We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$148
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$402
US$359
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$138
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$407
US$316
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Villa Nice Victor Hugo(Nice)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$180
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$242
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$360
US$179
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$328
US$318
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,390)
Filter reviews
1,390 results
Traveller rating
414
608
248
77
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
608
248
77
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationold townprivilege roommassena squareseparate toilettraditional roomgaleries lafayetterecommend this hotelnice carnivalthe buscentral locationbuffet breakfastgood sizeside streetcity breaktea and coffee making facilitiesreception desk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
405 - 410 of 1,390 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and had a really lovely stay. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable, the temperature was just right.
Breakfast was included in our offer and there was a good selection of fresh fruit, yoghurt, croissants, cold meats and tea and coffee. The hotel is perfectly located to explore all areas of Nice, and as the carnival was on during our stay it was a very convenient place to stay.
If I had to fault the hotel on anything it would be that the wifi was slightly temperamental, I had to sit on the floor in one part of the room to access it. However, we spent most of our stay out of the hotel enjoying Nice itself, so wifi wasn't a huge priority for me.
I would recommend this hotel and would happily stay again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank BlueCrocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and will be happy to inform our staff about it.
I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Hotel was located downtown Nice, with few steps to Galleria Layaffe Dept. Store and short walking distance to the Central square and Plaza Massena,
It was not far from the old town too.. In short, this place was in the shopping and restaurant district, accessible with public transit.

The building itself was a piece of art with nice details in the architectural design, yet some work needed to be done to restore the old world charm.
The lobby, reception area and restaurant were stylish with nice light fittings.
Lots of paintings, posters and portraits everywhere with a combination of Modern Pop Arts and kind of Hollywood theme. The eye-catching stairs, romantic and fancy in a traditional way.
Our room was on the upper floor with a balcony; clean and spacious. Furniture was old fashion but the beds were comfortable. Bathroom was totally tile covered in a bright green color, with separate small toilet.
Breakfast was served in the restaurant at the main floor. I must say that the setting was fancy yet the black color scheme was a bit heavy for the first meal in the morning. Food was ok and the buffet table was nicely presented.

We were lucky not having any noise issue although the street was obviously busy at times. However, what bothered us was the portraits in our room. We don’t mind to see the photos of all those great hollywood stars at the lobby, the hall way, the restaurant and all the public area, but not in the bedroom that we stayed for good sleep. We had the half naked Mr. Bruce Lee in charge of our room and Mr. Brad Pitt smiled all the way for two nights above our headboard and we couldn’t avoid seeing as the smiling face reflected on a mirror at the other end of the beds. My friends who occupied another room raised the same question when we had breakfast together. We didn’t want to put this as a “concern” but we would prefer to go somewhere else (without black and white portraits in bedroom) for our future visit to Nice.

Room Tip: Consider rooms on upper or top floor.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amber201083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property.
All of us are committed to provide the highest degree of comfort and service to all our guests. Your evaluation is important, telling us what we do a good job or what we have to improve.
I will certainly share your observations with the entire hotel staff and are sorry not to have met your expectations for the room decor with fotos frames which are in the same mind of the Hotel's decor.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My daughter and I enjoyed our stay at the Massena last March so much that we decided to come back again for the Nice Carnival. The hotel has been refurbished since we last stayed and the wifi connection in the bedrooms is much improved. It is a good 4* hotel in the centre of Nice just off the main square. It is suitable for business and leisure, and I have no hesitation in recommending it.

It's easy to get to using the airport bus,no 98 from outside the terminal building,€6 from the ticket office. If there is a long queue at terminal 1 get the free shuttle to terminal 2 and get on the bus there as that's the first stop. The journey into Nice takes around 20 minutes and you want to get off at the 9th bus stop,failing that look out for the casino on the left hand side,ring the bell and get off. Cross over the road and turn to your right,the tourist information office is 100 yards on the left. Walk until you see McDonalds on the left corner and turn left here. Keep walking through the main square and you will see the main shops directly in front of you,turn right here and you will see the Massena on your left a few hundred yards up the road. For the bus back to the airport (and this time you can pay on the bus) turn left out of the hotel,take the 3rd right,at the bottom of the road turn left and walk to the bus stop named J C Bermond,the airport buses run every 20 minutes.

The transport system is very good and a day ticket is €5. If you are staying for 3 days or more it's worth buying a 7 day ticket for €15. The ticket machines are easy to use and the instructions for use are multi lingual. The tickets will take you out and about on the trams as well as the local buses. The 100 takes you to Monaco,Monte Carlo and Menton. Try and sit on the right hand side of the bus for spectacular views. The 82 takes you to Eze,which if you are a perfume fan then this is the place for you. It also has a medieval village which is interesting to walking around,but it isn't for people with walking difficulties as it's very steep and helps if you are related to a mountain goat!

If you want a good deal on flights from the UK and the hotel look at www.ba.com,we were very pleased with the package they put together at good price.

Room Tip: It's worth upgrading to get a larger room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SussexJudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Madam,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Very good location for business travelers and nice meeting room.
Good foodstuffs at the breakfast.
Professional staff and helpful.
Nice area to go out.
Good Equipment for the meeting room.
Free access to the Wifi

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camille V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelnicemassena, Directeur général adjoint at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour Camille V,
Nous vous remercions pour votre commentaire et sommes ravis que vous ayez pu apprécier votre séminaire à l'Hôtel Masséna.
A très bientôt le plaisir de vous accueillir,
Bien cordialement,
Georges PRADIER
Directeur général adjoint

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Hotel is right in the central, good parking service, Quite expensive but that is what you can expect in Nice centre. Very comfortable hotel with quality service. Close to the boulevard ideal for a run or to get some sunshine. Nice room separate toilet room from the bathroom. Nice bog bath room with bath and all the facilities. Locker works on your entry card. Also a good idea.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arnold W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and will be happy to inform our staff about it.
I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews