We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average for price”
Review of Hotel West End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel West End
Ranked #48 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“average for price”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We did not stay in the hotel but ate here, The food was ok but for the price of it i think it should have been much better. Staff were very friendly though. Drink prices were also on the expensive side and although Nice is generally expensive the food was better elsewhere, It was also cheaper to eat/ drink in Monte Carlo!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Huesey1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your nice comment. Our restaurant serve different kind of menu, starting from 16.5 € one dish water and coffee, 22€ two dischies water and coffee, and 29€ three dischies water and coffee, then you can order "A la carte", and our rate are not the cheapest or expansiviest of Nice, there are in the middle range. In our restaurant Le Siècle, you can have the Chateaubriant, kind of piece of meat cooked in front of you, and flambed at the end, or the famous Suzette creps, prepared in front of you to. We serve with the french way, so we provide good experience to our nice guest

Because I worked personnally in Monaco, I remember that the first menu is not less than 30€ without drink, and if you choose the normal sandwish in the Metropole galerie, one menu is not under 35 € per person.

We would love top welcome you back for a next stay, and if you have some time, to extend that discussion with you.

Remaining at your entire disposal for any information you may require

Xavier Walbrecq
General Managment
Hotel West End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    443
    208
    83
    53
See reviews for
182
600
44
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here on our last night of a two--week Tour de France so didn't spare any expense! You pay more for the luxury, but it was a beautiful hotel, great staff, awesome location along the promenade, excellent accommodations for our party of three women. Plenty of space, wonderful small little balconies that look out over the promenade and the Mediterranean.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfinntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to read your comment, our staff do every day a nice work to surpass your expectation.

We hope to welcome you soon at West End Hôtel.

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Unfortunately we did not stay at this hotel but when we return to Nice will book this hotel after sampling their restaurant. We had two wonderful meals and must recommend this restaurant as the Nicest place to eat in Nice. The food was delicious and the staff could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANET A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Janet,

I don't know if we are the best restaurant in Nice, but we know that we are a famous one. Our waiters and waitresses loves them work, knowing each dishes, them stories, and the best way to serve them.

More than a meal, coming to our Restaurant Le Siècle is a travel inside the nice world of gastronomy. With us, you will discover the Suzette Crepes, the ChateauBriand piece of Beef, The fish cut in front of you, with a nice and sincert waiter smile.

Come back and enjoy again our Restaurant Le Siècle

Best Regard

Xavier Walbrecq
General Managment
Hotel West End - Restaurant Le Siècle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, NY
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed here in mid-May, and I requested a balcony ahead of time. I am so glad they gave me a balcony, the views were stunning!! The room was nice and big! Bathroom was big. Overall very good hotel, they were very professional. And they have a great private space on the beach, you pat 20 euros and you get a towel and an umbrella, and you can order drinks from your chair on the beach. The parasailing stand is right there as well too. I would completely recommend this hotel for a stay in Nice.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emilyj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest,

For your next stay, please feel free to contact me directly, I would be glad to welcome you and to see what I can do to surpass your expectation.

Did you tried our nice restaurant Le Siècle, its a real pleasure, but managing that place ma advise will not be obhjective. So come and try it, so you could transmit your feeling with other tirpadvisor reviewer.

Wishing you a nice day

Xavier Walbrecq
General Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Ideal location for everything . Easy walking distance to the Flower Market, buses and trains.
Hotel staff are so pleasant, it's a treat to be there. We would make the West End our 1st choice of hotel on our next trip. Be sure to choose your room carefully

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms and selection is important, but we like the rooms facing Bay of Angels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thanl you for the time you've spent on your review. We are proud to read your happyness regards to our warm property.

Our colleagues try every day to surpass your expectations.

Please feel free to contact me directly for your next stay, I will take care personnally of your stay (dg@westendnice.com)

Looking forward to welcome you the soonest.

Xavier Walbrecq
General Managment
Hotel West End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Hotel West End is situated right on the Promenade with excellent sea and street views. This place is well kept for a 19th century establishment with modern amenities and a helpful staff to assure your vacation is as comfortable as possible. We were greeted by the bell hop before the taxi doors even opened and he carried our bags up into the lobby.
Checking in was easy although a little lengthy. Staff went out of their way to assist with ice buckets, very nicely embodied beach towels (wish I purchased one) and directions.
Elevators are small but the two operate simultaneously without fault. Our room was also on the small side along with the balcony (room for one) but larger rooms are available if need be.
Highly recommended for the location and service.

Room Tip: Must request a sea view on the highest possible floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozziindaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review, as you said, our nice property, build in 1842 was the first one on the Promenade des Anglais, when the street was still a little walkway, with no modern acces. Since that period, and after 172 existing years, we try every day to give you the opportunity to taste the way of life "Belle Epoque".

Convinced that we have to evolve each years, we are doing refurbishments every low season. You could reserve for your next stay our Junior Suite 112, which is a real and modern example of our expertise in decoration.

I will be honored to welcome you in a futur stay, please feel free to contact us directly for any information you may require. (dg@westendnice.com)

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Managment
Hôtel West End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

To sum up: my feeling was that it lives from its history. We booked via booking.com, with seaview. Apparently there are problems in the system. Our room was small but clean and would rate it average. Acceptable level. But it is utterly overpriced for what it is. The only thing you pay for is that the beach is 5m away. Breakfast is unreasonably expensive for what it offers. Tried one day (€19pp) then ate at a café for the the rest if the mornings for a fraction and much better food.
And no mattras protecor on the bed.
All in all, was a very good average and clean

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Clytemnestra8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to recognize the time you've spent for writing your review. We respect your feeling regards to the standard you expect in a 4 star hotel.

Around the world, there is different 4 stars. Campaign, City, Desert, Ancien, news, modern, eclectic, exeptionnal, differents.

At west end, our 4 star hotel exist since 1842. The standards in 1842 was not the same than today, so we cannot provide the same size for the room than a new hotel build in the last past 10 years.

But we are the only one in Nice to be able to show you the way of life Belle Epoque, which is exeptional as historic side for a family travel or romantic moment.

Our breakfast is only dressed up with fresh product, and seasonal dish are placed regular. The ones you don't have on the buffet, our waiters can prepare in order if you take the time to ask for it.

I remain at your disposal for any information you may require, hoping you will give us the chance to show our best side in a futur stay.

Your faithfully,

Xavier WALBRECQ
General Managment
Hotel West End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Nice
#79 of 204 in Nice
2,039 reviews
Hotel Negresco
#15 of 204 in Nice
2,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel West End

Property: Hotel West End
Address: 31 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#28 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#33 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel West End 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1842, the West End Hotel, a jewel of the Belle Epoque, is ideally located on the legendary Promenade des Anglais. It is 5 minutes from the old city, 10 minutes from the airport and the Palais des Congrès congress centre.In an enchanting setting, the Hotel is a perfect combination of tradition, savoir-faire, and modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nice
West End Hotel Nice
Nice Best Western
Hotel West End Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing