We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location--very decent hotel in the heart of Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Aston La Scala
Ranked #49 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel two nights, one night as part of our cruise and the other night on our own. As a result of its location and size, the hotel serves smaller tour groups.

The hotel has just about completed a major renovation so our room was totally renovated with a view of the major square in the center of Nice. There is a lovely outdoor rooftop lounge with captivating views of the city as well as the distance Mediterranean where we enjoyed listening to the Nice Jazz Festival going on a block from the hotel. The breakfast was buffet style but quite adequate. As of mid July there was only one functioning elevator (because of the renovation no doubt) so there was a bit of a wait some times.

Hotel staff was very pleasant and accommodating. I'd definitely recommend this hotel if you would like a hotel close to restaurants, Old Town, the tram and shops.

Room Tip: Would recommend a higher room in the front of the hotel overlooking the plaza
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,234)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Aston La Scala
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

482 - 488 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Lovely hotel in a fab location. Robert and his staff are how all hotel staff should be.
They were extremely welcoming very helpful , and just lovely people in general. Our room on the 6th floor was amazing and it was so clean. We will definately use this hotel on our next visit to Nice.

Room Tip: Floor 3 is being refurbished and was almost complete ( we got a sneaky peek one evening when we took...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mair1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a week at the end of July and thoroughly enjoyed it. As previous reviewers have said, the location cannot be beaten for access to the tram, the shops, the airport bus (cheaper than a taxi at 6 euros), the front and the Old Town. Some refurbishment work was going on but the hotel have to be congratulated for minimising the inconvenience of this to guests. Our room was on the 6th floor and was very comfortable, impeccably clean with a large bathroom with shower separate to bath. Breakfast choice was extensive and kept well topped up and the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The pool and bar on the rooftop were brilliant and it was lovely to overlook the fountains with the children playing down below from the top and finish the evening with a drink watching the sunset.

Room Tip: HIgher the better.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VMLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel in July 14 on a bed and breakfast basis and enjoyed it very much. Staff friendly, helpful and efficient and most understood English. Food at breakfast was very good. Rooms were clean and tidy. Had fridge and safe. Good central location in Nice - tram ran just a short ditance in front of hotel and tourist board had an office just across from front of hotel. Tram ran past both train stations which was handy for going out of Nice to sightsee. Only a short walk eg 10 mins to promanade , Old town and market area and also a short walk to new town and shops. Only downside off hotel was the lift which was only new but took an age to come to your floor as it seemed to be the only lift for all of the bedrooms. Would use this hotel again if staying in Nice

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank florence057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here for 8 nights at the end of July and used it as our base to tour round the south of France, great location overlooking the park, across the road from the Old town and a 5 minute walk to the promenade. Hotel very clean and staff welcoming. There was some refurbishment work going on but it did not interfere with our stay. Great hotel and would use again if we ever revisit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Niceone1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Visited this hotel for the rooftop bar.. so good I went back for a second sunset. Didn't stay at the hotel. The service was wonderful and the drinks selection was perfect. A delightful way to end a day in Nice with exceptional local french wines.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbchurchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife and I booked a last minute deal at Grand Hotel Aston Clarion and really enjoyed out stay. Arriving at the hotel a good 3 hours before out check in time, we were well looked after. We were provided with a room to change and freshen up and also somewhere to leave our bags so that we could go and enjoy the day and not worry about traipsing around town with our bags etc.

We had a room on the 5th floor (524), which had an amazing view looking over the old town and also a view towards the hill with the old castle. The room was well air condition and also it was great that we could leave the in the morning and when we got back at the end of the day it was still nice and cold - perfect after a hot day on the beach :) Another bonus feature of the room was that they have electric blinds that completely shut out the light, which is perfect as there is a lot of light outside.

The roof top bar and pool were lovely as well, after the initial jaw dropping moment of taking in the view we enjoyed lounging by the pool taking watching the world go by below. The food was also amazing and well priced and to be honest was better then most of the restaurants we tried while we were there.

The hotel is ideally located between the old town and the main shopping area with a beautiful park in front of it that has been recently renovated that has a lot of kids activities in it as well as for adults who are kids at heart!!

Room Tip: If you want to use one of the private beaches ask at the reception as they have special prices for t...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonSinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Centre
Hotel Nice Riviera
Hotel Nice Riviera
#51 of 204 in Nice
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Musiciens
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#42 of 204 in Nice
1,022 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Centre
Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aston La Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aston La Scala

Address: 12 avenue Felix Faure, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Grand Hotel Aston Clarion Nice)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#31 Business Hotel in Nice
#48 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £83 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aston La Scala 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifull hotel in the center of Nice, 3 minutes away from Place Massena, 5 minutes away from the beach and the Promenade des Anglais. Bar and pool on the roof top of the hotel with a 360° view. Enjoy our rooms with a modern style, starting with our comfort, privilege rooms to our Premium rooms and suites with a view over the Parc "Promenade du Paillon". Our restaurant l'Horloge is open all year and welcomes you to savor French seasonal cuisine. Reception non stop, concierge and a luggage carrier at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aston La Scala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Nice
Clarion Nice
Nice Clarion
Nice Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing