We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place for the Dollar.”
Review of Hotel West End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel West End
Ranked #55 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Vaulx en Velin, France
2 reviews
“Best Place for the Dollar.”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel is in great vicinity to the sea, and it does not cost you and arm and leg like the surrounding hotels. The staff are incredibly nice and helpful, especially Francesco, he is a genius about local places to eat. I recommend this hotel to anyone staying in NIce.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to read your comment, our staff do every day a nice work to surpass your expectation.

I will transmit your comment to Francesco, he will be honored by your feeling

We hope to welcome you soon at West End Hôtel.

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    428
    201
    79
    52
See reviews for
172
576
41
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Neath
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here from the 28th July until 1st August in room 110.
The hotel is superbly located within walking distance of the centre of Nice and right by the beach. There is also a multi storey car park just around the corner if you are arriving by car. €23 for 24 hours.

The room was very comfortable and extremely clean, it is worth paying a little extra to have a room with a sea view as we would enjoy sitting out there and watching the world go by once we returned to the room from an evening in Nice.

The staff really were excellent, nothing was too much bother. We wanted to visit Monaco and note Carlo and they booked the trip for us, and when the trip company hadn't come to collect us the staff then contacted the company and resolved the issue.

We ate at the restaurant twice and the food and the service were superb. You must have the Steaks they are wonderful!

We did have breakfast here which was €19 pp per day, I think this was a little expensive and may not have when I return.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a sea view and make sure you try the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSW425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to read your comment, our staff do every day a nice work to surpass your expectation.

Because of your review, we decide to reduce breakfast price to 18€ to everybody from september the 1st.

We hope to welcome you soon at West End Hôtel.

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Good evening,
I have just finished my diner at "Le Siecle" restaurant and the only thing I can say is : impeccable service.
I have to say that i have arrived without booking and Youness and Mety, both assistant managers ( without knowing them) came to me and told me that they would find a solution to find me a table on the terrace.. And they did! From there their service was amazing! From my own table service to the other ones!
My last word would be : you have to try it but please make sure you book a table as the restaurant is quite full.
Enjoy it!
Regarding the food I have ordered the menu with dishes of the day and it is ( for Nice) a very good food / compare to the price that I have paid... And with that service you Are enjoying everything single moment of it!
Thank you

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gaelle1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear guest,

When i saw that review, i called nety and Younes, so we are three telling you thank you for your kindness and natural way.

We hope to welcome you soon at restaurant le Siècle, and maybe at our hôtel West End

Your faithfully,

Xavier Walbrecq
General management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This place is underwhelming when you are paying in excess of minimum 350euro a night. The pillows are terrible! The breakfast is average and when they run our of things they don't refill them, so be sure to get there before 9 or you will be left with the dregs. At this price you would expect that they would have coffee included in the breakfast? No, you have to pay for coffee on top! Ridiculous! The staff aren't particularly friendly either. When I asked for a glass of water to fill from the fountain, I was told they couldn't find any and should drink from the tap because it's the same thing. The one good thing is the view of the beach from the room and proximity to the French Riviera. But in all honesty if you are going to stay here don't expect to be wowed.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie-Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for the time you spent writing us that comment.

I would have appreciated to meet you face to face during your stay, as false and defamatory are your comment about what I read today, it do not reflect the reality in West End.

Coffee jug are included on the buffet price, then if you need a specific coffee (Cappucino, Expresso, Ristretto, Latte Machiatto, etc) you have a suplement.

Water served on buffet is EVIAN or San PELLEGRINO, which is not from "robinet".

We accept that everybody cannot meet all they expect, and you like to read all comment giving us the opportunity to improve our quality skill, but we cannot leave comment like that one without real answer telling the true.

We hope to welcome you again, and in that case, i would be the one who will explain all the hotel for you, for a better understanding.

Remaining at you entire disposal for anu information you may require

Xavier Walbrecq
General Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Average place, room was clean, compact and a bit pokey.
Nice beach at a reasonable price for guests opposite the hotel.
OK restaurant attached and very central.
Staff were helpful and contacted me immediately to let me know I'd forgotten to collect my passport in the rooms safe so an extra star for that.

Room Tip: Lift was very intermittent so try lower levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeartrackerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to read your comment, our staff do every day a nice work to surpass your expectation.

Everything seems to be perfect, but you've rate at 3/5, so what is missing for your total satisfaction? dg@westendnice.com

We hope to welcome you soon at West End Hôtel.

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denny, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

So unhappy with this hotel. Not good value for money, worst hotel i have been in. Room very small, dark and weary. So expensive, bottle of 50cl water was 6 Euros from the mini bar (1.30) in the supermarket. Breakfast was not included in cost, 18 Euro each person per day !. To use the private beach at front of hotel there is no discount for guests, 20 Euro per person per day. The milk for the tea and coffee was very small containers of cream, 7 gram in size, enough for a shot of milk but not enough to colour the drink. We did not get any milk one day when the room was made up so when i called reception they sent one of the facilities staff with 3 small portions, This only is enough for 1 cup of tea, we asked for more and were told we could not get any more till the next day!. The tray for the tea and coffee was plastic with thin plastic spoons that bent with the heat, they were not cleaned away each day, just left on tray with tea stains on them. The safe in the room did not work either so they sent someone to sort it and he could only get about 5 out of the 10 numbers on the safe to work, so he told us to use a code that he had set, what is the point of that as this is not then secure if he knows the code, we were told that it could not be fixed and we would have to use it as it was with the limited numbers. Some reception staff were helpful but not all. The hotel wasted out holiday and we will not travel to this area again.2/3 star hotel on a 5 star budget.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the time you've spent discribing our product compare to your feeling of what you expect on holiday.

By reading you comment, it seems your expectation are in general to receive discount for everything at anytime.

The price in the supermarket are everytime lower than every hotel around the world. You can include your breakfast in the room rate but with supplement. The beach in front of the hôtel is not our ones, so we do not have any power on the rate. The convenient tray on room with tea and milk is only a kind attention for you for a coffee time, this is not to receive every day, free coffee and free tea, for that one, we have a room service, and you can order for it, with off course, charge on your bill. As every hotel around the world.

We are sorry because our hôtel did not met all your expectation, maybe because your need was different of what a 4 star hotel can offer with high standard of service.

I remain at your disposal for any information you may require.

Your faithfully

Xavier Walbrecq
General Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Awesome stay, great comfort and incredibly friendly staff! Very easy access to the beach and all the shopping areas around. We had an amazing view over the Promenade from our balcony!! Easily 5 stars!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to read your comment, our staff do every day a nice work to surpass your expectation.

We hope to welcome you soon at West End Hôtel.

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Nice
#75 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Hotel Negresco
#15 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel West End

Property: Hotel West End
Address: 31 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#33 Family Hotel in Nice
#33 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel West End 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1842, the West End Hotel, a jewel of the Belle Epoque, is ideally located on the legendary Promenade des Anglais. It is 5 minutes from the old city, 10 minutes from the airport and the Palais des Congrès congress centre.In an enchanting setting, the Hotel is a perfect combination of tradition, savoir-faire, and modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nice
West End Hotel Nice
Nice Best Western
Hotel West End Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing