We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Nearby Hotels
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$350
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$372
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$310
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$195
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$330
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Ascend Collection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,409)
Filter reviews
1,409 results
Traveller rating
419
616
252
77
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
616
252
77
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationold townprivilege roommassena squareseparate toilettraditional roomgaleries lafayetterecommend this hotelnice carnivalthe buscentral locationbuffet breakfastgood sizeside streetcity breaktea and coffee making facilitiesreception desk
Filter
Updating list...
398 - 403 of 1,409 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We spent the Easter weekend at this hotel and had an excellent break. The location, as previous reviewers assert, is hard to beat. The front desk staff are knowledgable and helpful. We arrived inexpensively by bus from the airport having received a helpful response about transfers. They would have arranged a taxi transfer but Nice is a very manageable city and the airport conveniently located.
We had tickets for the Tennis at Monte Carlo and they were similarly helpful in advising about train times and directions to Monaco. This again proved easy and affordable.
On arrival we received a free upgrade and the room was spacious and comfortable. I would have been happy to give a five star review but the breakfast is a bit limited and fairly dull.
If we return to Nice I would have no hesitation in booking this hotel again as it is within walking distance of the Old Town, Promenade des Anglais and most of the main sights.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrine P, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Phil E., thank you so much for the feedback ! We're delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay during the Easter weekend with us.
I am pleased to read you appreciated the hotel location, the comfort of your room and that our front desk staff was able to help you with your transfers.
As a tennis fan, please note that from next saturday (17th to 24th may 2014) is starting the Nice Cote d'Azur Tennis Open (Male ATP tournament on clay court) !
I am glad to to read you'll book again the Hotel Massena for your next stay and I really hope you'll be able to give us the wonderfull rate of 5/5 this next time !
I invite you to check out our special rates all year long availables on our Facebook fan page or Trip Advisor page for your next booking.
Best regards, Perrine Pellet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The Hotel Massena is a clean, smart, hotel and the perfect location for a Nice city break. Situated in the absolute heart of the city it is convenient for all the sights, including the stunning new Promenade du Paillon, with its quirky water features. The staff were friendly and courteous at all times and spoke excellent English.
Our room was at the back of the hotel, and although it had no view, for a city centre hotel it was incredibly quiet and a reasonable size. The provision of kettle and tea making facilities in the room as standard is also very welcome to British guests, and there is even BBC 1 on the TV to make you feel at home. There is a safe in the room, operated by the normal electronic room key. Inserting the room key cardboard case into the electricity interrupter, rather than the actual key itself, solves the problem of being plunged into darkness when using the safe after dark!
The buffet breakfast is of excellent quality and very varied for a French hotel, although the soubriquet “American” must be described as a misleading one.
The provision of free Wi-Fi is to be welcomed, but this is an area where the hotel needs to do more work. Reception at our end of the hotel was poor and restricted to the toilet and bathroom area, in any case it was automatically disconnected after 45 minutes use, requiring the double re-entry of a less than memorable user-name and password.
For any plant lovers Nice is a wonderful city, but just 20 minutes down the coast by train lies the truly exquisite Jardin Exotique in Monaco, and this, with its superb views, cannot be too highly recommended.

Room Tip: If Wi-Fi is important to you then make this clear to the staff so that you receive a room near to a router
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plantlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrine P, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words about the hotel. We are so glad you had such a pleasant experience and you had the opportunity to discover the new Promenade du Paillon just in front the Hotel Massena.
In addition, it’s feedback from people like you that help reassure us that we are doing our jobs and showing passion for what we do.
I am please you appreciate the room amenities and it made you feel like home.
For you king information I am happy to annonce we are planning a massive wifi improvement very soon for the convenience of all our customers
Thank you for your nice advise about the short distance with Monaco and his wonderfull Exotic garden.
We are looking forward to welcome you back, Perrine Pellet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My husband & I stayed here for 4 nights the week before Easter, the hotel is very clean, modern & is located in what I felt was the best area for getting around Nice. It is minutes from main shopping areas, less than 5 minutes from promenade & beach, 10 mins walk to main train station (or 2 mins from tram stop which takes you there also), 1 minute from place messena, 5 mins from old town & 5 mins from airport bus stop. It's approx 15mins from port.
We found the staff to be excellent, very helpful with all enquires & continuously friendly.
Our room (612) (we paid slightly extra for privilege room) was relatively spacious, clean, bright, modern with a lovely private balcony which the sun hit every day until early afternoon. The only downside to the rooms is the bathroom facilities. It's almost open planned & with only frosted glass dividing the toilet to room. The shower was excellent but maybe the layout could be a little daunting for new couples etc due to that little lack of privacy when needing to use the bathroom! We were celebrating our 1 year wedding anniversary & laughter about how it!
The other downside is price of drinks in bar, too expensive so we never used it, which is a pity cause nice bar area but with no offers etc then nothing to entice you to have a few here!
If I return to Nice, I would def stay here again due to location & nice staff. It's s little pricey but worth it for location.
We were also allowed to leave our bags here no problem on last day due to a late flight.
We never ate breakfast as too expensive for what you could get out and about.

Room Tip: Room 612 (top floor, corner room - def had more space than some others we seen). Great sun trap on balcony. Worth extra €16 for privilege room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KAF8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrine P, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear KAF8,

Thank you for choosing the hotel massena nice to celebrate your first wedding anniversary ! I am thrilled to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us - this is just what we love to hear! I am glad you enjoyed the refreshed and updated look of the hotel.
You perfectly described the ideal location of the hotel and I am very happy that our privileged position has enabled you to enjoy all the attractions of the city of Nice.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the service provided to you. Please know that I will be sure to share this your feedback with all the staff.

It is with pleasure that I note your good remarks about the room 612 which offers a modern comfort. Concerning the bathroom it is actually our only room with this new concept design. Many of our customers appreciate it but it may surprise you.

We are very fortunate that you'll choose our hotel again for your next stay in Nice and we will welcome you back with great pleasure.


Best regards, Perrine Pellet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Rooms are small, but clean and nice. Four English channels and a mini-frig. Great location, in the middle of tourist area that is well lit and safe. The breakfast is not much, even for 17 euros, the staff struggled with English, and some had problems with e-mail, but we were pleased and would stay there, again. The air conditioning was not too good, and the WHOLE hotel either has a/c or heating. Not sure what it would be like in August, but we enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Some rooms have small balconies, but they may also have lots of street noise. Some rooms had bad Wi-Fi, but ours was great.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property.
All of us are committed to provide the highest degree of comfort and service to all our guests. Your evaluation is important, telling us what we do a good job or what we have to improve.
I will certainly share your observations with the entire hotel staff and are sorry not to have met your expectations.
Best Regards,

Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Just returned from a week's stay at this hotel in Nice. It has an incredible location just off Place Massena, the main plaza in Nice. It is maybe three blocks from the Promonade along the sea and maybe a 10 minute walk to Old Town. Very safe area, we walked at night and felt very safe. Room was large and clean with comfortable beds, a safe, very helpful front desk people and an outstanding breakfast buffet (it was included with our reservation but may not be for everyone). Easy walk to shops, restaurants and all other services.

Room Tip: No view from rooms on back of hotel but very quiet (street in front of hotel is busy).
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingnana0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrine P, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear travelingnana0806

Thank you! We appreciate you taking the time to review our Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the hotel's location.

You're right, the Hotel Massena is very well located in Nice, just next to the mains shops like the Galerie Lafayette, many restaurants, the sea, the Castle hill...


Regarding our breakfast (that I noticed you appreciated), just know for your futur booking that we propose all year long a special B&B package on our official website.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews