We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel West End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel West End
Ranked #32 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Beautiful hotel in a great position in a fabulous city !
Let down by breakfast on a sunny terrace with pigeons settling on people's tables while they attended the buffet ! Also we were told that there was no milk on the premises when we asked for tea & white coffee !
Room was very clean & modern but we were at the back of the hotel & couldn't have the window open because of the horrendous noise from the air conditioning units below us.

Room Tip: Be aware that back rooms are noisy from the air con below
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Wellmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to read your comment, our staff do every day a nice work to surpass your expectation.

We are improving every day our breakfast, and you have milk on the buffet, and waiter when you need more to order.

For pigeon, its a long story :-)

We hope to welcome you soon at West End Hôtel.

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 1,299 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed a week and enjoyed our stay , can't ask for a better location
It's pretty much walking distance to most destinations of interest and if you like to run or jog the Promenade des Anglais is across the road

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank NewyorkcityZeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to read your comment, our staff do every day a nice work to surpass your expectation.

We hope to welcome you soon at West End Hôtel.

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Great getaway to Nice for the first leg of our trip to France. Upon our arrival we were directed to the front desk while our bags were unloaded from the taxi. Checkin was smooth and quick. Our room was very clean & very small but we were not there for the room. We did not get the view of the water but the view of the city was great. The hotel staff were fantastic considering our lack of French. Only negative experience was a leak in the pipes of the shower which reduced the water pressure. Other than that I would highly recommend this property.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank RonaldFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to read your comment, our staff do every day a nice work to surpass your expectation.

We took attention on the shower issue. Be sure you will not have again that kind of matter for a next stay

We hope to welcome you soon at West End Hôtel.

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I booked this hotel for 3 nights from the 16th July for my Mum's 73rd birthday. I booked a room with a sea view and emailed the hotel beforehand to ask if we could have a room on a higher floor. We were delighted to be located a room on the 4th floor which had a view of the sea and promenade below. The room was clean and spacious, and the staff on reception very helpful and polite. We did not have breakfast included in our booking and thought it was expensive, but did pay to use the sunbeds on the reserved stretch of beach in front of the hotel, 20 euro's which includes your bed, beach towel and umbrella. Wouldn't do it every day but on a short break it was a great people watching experience and lovely to order drinks which were brought to your sunbed.The hotel left a fruit basket and a bottle of rose wine in our room which was lovely, and a lady from housekeeping called to see if everything was ok, I am quite particular about service and she came across as caring that we were happy with everything and also smiled which was noticeable. The hotel had a lovely old, traditional feel about it, no ice machines on the floor levels but the restaurant provided me with a full ice bucket on request. Location is amazing, would definitely stay here again, and the no 98 bus stops nearly right outside to go back to the airport for 6 euros each, quick and convenient, perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank SJPMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to read your comment, our staff do every day a nice work to surpass your expectation.

We hope to welcome you soon at West End Hôtel.

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This long standing hotel is in prime position on the Promenade des Anglais. It is superbly situated and within walking distance of all major parts and attractions of Nice. The old town is no more than fifteen minutes walk away. The private beach is directly across the promenade.
Service is very friendly although they did not seem to be 'overloaded' with staff. The hotel is very elegantly furnished in grand baroque style although it perhaps is just becoming a little frayed around the edges in certain parts. Rooms are beautifully furnished and since we had a front third floor room, the view from the balcony over the promenade and bay is unparalleled.

Breakfast is not included in the price of the room and at 22 euros per person is not as good as would be expected of such a high standard of hotel. The selection is very ordinary and the quality extremely average.

That said, the hotel is really very good, comfortable and we will,stay here again on our next visit to Nice.

.

Room Tip: High level Front Sea View...breathtaking views over the Promenade and Mediterranean from the beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to read your comment, our staff do every day a nice work to surpass your expectation.

I've read carefully your comment on the breakast : our new rate is now 18€ as a maximum for the buffet.

During you breakfast you can have Hard, “mollet”, or scrambled eggs; different juice like Orange, vitamin, Pinapple, and soya; crusty fried pie, Bacon, sausages, spinach, vegetable cakes, baked beans, 4 kind of céreals, 6 sorts of yogurt, several kind of coffee, hot and fresh milk, nature or with chocolate, 5 sorts of home made comfiture, a large fruit basket, 10 kind of tea, 6 sorts of bread, free gluten bread, pastry like croissant, chocolate cake, grapefruit cake, “cake Breton”, Fruit salad, White cheese, Pork, turkey meat, pancakes, ham and more, served by 5 smily waiters between palmer, Pachira tree, and sun with sea at 30 meter.

What is missing for your expectation? We remain at your entire disposal to improve our breakfast, your future advise will be valuable for us.

Please feel free to contact me when you will come back. dg@westendnice.com

We hope to welcome you soon at West End Hôtel.

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Location of this charming hotel next to the beach and close to the old town and not too far from the airport was perfect for a few-day-getaway.
Our deluxe room on the top floor was excellent: newly renovated and clean with stunning sea view from the balcony. Definately worth every penny!
Breakfast was not included in our room price, but we enjoyed it once during our stay. It was a bit expensive, even though we don't have any complaints of the quality.
We will definately come back to Nice and hotel West End!

Room Tip: Deluxe room was excellent: on the top floor, newly renovated with tile floors and stylish bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to read your comment, our staff do every day a nice work to surpass your expectation.

For your next stay at West End Hôtel, please feel free to contact us directly (dg@westendnice.com)

We hope to welcome you soon at West End Hôtel.

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We did not stay in the hotel but ate here, The food was ok but for the price of it i think it should have been much better. Staff were very friendly though. Drink prices were also on the expensive side and although Nice is generally expensive the food was better elsewhere, It was also cheaper to eat/ drink in Monte Carlo!!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Huesey1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your nice comment. Our restaurant serve different kind of menu, starting from 16.5 € one dish water and coffee, 22€ two dischies water and coffee, and 29€ three dischies water and coffee, then you can order "A la carte", and our rate are not the cheapest or expansiviest of Nice, there are in the middle range. In our restaurant Le Siècle, you can have the Chateaubriant, kind of piece of meat cooked in front of you, and flambed at the end, or the famous Suzette creps, prepared in front of you to. We serve with the french way, so we provide good experience to our nice guest

Because I worked personnally in Monaco, I remember that the first menu is not less than 30€ without drink, and if you choose the normal sandwish in the Metropole galerie, one menu is not under 35 € per person.

We would love top welcome you back for a next stay, and if you have some time, to extend that discussion with you.

Remaining at your entire disposal for any information you may require

Xavier Walbrecq
General Managment
Hotel West End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Negresco
#18 of 203 in Nice
2,564 reviews
Hotel Suisse
#8 of 203 in Nice
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel West End

Address: 31 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#20 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £31 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel West End 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1842, the West End Hotel, a jewel of the Belle Epoque, is ideally located on the legendary Promenade des Anglais. It is 5 minutes from the old city, 10 minutes from the airport and the Palais des Congrès congress centre.In an enchanting setting, the Hotel is a perfect combination of tradition, savoir-faire, and modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nice
West End Hotel Nice
Nice Best Western
Hotel West End Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing