water was a nice lunch spot. We returned there each evening for a drink. I would stay here again, affordable sea view and great location.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JMNYC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to read your comment, our staff do every day a nice work to surpass your expectation.

We hope to welcome you soon at West End Hôtel.

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    443
    208
    83
    53
See reviews for
182
601
44
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here 4 days, were given a Classic room on 6th floor, facing a wall, this room was small and not really suitable for 2 people, there was no room to put your luggage ( 2 small suitcases) and not much soundproofing as you can hear the cleaners and guests very clearly in the corridor , and also phones ringing in other rooms.

After the 1st night, we asked for an upgrade which we were given ( for an extra fee of 50e per night) the room was again on the 6 Floor but this time overlooking the stunning Bay .
The noise problems still remain, but the view made up for it.

All in all we had a pleasant stay , staff on the whole were pleasant and helpful.

We did not partake of Breakfast, as felt this was over priced at 20e+ per person. but went to local bakery nearby for fresh pastry and coffee which we enjoyed on the balcony.

I would recommend the Hotel , but not the Classic room, as I feel it is too small and overpriced for what you get.

Room Tip: Choose what you need, rooms at the back are quieter, but do not have the view. If you have the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your kind comment, all your opinion are took in care and give us the good opportunity to improve our service.

Because we are from 1842, you cannot find the same size, same soundproof, the same style, the same spirit than a new and young hotel. By the West End, you have the chance to live the real Belle Époque ambiance.

We understand our property is not the new and modern one, but we do not expect to be new and modern. Like castle, we try every day to show the historic side of Nice City one century ago.

But we are renovating several rooms every years, from classic to suite category.

Then for the housekeeping service, maids are working until 8PM, I apologize for the phone ringing. Since your comment, we change the way of contact and our maid have talkie walkie to communicate.

Hoping all those information will answer to your questions

Best regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The hotel is in a superb location on the Promenade des Anglais and it was worth paying more for a superior room facing the sea, although mine was on the first floor so also had a good view of the traffic! The soundproofing was excellent though and, apart from being very small, the room couldn't be faulted.
My biggest disappointment was the facilities. As a woman travelling alone it's nice to have somewhere to sit, have a drink, read a book perhaps chat with fellow travellers in the evening but the bar was closed as being "out of season" This in mid May with Nice being particularly busy with the Cannes film festival and the Monaco Grand Prix bringing in visitors. The only option was a rather dark and dreary sitting area. Needless to say I spent most evenings in my room. It's also worth pointing out that to sit in the "private" beach area costs 20 euros and if you want to eat in the hotel restaurant at night it's necessary to book. All in all a lovely hotel in a wonderful position but could be so much better.

Room Tip: Always choose a room facing the sea and try to get one on floor 3 or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to read your comment, our staff do every day a nice work to surpass your expectation.

Before beginning my answer to your nice comment, we just want to let you know that the Private beach Blue Beach is not part of our property. Its an external management, with external rules, and of courses, external prices.

You're right, we do not have a physical bar, but our lobby take place as a bar, with our professionnal waiters team. During, may month, our guest can enjoy the terrasse of La Palmeraie, outside, between palmer, only during nice weather of course.

We hope to welcome you back, showing you all the other advantage of West End Hôtel.

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a four night stay at the West End Hotel. Had a first floor room with a balcony and it was great being able to watch the world go by on the Promenade Des Anglais. The staff were friendly and helpful and our room was nicely furnished with a huge King sized bed which was very comfortable. The bathroom was well equipped although we were only given some soap on our last night. Fortunately I always bring my own toiletries. I did not eat at the hotel so can not comment on the food, but I would stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JanineHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for the time you spent writing us that comment.

As you said, our hotel is not a new one, but our technical team take every day a full attention on every details giving you the opportunity to have a nice and warm stay with us.

Looking hopefully to welcome you soon,

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here at the end of April and was very impressed with the hotel. The staff on reception were very helpful and friendly. We arrived a few hours before check in and were able to leave our bags in the storage room until our room was ready. We had a junior suite on the fourth floor with a sea view and it was amazing! The suite was very clean and comfortable, only complaint was the quality of the wifi. Overall I thought that the hotel was very well run, friendly staff and it also had a good quality restaurant. I hope to return sometime and would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for the time you spent writing us that comment.

As you said, our hotel is not a new one, but our technical team take every day a full attention on every details giving you the opportunity to have a nice and warm stay with us.

Looking hopefully to welcome you soon,

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Unless you want a cold shower in the morning do not use this hotel. We stayed on May 1st 2014 and paid 184 euros per night. Its a nice if impersonal hotel but the major problem is no hot water. My complaint was met with indifference, even though I found out from other guests that it was happening every day. They knew when I checked in that the room had no hot water but did not tell me. But they took my 184 Euros. It was not acceptable at that price,( maybe okay in a 20 euro greek taverna!). Michael Gray. Cardiff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, General Manager at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for the time you spent for writing that reviews. All comment provided to our team give the possibbilities to improve the quality skill every day.

I feel on you comment how emotive was your stay with us. we are sorry to see that your stay did not meet all your expectations.

I'm quite surprised regarding your complain about the hot water. As many hotels around the world, it can happen that, when several guest use in the same time the shower, hot water take longer time to come, but we never received complains during your stay regards to others guest. When we received your call, we well informed the maintenance service, and no trouble was found on our system, also checked by an external professionnal on that day.

When a room have a water problem, we block it and we do not sell the room to the guest, so you cannot say that we give the room to the guest telling them they will not have hot water, it's impossible regarding our qualities rules.

We believe you on your personnal feeling and we are sorry for that one.

I wanted to meet you live, but it seems that you have chosen other solutions.

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Managment
Hôtel West End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We ask to change the hip hop and house music with cafe concert , better for the breakfast at West End hotel on franch riviera,
but unsuccesfull!The. Rooms are small and unplesant vue!We asked in
the morning to change our blankets and in the evening nothing happened in this way! The breakfast room is too small and in the garden is noisy fromthe cars and little bit cold and winny!for thw wi fi we must type every time ID and password which are very difficult!
Location is good, the city is very crowded, but there are some butiful plases area, like the smoll villige with medieval look , charming , like St Paul de Vence, Beaulieu sur MER, Ville Franche, etc. Outside the hotel there are a bus station for travel trip and we can buy cheap tikets from the driver.It is possible to thake 98 nu ber bus to the same station for the airport , builted on the see , because of lake of space.In Monaco we visited the oceanographic museum ! our guide didn t told us about romanian scientist Emil Racovita ! In this museum are o lot of pieces collected by Emil Racovita on his expeditions. Negresco hotel was buil by a roumanian musician mnamed Negresco , but our guide told us another story! We was dissapointted about this!
E

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adelle7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for the time you spent writing us that comment.

As you said, our hotel is not a new one, but our technical team take every day a full attention on every details giving you the opportunity to have a nice and warm stay with us.

Or our Breakfast, you're right, i would like to thank you telling us that detail, it is not a room with wall but it is a Barnum terrace outside and in front of the sea. We thought that guest would love to take them breakfast in front of the sea of the morning during the summer.

During you breakfast you can have Hard, “mollet”, or scrambled eggs; different juice like Orange, vitamin, Pinapple, and soya; crusty fried pie, Bacon, sausages, spinach, vegetable cakes, baked beans, 4 kind of céreals, 6 sorts of yogurt, several kind of coffee, hot and fresh milk, nature or with chocolate, 5 sorts of home made comfiture, a large fruit basket, 10 kind of tea, 6 sorts of bread, free gluten bread, pastry like croissant, chocolate cake, grapefruit cake, “cake Breton”, Fruit salad, White cheese, Pork, turkey meat, pancakes, ham and more, served by 5 smily waiters between palmer, Pachira tree, and sun with sea at 30 meter.

What is missing for your expectation? We remain at your entire disposal to improve our breakfast, your future advise will be valuable for us.

Looking hopefully to welcome you soon,

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Nice
#78 of 204 in Nice
2,039 reviews
Hotel Negresco
#16 of 204 in Nice
2,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel West End

Property: Hotel West End
Address: 31 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#28 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#33 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel West End 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1842, the West End Hotel, a jewel of the Belle Epoque, is ideally located on the legendary Promenade des Anglais. It is 5 minutes from the old city, 10 minutes from the airport and the Palais des Congrès congress centre.In an enchanting setting, the Hotel is a perfect combination of tradition, savoir-faire, and modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nice
West End Hotel Nice
Nice Best Western
Hotel West End Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing