We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd bedroom awesome!”
Review of Hotel West End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel West End
Ranked #32 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Nice establishment on the promenade. Loved that our son had his own room..2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom. Views of the surrounding garden was lovely. Breakfast was okay in a nice section at the front of the hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Crick22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to read your comment, our staff do every day a nice work to surpass your expectation.

Several rooms had second little room at West End Hôtel, come back from Australia and try another one :-)

We hope to welcome you soon at West End Hôtel.

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 1,299 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We Stayed here for the start of our honeymoon, and absolutely loved it! We decided to trade off getting breakfast included for a sea-view and and delighted we did. It was still pretty expensive, but if you stick with eating out for breakfast it's well worth it. The room was lovely and airy.

Oh yeah, there is no price on the mini-bar but ring reception: it was ridiculously expensive!

Overall we might go back for an anniversary, but for just a regular trip back I'd go to the Mercure on the Promenade

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view room on the 6th floor: these were newly done up, and had a stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank mhalpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to read your comment, our staff do every day a nice work to surpass your expectation.

Our minibar price are placed on room, on your desk. Rate are made regarding the product inside and the category of hôtel.

We hope to welcome you soon at West End Hôtel.

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

It was me and my husband's 10 years anniversary. We booked sea view room on the top floor. It was amazing! The location was quite good, it was not difficult to find this hotel. staff were really helpful and friendly. We stayed in West End Hotel for a week, very enjoyable. We Definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emmaloveian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your kind comment, all your opinion are took in care and give us the good opportunity to improve our service.

Before beginning my answer to your nice comment, we just want to let you know that the Private beach Blue Beach is not part of our property. Its an external management, with external rules, and of courses, external prices. All feeling for that site have to be sent to them management.

Then i would like to describe what our hôtel is:
Build in 1842, the West End Hotel took 3 different names: Villa Victoria, Hotel de Rome and Hotel West End. The first goals of architect were for individual residence. Every room was made as individual apartments not for hotel. Then an owner buys it, and transformed a little bit the structure offering full four star services.

Because we are from 1842, you cannot find the same size, the same style, the same spirit than a new and young hotel. By the West End, you have the chance to live the real Belle Époque ambiance.

We understand our property is not the new and modern one, but we do not expect to be new and modern. Like castle, we try every day to show the historic side of Nice City one century ago.

Then for the housekeeping service, maids are working until 8PM, and all guests who ask a specific time to clean the room obtain that time. We did not give you that information at check, I apologize for that one.

Hoping all those information will answer to your questions

Best regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

good points -
location
clean
view
helpful reception staff

Bad Points - unfortunately there were a lot
-RIDICULOUS PRICE FOR 'Private beach' - only 1euro discount for hotel residents - it cost a RIDICULOUS 20euros each day per person

-House keeping was VERY VERY VERY slow - our room didnt get cleaned until about 3-4pm each day which was very annoying

-walls were dirty in room

-room was ABSOLUTELY TINY

-breakfast was completely overpriced at 18euros a day

-Lobby area of hotel wasnt very nice

-lifts were ridiculously slow

-OVERALL _ would not stay here again, very overpriced for what it is

Room Tip: get a room on a high floor ask for a large room - ours was absolutely tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank moregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your kind comment, all your opinion are took in care and give us the good opportunity to improve our service.

Before beginning my answer to your nice comment, we just want to let you know that the Private beach Blue Beach is not part of our property. Its an external management, with external rules, and of courses, external prices. All feeling for that site have to be sent to them management.

Then i would like to describe what our hôtel is:
Build in 1842, the West End Hotel took 3 different names: Villa Victoria, Hotel de Rome and Hotel West End. The first goals of architect were for individual residence. Every room was made as individual apartments not for hotel. Then an owner buys it, and transformed a little bit the structure offering full four star services.

Because we are from 1842, you cannot find the same size, the same style, the same spirit than a new and young hotel. By the West End, you have the chance to live the real Belle Époque ambiance.

We understand our property is not the new and modern one, but we do not expect to be new and modern. Like castle, we try every day to show the historic side of Nice City one century ago.

Then for the housekeeping service, maids are working until 8PM, and all guests who ask a specific time to clean the room obtain that time. We did not give you that information at check, I apologize for that one.

Hoping all those information will answer to your questions

Best regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Just returned from this hotel having had 10 days there. Staff are welcoming and helpful. Room clean and comfortable. Aim for a superior room or deluxe if pos, as makes a big difference. Hotel restaurant is super. We had lobster on last night and it was really entertaining. Doused in cognac then set alight. The waiters are friendly and David (who is actually English) is super nice if you will pardon the pun, and this adds to the enjoyment. Younes, Davide and Francois were all such good fun and made us feel welcome. We ate there most nights although this had not been our intention. We hope to go back one day as the wealth of museums and places to visit cannot all be fitted in to 10 days. Also a great bouncing off point for Monaco, Monte Carlo and many other interesting places along the coast. This is not a cheap hol however. Be prepared to pay on the beach ( slightly less if you are in the West End) Eating and drinking on beach quite pricey but hey - you only live once!

Room Tip: Superior or deluxe busy and buzzy on sea front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to read your comment, our staff do every day a nice work to surpass your expectation.

As you said, our Le Siècle Restaurant team is professionnal. They have the way to serve international guest, with welcomed and warm way like François, our Head Waiter coming from Corsica, Younes From Sweden, and David from Ireland, and you forgot Nety from italia, Alann From Canada, so as you can see, the world came to our nice property giving the real opportunity to disciver a nice and sincer service. Good behaviour and smiles are the way at Le Siècle Restaurant

We hope to welcome you soon at West End Hôtel.

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The room we were given was depressingly like a dungeon and the only view from the window was a blank wall a few metres away. This was room 204. We had paid for a City View room. A surly counter clerk, when I very courteously explained our dissatisfaction, actually said that cities had walls in them. I then indicated that he had given me no option but to find another hotel and then seek the return of my payment which had, I suggested, been taken under false pretences. While professing not to understand what I was saying, he stepped aside and a very helpful colleague, Aurelien, immediately "upgraded" me to a better room, namely the one we had booked. The initial attitude at reception was, in general, pretty diabolical ---- with the exception of Aurelien, who was very client-friendly and actually listened to what guests were saying. Incidentally, I have spoken fluent French for 60 years and have owned and lived in a number of houses in France over the last 20 years or so.

The worst thing about this hotel, apart from the obvious long-term lack of maintenance and capital investment, was the pretty appalling standard of food and service in the tented buffet breakfast area --- cold bacon and scrambled egg, insufficient food (hardly ever replenished), unhelpful waiters (except for Simon). Dire.

However, David in the restaurant was brilliant and Youness was also very good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your kind comment, all your opinion are took in care and give us the good opportunity to improve our service.

Because we are from 1842, you cannot find the same size, the same style, the same spirit than a new and young hotel. By the West End, you have the chance to live the real Belle Époque ambiance.

We understand our property is not the new and modern one, but we do not expect to be new and modern.

Or our Breakfast, you're right, i would like to thank you telling us that detail, it is not a room with wall but it is a Barnum terrace outside and in front of the sea. We thought that guest would love to take them breakfast in front of the sea of the morning during the summer.

During high season it happens that a rush occurred during the breakfast time, and we are doing our best to provide quick service, and new buffet. I apologies if its not too quick for you Sir.

During you breakfast you can have Hard, “mollet”, or scrambled eggs; different juice like Orange, vitamin, Pinapple, and soya; crusty fried pie, Bacon, sausages, spinach, vegetable cakes, baked beans, 4 kind of céreals, 6 sorts of yogurt, several kind of coffee, hot and fresh milk, nature or with chocolate, 5 sorts of home made comfiture, a large fruit basket, 10 kind of tea, 6 sorts of bread, free gluten bread, pastry like croissant, chocolate cake, grapefruit cake, “cake Breton”, Fruit salad, White cheese, Pork, turkey meat, pancakes, ham and more, served by 5 smily waiters between palmer, Pachira tree, and sun with sea at 30 meter.

What is missing for your expectation? We remain at your entire disposal to improve our breakfast, your future advise will be valuable for us.

Again i thank you for the time you spend on that review

Hoping all those information will answer to your questions

Best regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at Hotel West End. The concierge and reception staff were very helpful. They booked restaurants and a dive trip for us. The location is great right on the beach. It's about a ten minute walk to old town. It's right next to the Negresco Hotel for an amazing meal.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to read your comment, our staff do every day a nice work to surpass your expectation.

We hope to welcome you soon at West End Hôtel.

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Negresco
#18 of 203 in Nice
2,564 reviews
Hotel Suisse
#8 of 203 in Nice
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel West End

Address: 31 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#20 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £31 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel West End 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1842, the West End Hotel, a jewel of the Belle Epoque, is ideally located on the legendary Promenade des Anglais. It is 5 minutes from the old city, 10 minutes from the airport and the Palais des Congrès congress centre.In an enchanting setting, the Hotel is a perfect combination of tradition, savoir-faire, and modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nice
West End Hotel Nice
Nice Best Western
Hotel West End Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing