We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, except for a front-desk clerk.......”
Review of Hotel West End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel West End
Ranked #39 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Well, I had the idea to not complain about this place. We had rented two rooms from January 31st till February 04,2014.Our arrival was wonderful. At our check-in we were greeted by Miss Olympia and a tall blond guy.. Nice greeting. Both were very kind. The bellboy who helped us , as well, pretty helpful.... We fought we were in heaven. A sort of mistake.. Housekeeping is VERY QUALIFIED. Our room cleaner was very nice. Breakfast is excellent. Hotel localization is great, but very abandoned.... It misses someone to take care of details..... Tissues which dresses sofas were dirty and torned.... Decoration is old and from a past of glories.. WARN yourself, there is a front-desk clerk who works in the afternoon and this guy is from Italy... He is the most rude and disgusting person I have ever met in my whole life. He treated us like very badly all the times we asked anything..... He was arrogant and disrespectful. I complained with the manager on duty Mr. Gauthier Leroy, but I think he did not took it seriously. .How in a place, where people works perfectly they still maintain such employee, answer - he works here a lot of time - I replied - why you keep a rotten apple among good ones?. .Car parking is a mess and there is no place.. Week I have to write about the restaurant Le Siècle and. Monsieur. Nemes, A great person.... Please, if recommends something you to eat, do it..He is superb.. When we were distreated by the Italian front-desk clerk, he calmed me down, because I never was so distreated in my life like that day...Nemes is perfect.He recommended a wonderful desert ..Apple-pie form the Belle Époque . A crime . Well, I would like to return, but I fell affraid of being again distreated by this clerk... He is dangerous.... A friend, who lives close, recommend us to denounce this clerk to the French Tourisme Bureau.. Well, if you think about this hotel, run away from this person... It is a pity, because the whole staff is wonderful .Thanks for all. Our stay, excluding that gentleman, was WONDERFUL.

Room Tip: Ask for the new renovated ones with sea view...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arnaldolahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our nice property for your stay. The West End Hotel was the first 4 star on the Promenade des Anglais, overlooking the sea, in front of a wonderful sunny blue sky.

Thank you also for the time you spent writing us your comment. All detail of your review give us the opportunity to increase our services skill.

I see that every part of our hotel gave to you pleasure and satisfaction. Your good memory about all the name that you mentionned will give me the occasion to recognize each of them.

Only little wrong side of your stay, the front. I'm a little bit confused because you remember all the name of the members who served yourself, but not the one who disserved the situation, there's different italian people working on that place. I made by myself a strong research to see what was the issu regarding your situation.
The case was that you would like a driver service at your arrival, but because we do not have this kind of service, our team member could not take care of your car.

You write that there is no place for parking, but, the secured Public parking "Palais Massena" which is behind our hotel offer to you 250 car places, which is a beginning.

I understand very well your feeling, when you have the way around the world having the driver services when you arrive, but we do not have that one because of the parking proximity beside hotel.

I am sure that such detail cannot delete all your good remembers regarding your previous stay, and for your next stay, i would love to welcome you by myself, showing all our advantages in Nice.

Looking forward to welcome you the soonest.

Xavier Walbrecq
General Management
Hotel West End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,174)
There are newer reviews for Hotel West End
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel is 4 star and it's on the Cote d'Azur sea front. We stayed there for two nights. The hotel is quite old but the reception looks modern and stylish. We have got the room 424 - over looking the courtyard with the view of the mountains. The room was big and we even got an extra "room" with a bunk bed, desk and chair. We placed our luggage there. The bathroom looked especially nice with the marbles everywhere. The only thing that will lower my rating is the price 405e for two nights and it's already with the discount as we booked with booking.com in advance (normal price - 300e per night). It would be 5 star experience if only a little bit cheaper.
On the final note I want to say that the staff is very good and extremely helpful. They allowed us to leave the luggage and borrowed the towels even after we checked out, as our flight was in the evening; Thanks guys!

Room Tip: You have two options for transfers: Bus 98 - takes you straight to/from the airport on Promenade de...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014
Google Translation

Cher client,

Avant toute chose, je tiens à vous dire qu'arrivant de Dublin, vous avez un excellent français. Nous vous remercions pour votre adorable commentaire, il met en avant la passion de notre personnel pour ses clients, ainsi que notre envie permanente de donner le meilleur de nous même.

Vous citez un site de réservation en ligne dans votre avis, indiquant que ce tarif est exclusif. Je me permet à ce titre de rectifier un point. Les tarifs obtenus sur booking sont également disponible en direct à l'hôtel. Pour cela, il vous suffit de nous contacter, notre agent de réservation ce fera alors un plaisir d'écouter vos besoins et de vous donner totale satisfaction dans vos diverses demandes. L’idée que seul les sites promotionnels d'internet pratiquent d'excellents tarif est une idée reçue. Nous avons également nombre de promotions répondant à vos critères. Ensuite votre choix est libre, en prenant compte de ces nouveaux éléments.

Quelque soit votre choix, je me tiens à votre entière disposition pour vous renseigner sur toutes questions dont vous pourriez faire l'objet.

Bien à vous, et au plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau.

Xavier Walbrecq
General Managment
Hotel West End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Our Deluxe room on the 6th floor had an amazing view over the "Baie des Anges". The room was very clean and spacious. Hotel Staff was very kind and helpful. As we celebrated our 50th wedding aniversary, Hotel Management surprised us with a bottle of Champagne in our room.
The location of the hotel is fantastic. Busstop in front of the hotel and we were right into the city-center. We will certainly come back and would recommend this hotel to everyone.
Thanks again to Hotel West End for making this an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014
Google Translation

Chers clients,

J'ai été très heureux de vous accueillir pour cette merveilleuse occasion que votre anniversaire de mariage. Ce fut un plaisir que de vous apporter cette petite attention pleine de bulles.

J'espère avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau dans le futur avec nos employés résolument tournés vers la satisfaction clientèle.

Bien à vous

Xavier Walbrecq
General Managment
Hôtel West End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights at the West End. We paid to upgrade to a sea view and were not disappointed. Two balconies with little tables and chairs and amazing views. Staff are very helpful and smiley. Walking distance to every thing you need to see. Would stay again if in Nice.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank anniewUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

There is no reason to go in other place than Nice, you have beach, sun, good restaurant, and professional people wanting to help you during your stay. This is what we think here at West End Hôtel.

Our Property exist still 1842, and since that time, we do everyday our best to transform you experience as a memorable stay.

Hoping to welcome you the soonest.

Your Faithfully,

Xavier Walbrecq
General Management
Hotel West End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

There was nothing terribly bad about this hotel, it just didn't live up to my expectations (nor the price!).

Staff, although pleasant, were few and far between. No one manning the doors, we had to carry our case up the steps leading to the entrance. Many a time there was no one manning the reception either.

Reception and most areas on the ground floor seemed tired and in desperate need of an update - all a bit 'faded glamour'. In saying that everything was very clean.

We opted for a sea view room with a balcony. Views from the 5th floor were excellent. Room was nice, seemed fairly newly renovated, bathroom was brand new. Balcony however was grubby and there was visible rust. Also there was a single, random dining chair on our balcony. It was too big for the balcony and just looked cheap.

We visited over the busy Grand Prix weekend, although we only bumped into 4 other guests over the 3 nights we spent at the hotel. It made for a strange atmosphere, which I suppose didn't help my impression of the place.

We paid a highly inflated rate for the room, which I don't mind doing as it was a popular weekend for Nice (although strangely not for the hotel!), but I did expect to be staying in a 4 star hotel (as advertised). It was all very 3 star as far as I'm concerned, disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Please be thank for the time you've spent for your comment, all your detail are very important for us giving the opportunity to increase every day our quality skill.

The Grand Prix week is very specific week because this is the week with the higher rates. During that time, hotels sale the room compare to the Grand Prix event, and the rate are purposed accordingly that event.

We are sorry regarding the missing luggage service, it's unacceptable for a four star hôtel. Our porter was at this time helping other guest. I do apologize for that point.

As you said, our hotel is with "glamour style". Build in 1842, we tried since that period to give you the possibility to discover the Belle Epoque style. I can understand that you prefer more modern decoration, and for that request, I will advise to book the junior suite 112 for the next time, which was renovated last winter season.

Today, when we speak about 4 star hotel, there is different category, business, charm, resort, downtown center, or club. Our property is with 4 star because of several advantage (multilingual staffs , room service, quality of service, furniture et accessoiries inside room, professional staff, etc).

I would love to welcome you back, giving the opportunity to prove what I say. You can read other review on Trip advisor, sometime mistakes happen, but we found every time solutions to solve them.

With all my consideration

Xavier Walbrecq
General Management
Hotel West End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We enjoyed the West Hotel very much. A Classic Hotel.
Stayed 4 nights. Excellent!
Got a room on the 6th floor on the side with view of the sea, with a large balcony. We looked out over the bay and Hotel Negresco there was a park between hotels so the view of the sea and bay view was excellent! The room was updated and very comfortable including the bed. Breakfast included was a good selection (with smoked Salmon)
warm food and a large selection of breads, cold meats, cereal yoghourts etc. Staff was welcoming and helpful.
Visited the restaurant and the food and service was good.
We heard the restaurant was run by a separate company than the Hotel. Reception was very good and helpful. Visited Cannes, Monte Carlo and Vince St Paul medieval walled town by local transport very reasonable. A very good experience all round. Sound proofing was good from traffic noise etc.
We would stay there again. Thank you Hotel West.
Note Some of the rooms are still being update, ask for a refurbished room when booking.

Room Tip: Ask for updated room when booking. We sent the Hotel an email of our request . For a good view on t...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Normanb813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for the time you spent writing us that comment.

As you said, our hotel is not a new one, but our technical team take every day a full attention on every details giving you the opportunity to have a nice and warm stay with us.

Looking hopefully to welcome you soon,

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Spent 3 nights here got a room facing the sea - worth it as the room itself is average. The positives were its clean and the staff was helpful. Location is great a short walk into old town. Blu Bar across the street on the water was a nice lunch spot. We returned there each evening for a drink. I would stay here again, affordable sea view and great location.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JMNYC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to read your comment, our staff do every day a nice work to surpass your expectation.

We hope to welcome you soon at West End Hôtel.

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Negresco
#18 of 204 in Nice
2,384 reviews
Le Meridien Nice
#81 of 204 in Nice
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel West End

Address: 31 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#33 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £87 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel West End 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1842, the West End Hotel, a jewel of the Belle Epoque, is ideally located on the legendary Promenade des Anglais. It is 5 minutes from the old city, 10 minutes from the airport and the Palais des Congrès congress centre.In an enchanting setting, the Hotel is a perfect combination of tradition, savoir-faire, and modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nice
West End Hotel Nice
Nice Best Western
Hotel West End Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing