We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in excellent location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Ranked #30 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My husband & I stayed here for 4 nights the week before Easter, the hotel is very clean, modern & is located in what I felt was the best area for getting around Nice. It is minutes from main shopping areas, less than 5 minutes from promenade & beach, 10 mins walk to main train station (or 2 mins from tram stop which takes you there also), 1 minute from place messena, 5 mins from old town & 5 mins from airport bus stop. It's approx 15mins from port.
We found the staff to be excellent, very helpful with all enquires & continuously friendly.
Our room (612) (we paid slightly extra for privilege room) was relatively spacious, clean, bright, modern with a lovely private balcony which the sun hit every day until early afternoon. The only downside to the rooms is the bathroom facilities. It's almost open planned & with only frosted glass dividing the toilet to room. The shower was excellent but maybe the layout could be a little daunting for new couples etc due to that little lack of privacy when needing to use the bathroom! We were celebrating our 1 year wedding anniversary & laughter about how it!
The other downside is price of drinks in bar, too expensive so we never used it, which is a pity cause nice bar area but with no offers etc then nothing to entice you to have a few here!
If I return to Nice, I would def stay here again due to location & nice staff. It's s little pricey but worth it for location.
We were also allowed to leave our bags here no problem on last day due to a late flight.
We never ate breakfast as too expensive for what you could get out and about.

Room Tip: Room 612 (top floor, corner room - def had more space than some others we seen). Great sun trap on b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KAF8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrine P, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear KAF8,

Thank you for choosing the hotel massena nice to celebrate your first wedding anniversary ! I am thrilled to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us - this is just what we love to hear! I am glad you enjoyed the refreshed and updated look of the hotel.
You perfectly described the ideal location of the hotel and I am very happy that our privileged position has enabled you to enjoy all the attractions of the city of Nice.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the service provided to you. Please know that I will be sure to share this your feedback with all the staff.

It is with pleasure that I note your good remarks about the room 612 which offers a modern comfort. Concerning the bathroom it is actually our only room with this new concept design. Many of our customers appreciate it but it may surprise you.

We are very fortunate that you'll choose our hotel again for your next stay in Nice and we will welcome you back with great pleasure.


Best regards, Perrine Pellet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

385 - 391 of 1,350 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

Rooms are small, but clean and nice. Four English channels and a mini-frig. Great location, in the middle of tourist area that is well lit and safe. The breakfast is not much, even for 17 euros, the staff struggled with English, and some had problems with e-mail, but we were pleased and would stay there, again. The air conditioning was not too good, and the WHOLE hotel either has a/c or heating. Not sure what it would be like in August, but we enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Some rooms have small balconies, but they may also have lots of street noise. Some rooms had bad Wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property.
All of us are committed to provide the highest degree of comfort and service to all our guests. Your evaluation is important, telling us what we do a good job or what we have to improve.
I will certainly share your observations with the entire hotel staff and are sorry not to have met your expectations.
Best Regards,

Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Just returned from a week's stay at this hotel in Nice. It has an incredible location just off Place Massena, the main plaza in Nice. It is maybe three blocks from the Promonade along the sea and maybe a 10 minute walk to Old Town. Very safe area, we walked at night and felt very safe. Room was large and clean with comfortable beds, a safe, very helpful front desk people and an outstanding breakfast buffet (it was included with our reservation but may not be for everyone). Easy walk to shops, restaurants and all other services.

Room Tip: No view from rooms on back of hotel but very quiet (street in front of hotel is busy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingnana0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrine P, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear travelingnana0806

Thank you! We appreciate you taking the time to review our Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the hotel's location.

You're right, the Hotel Massena is very well located in Nice, just next to the mains shops like the Galerie Lafayette, many restaurants, the sea, the Castle hill...


Regarding our breakfast (that I noticed you appreciated), just know for your futur booking that we propose all year long a special B&B package on our official website.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We would stay here again for all the right reasons. Great location, right in city centre and yet quiet well insulated rooms.Very friendly willing staff and plenty of staff available.Nothing is too much trouble.Comfortable bed, nice bedlinen, super power shower. Very extensive breakfast buffet which will set you up for the day!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MariaMadigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrine P, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear MariaMadigan

Many thanks for this wonderful review about the Hotel Massena ! I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and I will make sure to pass along your appreciation to the staff.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back,

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Hotel Massena in Nice is a quaint hotel very conveniently located near lots of shops and restaurants. The hotel staff, most of it, was very nice. The desk help was most eager to assist with anything we needed. The hotel manager, however, proved to be very "snooty" and rude when we tried to stay out of the rain and use a table in their closed cafe. The hotel cafe is only used for breakfast, so it's not like we were taking any money from their pockets or encouraging patrons not to eat there.

The rooms small (like most European hotels) but comfortable.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank mlusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelnicemassena, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Madam, DearSir,

We have read carefully your review about the Hotel Massena. For information, the General Manager just suggested you not to have a picnic on the tables in the lobby. We can not allow food (sausages, pickles, bread, ....) in the hall spread over the tables for reasons of hygiene, our hotel also provides a catering service in your room. The General Directo indicated that you kindly done and even offered to sit in a private room to please, you have refused. We regret Whether you have experienced this as rudeness and remain at your disposal.

Sincerely Yours,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Nicely placed in the centre of town and you can walk everywhere.
Turn left out of the hotel and a nice little pub/restaurant on the corner. Opposite the pub is a sandwich bar . They will make up your own sandwich recipe while you wait.
Alas, no-one gathered in the evening to have a drink and socialise because the price of drinks was exhorbitant so people went out.
A happy hour after dinner would have brought us all together I think. Part of the fun of hoidays is making new friends. But otherwise a great hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patbrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelnicemassena, Deputy general Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and will be happy to inform our staff about it.
I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

You always take a chance when you book an unknown hotel on line without any personal recommendations> With the Hotel Massena you need have no worries. The Art Deco facade can compare with any in the city, but inside all is modern, efficient and super clean. The staff on the desk (dressed in Carnaval outfits for the week we were there) were friendly and welcoming at all times of the day, and able to answer all our queries about bus, tram and rail travel in and around the city. The room was spacious enough to feel comfortable, as were the beds, and well equipped with tea/coffee-making facility, hair dryer, TV, WiFi etc. The Massena is centrally situated, within walking distance of the Promenade des Anglais and the Vieille Ville, and bus and tram stops to other destinations. An excellent choice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 42adrianw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelnicemassena, Directeur général adjoint at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur,
Je tenais à vous remercier d'avoir choisi l'Hôtel Masséna pour votre séjour sur la Côte d'Azur et plus particulièrement Nice. Nous sommes ravis d'avoir pu rendre votre escapade Niçoise agréable et sympathique avec le déguisement de notre équipe pour Carnaval !
Toute l'équipe de l'Hôtel Masséna se joint à moi pour vous remercier de votre commentaire et dans l'attente du plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau.
Bien cordialement,
Georges PRADIER
Directeur Général Adjoint

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Musiciens
La Malmaison Nice
La Malmaison Nice
#23 of 203 in Nice
212 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Aston La Scala
Hotel Aston La Scala
#44 of 203 in Nice
1,362 reviews
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#12 of 203 in Nice
850 reviews
Centre
Hotel Nice Riviera
Hotel Nice Riviera
#53 of 203 in Nice
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice

Address: 58 rue Gioffredo, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly L'Hotel Massena)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#37 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £70 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Real Boutique Hotel in Nice with a character and its famous Belle Epoque facade of the early century, the Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice welcomes you in a friendly atmosphere. 4 Star hotel with all the comforts in the heart of Nice, the Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice is the perfect place to stay in Nice for all shopping enthusiasts. All the fashion and luxury within walking distance from the hotel: Galeries Lafayette, Louis Vuitton, Hermes, Dior, etc. On the services side, the hotel has a private garage with valet service, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi, room service in partnership with a restaurant nearby, and more. Many restaurants are also close to the hotel. Recent renovations have been made to provide a better quality of services. The 110 rooms and suites of the Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, fully equipped with new high-end luxury bedding, invite the client to relax between two different activities in the capital city of the French Riviera. On the business side, the hotel has a conference room for up to 45 people. And for Incentives up to 150 delegates for reward travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Massena
l Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing