We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Aston La Scala
Ranked #55 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great room!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I don't think you can pick a better location in Nice if you want to be near it all. Minutes from the Old city, Place Massena, Place Garibaldi (to catch buses). There is a beautiful park right across the street.
We stayed in basic room, recently renovated. It was spacious enough, very clean and had a modern decor. Our room overlooked the front, which was fantastic. The staff was very friendly as well.
Kettles / coffee are only provided in the higher category rooms, so keep that in mind if that is a requirement for you.

Room Tip: High floor, facing front, away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquelyn_hyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    434
    221
    91
    51
See reviews for
142
564
42
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We enjoyed this hotel and our room very much. There is some renovation going on and only one elevator working. However, that did not take away from the overall experience. Our room was on the 7th floor and a small suite that made if enjoyable. So many European hotels have very small room with little storage. There was ample closet and drawer space and the bathroom was very modern with a good shower. It looks like many rooms have been renovated and improved. This is obviously an older property and has some quirky features but we would stay again.
Cannot beat the location. Within 2 blocks of major store shopping and the same distance to the charming old town. Staff was very helpful arranging for transportation and restaurant recommendations. Loved it.!!!

Room Tip: 6th floor #604 was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoTravlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innerleithen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed for three nights here while attending the Monaco Grand Prix. We booked a superior room but had to change twice due to drainage smells and with each room the size of the room diminished. The staff were very friendly and the hotel did offer us free drinks for our troubles however would have preferred a better room. Struggle to class this hotel as a 4 star. They are still working on the lift refurbishment which resulted in a hold up at times. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location is good and the views from the top floor are impressive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojo104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelAston, Responsable réception at Hotel Aston La Scala, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. The hotel is currently ondergoing works on its elevators, one is already in service, the second one will be ready by the end of the month of June. We are modernizing them in order to make them faster, more spacious and more comfortable. We apologize for the inconveniences due to this works.

Robert Proksch
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed for three nights whilst attending the Monaco Grand Prix. Hotel was more than adequate in a fantastic location handy for everything we needed. The staff were helpful and friendly and the room recently refurbished had everything we needed for a short stay, a kettle and tea and coffee would be a bonus though. The breakfast buffet was quite extensive with something for everyone. The views from the rooftop bar were amazing, shame the rooftop pool is under refurbishment at present. Would certainly return and recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALISON N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Was staying at the Grand Hotel Aston during the Monaco Grand Prix. There is nothing wrong with the hotel, it's just fairly average. Standard double rooms are small but modern and have electric shutters which is a nice touch. The bar is on the 7th floor so has some good views of Nice.

Staff were nice and seemed to be helpful, although I did hear from other guests who were having problems with rooms and the hotel not being helpful relating to that, but obviously can't comment as it was my problem.

The location is the main selling point of this hotel; a 3 minute walk to the old town nightlife, 10 minute walk to the station and seafront, restaurants a plenty, and lots of shopping very close by.

WiFi in the hotel is free (well done Grand Aston) and is fairly stable across most of the hotel.

Breakfast was ok, although if it hadn't have been included in our room rate I wouldn't have paid 18 Euros a day for it, particularly considering the wide array of local places to eat.

Obviously I stayed here Monaco / Cannes weekend, which meant the prices for everything were massively inflated, but as long as you can get a decent rate on a room (i.e. not during Monaco weekend!) I would recommend this hotel to anyone, mainly for its convenience.

Room Tip: A standard double would probably be a bit of a squeeze for 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DomGuitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff let down by a poor hotel. Supposedly 4 star but they don't park your car. Parking is in a public car park whose entrance is close by but whose pedestrian exit requires considerable walking. On top, the places are so small I had to wait 40 minutes till a double bay became available.

They are renovating the lifts, which meant an often 10 minute wait. The lift itself is quite fast once in it but the time it takes to come due others using it is quite intolerable.

The room was clean with no carpet, which I like. Much more hygienic. However it was very hot and stuffy. In the description it says air conditioning but the a/c was not working. Reception told me it will be turned on in ten days time! Unbelievable. On top, the window would not open fully as it was blocked by an immovable desk. Little thought went into that. It should not be advertised as air-conditioned when it is not!

My double bed turned out to be two singles. On complaining they simply put a double sheet over the mattresses et voila, a double bed! Expect that does not work and I kept falling through the middle of the two beds during the night.

The only good thing was the wifi which was included, fast and reliable and connected to my three devices without problem.

Le Notre next door provided a wonderful breakfast which was far superior to that provided by the hotel. They try to sucker you in with a €4 discount for prepaying which luckily I did not do, as I overslept and had to rush out without breakfast. I then discovered LeNotre which is far superior.

I'll forgive the lift as they are renovating but nothing else. I'll never stay here again but if you do, I suggest you make sure the lift renovation is finished and the air conditioning has been turned on before booking.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LuganoPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelAston, Responsable réception at Hotel Aston La Scala, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
First we would like to thank you for your message and to apologize for the incoveniences you experienced during your stay.

-The hotel does not have parking garage. Our bellboys are not allowed to park the cars of our clients in public areas. This is a matter of insurance.
-The hotel is currently undergoing renovation works on the elevators in order to make them faster, more spacious, more comfortable.
-We turned on the air condition only last week due to bad weather conditions in Nice over the last weeks, the majority of our clients preferred the heating mode rather than cooling.

Best regards,

Robert Proksch
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nice hotels

Jacksonville, FL.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here for four nights and were very happy with our experience. The rooms were quite modern and updated with a nice bathroom with a tub.(very important). The location was perfect as it was close to restuarants, shopping, and Vieux Nice. The daily breakfast buffet was extensive and very good, including tomatoes provencal. The one drawback was the ONE tiny elevator available, but there were signs saying that more were being installed. One elevator in no way is adequate for a hotel of this size. The upstairs restaurant had a lovely view. Being Americans, we wanted ice for our room and the restaurant was very accomodating with this, giving us a large ice bucket full. Over all, we were quite happy with our stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have a view of the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luckyssp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Le Meridien Nice
#75 of 205 in Nice
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aston La Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aston La Scala

Property: Hotel Aston La Scala
Address: 12 avenue Felix Faure, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Grand Hotel Aston Clarion Nice)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Nice
#32 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#48 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aston La Scala 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifull hotel in the center of Nice, 3 minutes away from Place Massena, 5 minutes away from the beach and the Promenade des Anglais. Bar and pool on the roof top of the hotel with a 360° view. Enjoy our rooms with a modern style, starting with our comfort, privilege rooms to our Premium rooms and suites with a view over the Parc "Promenade du Paillon". Our restaurant l'Horloge is open all year and welcomes you to savor French seasonal cuisine. Reception non stop, concierge and a luggage carrier at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Aston La Scala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Nice
Clarion Nice
Nice Clarion
Nice Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing