We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“near everything” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aston La Scala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Aston La Scala
Ranked #51 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“near everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The hotel reception is quite old so I thought "bad news", but not. The staff was very welcoming and the room was beautiful nice and clean with a good view on Place Massena
The Hotel is very well placed so you can go walking to every sites in Nice

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wsurfer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelAston, Deputy General Manager at Hotel Aston La Scala, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your impressions about our hotel, its location and services on these pages.

We at the Grand Hotel Aston, always make our very best efforts in making all our guest feel being at home while being way from home.
We are very happy to read that in one way, we have succeeded with you.

We truly hope to welcome you soon again, and meanwhile, please be assured of our very best attention at all time,

Yours Sincerely,

Tony Tsirepas
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    399
    203
    86
    43
See reviews for
122
530
37
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
267 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hotel is newly refurbished,yet it is been done in the cheapest possible way.it s def not up to the four star standard hotel. the location was very convenient,as it 10 min walk from the seafront and from the acropolis where most conferences take place. the breakfast is good,yet on one day,the cook overslept,so there was nothing hot to eat for 40mins. The cleaners could do more as well,as changing the towels only

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lola2882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We read the previous reviews, and all the good ones were in refurbished rooms, and the bad ones were in rooms which hadn't yet been refurbished. Unfortunately, we had a travel package for which we had paid a lot of money, and our room really, really needed refurbishment.

Someone had picked us up at the airport and was double parked outside so we were rushed. The tour representative had already gotten our keys and just gave them to us along with the number of the room. We only had time to drop the bags in the room, and didn't know where she had gone after we dropped the bags.

While the hallway outside the room was attractive, and well lit, we didn't have time to inspect the room. If we were checking into a hotel on our own, and had the time to inspect it before staying the night, we would never have accepted this room.

The room was small (not surprising in Europe, and nothing to complain about), but grim, of questionable cleanliness, and when we returned late that evening, had an unpleasant odor. The bed even had a sagging appearance in the middle. The wallpaper was peeling in the bathroom and also in the bedroom. There is no decor. The lighting wasn't nearly as good as in the attractive hallway. The toilet flushing mechanism was malpositioned. The shower temperature was very difficult to control. The room was hot, but we couldn't get the temperature down, so slept with the window completely open.

The next morning we had the breakfast included with the room. While the breakfast was okay, and this part of the hotel appropriate, the staff were indifferent, making no attempt to welcome anyone.

As we were gathered by the tour director after breakfast, someone from the front desk came to me and said that someone from America was calling for us. My wife and I walked back with her to the front desk, but by this time, their staff had already disconnected the call without taking a name or telephone number so we couldn't respond. As it turned out, the call was unimportant, but the handling of the call was poor, provoking anxiety.

There were similar remarks regarding the rooms from almost all of the people in our group, and they planned to let the tour company know their dissatisfaction. I can only say that we have stayed in many hotels, but find it incredible that this is rated a four star hotel. I would warn the reader, that if the hotel offers a prepayment option for a better rate, it would probably be wiser to not accept it unless you are sure of getting a room which has already been refurbished. If you haven't prepaid the room, I would suggest that you don't sign in until you have seen the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jfkadlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary. The location is ideal as it was close to the old town and the beach. It wasn't to far from the restaurants and about 20 minutes walk from the main train station.
The breakfast was a bit pricey but when compared to what was offered close by was actually a better deal.
Our room was on floor 4. It was superior room which we had booked. It was very clean and spacious and the shower was quiet powerful and lovely and warm. The only downside was that there was no tea and coffee making facilities. It was also nice to have a safe in your wardrobe and that you could set your own pin number. Over all we would definitely recommend this hotel and once the building works on the garden outside have been completed will make the already impressive view from the roof top better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy34552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Aston in Nice France for one night. Its location is very convenient to the beach and the old town section. Upon entering our room, number 216 we noticed that the molding on the inside door frame was missing, as though repair work was started but never finished. When we inspected the room, we found that a nice marble dresser top had circular stains in several places, not very attractive. The TV remote did not work so we could not watch TV. We tried to use the free in room Wi-Fi, but it did not work either. The water leaked in the bathroom sink causing a stain because the faucet could not be turned off. There was no clock or coffee pot in the room. When we checked out we were asked if we used anything from the Mini Bar and we said yes, a small bottle of water. We had to pay 6 eurs ($8.50) for it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VacationPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect. We stayed for our honeymoon and booked an executive room which was lovely, sadly our timing was bad as they are renovating the gardens out the front of the hotel. (Nothing to do with hotel) We were woken early by the sound of drilling and banging. We asked to be moved to the back of the hotel which they did as soon as a room was available. Unfortunately this meant we were down-graded as all executive rooms are at the front of the hotel (which makes since, the rooms are bigger and when the gardens are finished the views will be amazing!) because of the downgrade we were given free breakfast which was nice but I would have been very disappointed had we paid €18! I would highly recommend the hotel, the reception staff and concierge were great, very helpful & friendly. Once the gardens out the front are finished the hotel will be top notch!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank blw1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We recently stayed at Grand Hotel Aston, and for the price that we paid we had expected a little more than what was offered. The hotel was easy enough to find, we travelled to the hotel by car as we travelled through southern france. Parking for the hotel can be found in the car park opposite to the hotel, there is ample space there if you get there at the right time. The car park itself is really terrible and awkward - there is a pointless lift to access the different floors but you have to haul your luggage over several flights of stairs. The car park is quite expensive and is not subsidised by the hotel - we did ask the hotel whether they were subsidised and we were given looks of shock that this would be asked. The car park is 27 euros per day.

The entrance to the hotel is looking dated, and could use a renovation. The check in was quick and efficient, and the hotel assistant helped us to our room on level 6.

The rooms were nice, we had a great view, and most important they were clean - overall what was offered was fairly standard in terms of what comes with a room.

The roof-top pool and bar is great the pool is of good depth and there is ample sun beds and seats to lounge around, however, whilst the view is fantastic you cannot easily see the sunset without peering over fenced areas due to how it has been setup. This feels like a major failure on their behalf, since this would have been a prized view.

The sunbeds at the rooftop bar, the hotel does have an arrangement at the beach for the booking of beds, umbrella, and towels for 20 euros per person. This is probably the most I have had to pay on my trip, and we without knowing any better we purchased the reservation. When we turned up to the beach we were asked to pay an additional 4 Euros for an umbrella we had hesitantly agreed to pay although we were told that it was included in the 20 Euros. Furthermore, we learnt that it was only 18 euros if you had booked the beds and all directly at the beach. This left a very sour taste in our mouth.

You do receive wireless access for free, but we struggled to get a consistent connection with the signal often dropping in and out.

We also found out the hard way that this hotel does not provide any irons in the room, or a communal/shared irons. However, they did provide a ironing service at a cost. I found this to be very poor, and the reason for this as it was explained was due to a recent fire in one of the rooms. If this was explained to me earlier I may have booked in for my shirts to be ironed, but when I had called and was explained of the ironing service I was also told that they could not fullfil my order - I wore creased shirt to dinner that night and looked like a dill.

If I return to Nice, I would try a different hotel before returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prad t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Massena Nice
Le Meridien Nice
#70 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Hotel Albert 1er
#42 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aston La Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aston La Scala

Property: Hotel Aston La Scala
Address: 12 avenue Felix Faure, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Grand Hotel Aston Clarion Nice)
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#31 Business Hotel in Nice
#48 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aston La Scala 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifull hotel in the center of Nice, 3 minutes away from Place Massena, 5 minutes away from the beach and the Promenade des Anglais. Bar and pool on the roof top of the hotel with a 360° view. Enjoy our rooms with a modern style, starting with our comfort, privilege rooms to our Premium rooms and suites with a view over the Parc "Promenade du Paillon". Our restaurant l'Horloge is open all year and welcomes you to savor French seasonal cuisine. Reception non stop, concierge and a luggage carrier at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Aston La Scala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Nice
Clarion Nice
Nice Aston
Nice Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing