We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect position!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Ranked #27 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is just two steps far from place massena, so from the heart of the city with its elegant shops, the breezy promenade and the enchanting Old Nice with its alleys offering lots of restaurants and open air cafés.
The standard room is not big and a larger closet would not be bad, but the bed was very comfortable, bathroom was good and clean too.
The staff is always very friendly and at the customers' service.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuicyLanaBanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrine P, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Madam,
Thank you for staying with us. I am glad to read the Hotel Massena was the perfect position for your stay in Nice.
Thanks to the hotel location you can easily enjoy all the events taking place in Nice city center for example the next Nice Jazz Festival from 8th to 12th july 2014 !
I am happy you enjoyed the comfort of our bedrooom/bathroom and the welcome of our staff.
For your next stay at the Hotel Massena and to discover our Privilege or Deluxe rooms I advise you to book through our Trip Advisor page on which you can take advantage of a free upgrade.
We are looking forward to welcome you back. Perrine Pellet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 1,307 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Extremely friendly staff who couldn't do more to help. The hotel is excellently located within easy walking distance of all the main parts of the town. The only downside were some poor maintenance in the room which had a slightly shabby shabby chic feel about it but it was still nice to stay in. Although I was staying for a two day seminar the hotel would be ideal for families on a beach holiday as it is very near the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rivergarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrine P, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Rivergath,
Many thanks for your feedback. As you mention the Hotel Masséna is only steps away from all points of interest in Nice and also close to beaches on the Promenade des Anglais.
You're absolutely right that our location is as well convenient for leisure or business travelers.
We hope to welcome you back and note that to take advantage of a free room upgrade please book your stay through or Trip Advisor page with "Trip-Mass" code.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Very cool space. The room was a bit cramped but functional. Nicely appointed bathroom, comfortable bed, helpful staff. The location is great - bustling part of town and a quick walk to Old Town. For the combination of price, location, and accommodation I'll stay here again.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank intl_localist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrine P, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and I am delighted to hear you were able to enjoy your stay.
That makes us all happy to read that you'll stay at the Hotel Massena again.
Please note for your next booking that you can take advantge of a free room upgrade on our Trip Advisor page - or - 10% off on our best available rate by booking on our Facebook fan page ;).
See you soon! Perrine P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We spent the Easter weekend at this hotel and had an excellent break. The location, as previous reviewers assert, is hard to beat. The front desk staff are knowledgable and helpful. We arrived inexpensively by bus from the airport having received a helpful response about transfers. They would have arranged a taxi transfer but Nice is a very manageable city and the airport conveniently located.
We had tickets for the Tennis at Monte Carlo and they were similarly helpful in advising about train times and directions to Monaco. This again proved easy and affordable.
On arrival we received a free upgrade and the room was spacious and comfortable. I would have been happy to give a five star review but the breakfast is a bit limited and fairly dull.
If we return to Nice I would have no hesitation in booking this hotel again as it is within walking distance of the Old Town, Promenade des Anglais and most of the main sights.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrine P, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Phil E., thank you so much for the feedback ! We're delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay during the Easter weekend with us.
I am pleased to read you appreciated the hotel location, the comfort of your room and that our front desk staff was able to help you with your transfers.
As a tennis fan, please note that from next saturday (17th to 24th may 2014) is starting the Nice Cote d'Azur Tennis Open (Male ATP tournament on clay court) !
I am glad to to read you'll book again the Hotel Massena for your next stay and I really hope you'll be able to give us the wonderfull rate of 5/5 this next time !
I invite you to check out our special rates all year long availables on our Facebook fan page or Trip Advisor page for your next booking.
Best regards, Perrine Pellet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The Hotel Massena is a clean, smart, hotel and the perfect location for a Nice city break. Situated in the absolute heart of the city it is convenient for all the sights, including the stunning new Promenade du Paillon, with its quirky water features. The staff were friendly and courteous at all times and spoke excellent English.
Our room was at the back of the hotel, and although it had no view, for a city centre hotel it was incredibly quiet and a reasonable size. The provision of kettle and tea making facilities in the room as standard is also very welcome to British guests, and there is even BBC 1 on the TV to make you feel at home. There is a safe in the room, operated by the normal electronic room key. Inserting the room key cardboard case into the electricity interrupter, rather than the actual key itself, solves the problem of being plunged into darkness when using the safe after dark!
The buffet breakfast is of excellent quality and very varied for a French hotel, although the soubriquet “American” must be described as a misleading one.
The provision of free Wi-Fi is to be welcomed, but this is an area where the hotel needs to do more work. Reception at our end of the hotel was poor and restricted to the toilet and bathroom area, in any case it was automatically disconnected after 45 minutes use, requiring the double re-entry of a less than memorable user-name and password.
For any plant lovers Nice is a wonderful city, but just 20 minutes down the coast by train lies the truly exquisite Jardin Exotique in Monaco, and this, with its superb views, cannot be too highly recommended.

Room Tip: If Wi-Fi is important to you then make this clear to the staff so that you receive a room near to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plantlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrine P, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words about the hotel. We are so glad you had such a pleasant experience and you had the opportunity to discover the new Promenade du Paillon just in front the Hotel Massena.
In addition, it’s feedback from people like you that help reassure us that we are doing our jobs and showing passion for what we do.
I am please you appreciate the room amenities and it made you feel like home.
For you king information I am happy to annonce we are planning a massive wifi improvement very soon for the convenience of all our customers
Thank you for your nice advise about the short distance with Monaco and his wonderfull Exotic garden.
We are looking forward to welcome you back, Perrine Pellet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My husband & I stayed here for 4 nights the week before Easter, the hotel is very clean, modern & is located in what I felt was the best area for getting around Nice. It is minutes from main shopping areas, less than 5 minutes from promenade & beach, 10 mins walk to main train station (or 2 mins from tram stop which takes you there also), 1 minute from place messena, 5 mins from old town & 5 mins from airport bus stop. It's approx 15mins from port.
We found the staff to be excellent, very helpful with all enquires & continuously friendly.
Our room (612) (we paid slightly extra for privilege room) was relatively spacious, clean, bright, modern with a lovely private balcony which the sun hit every day until early afternoon. The only downside to the rooms is the bathroom facilities. It's almost open planned & with only frosted glass dividing the toilet to room. The shower was excellent but maybe the layout could be a little daunting for new couples etc due to that little lack of privacy when needing to use the bathroom! We were celebrating our 1 year wedding anniversary & laughter about how it!
The other downside is price of drinks in bar, too expensive so we never used it, which is a pity cause nice bar area but with no offers etc then nothing to entice you to have a few here!
If I return to Nice, I would def stay here again due to location & nice staff. It's s little pricey but worth it for location.
We were also allowed to leave our bags here no problem on last day due to a late flight.
We never ate breakfast as too expensive for what you could get out and about.

Room Tip: Room 612 (top floor, corner room - def had more space than some others we seen). Great sun trap on b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KAF8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrine P, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear KAF8,

Thank you for choosing the hotel massena nice to celebrate your first wedding anniversary ! I am thrilled to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us - this is just what we love to hear! I am glad you enjoyed the refreshed and updated look of the hotel.
You perfectly described the ideal location of the hotel and I am very happy that our privileged position has enabled you to enjoy all the attractions of the city of Nice.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the service provided to you. Please know that I will be sure to share this your feedback with all the staff.

It is with pleasure that I note your good remarks about the room 612 which offers a modern comfort. Concerning the bathroom it is actually our only room with this new concept design. Many of our customers appreciate it but it may surprise you.

We are very fortunate that you'll choose our hotel again for your next stay in Nice and we will welcome you back with great pleasure.


Best regards, Perrine Pellet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Rooms are small, but clean and nice. Four English channels and a mini-frig. Great location, in the middle of tourist area that is well lit and safe. The breakfast is not much, even for 17 euros, the staff struggled with English, and some had problems with e-mail, but we were pleased and would stay there, again. The air conditioning was not too good, and the WHOLE hotel either has a/c or heating. Not sure what it would be like in August, but we enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Some rooms have small balconies, but they may also have lots of street noise. Some rooms had bad Wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property.
All of us are committed to provide the highest degree of comfort and service to all our guests. Your evaluation is important, telling us what we do a good job or what we have to improve.
I will certainly share your observations with the entire hotel staff and are sorry not to have met your expectations.
Best Regards,

Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Centre
Hotel Aston La Scala
Hotel Aston La Scala
#48 of 203 in Nice
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Musiciens
La Malmaison Nice
La Malmaison Nice
#26 of 203 in Nice
191 reviews
Centre
Hotel Nice Riviera
Hotel Nice Riviera
#55 of 203 in Nice
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice

Address: 58 rue Gioffredo, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly L'Hotel Massena)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#37 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £62 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Real Boutique Hotel in Nice with a character and its famous Belle Epoque facade of the early century, the Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice welcomes you in a friendly atmosphere. 4 Star hotel with all the comforts in the heart of Nice, the Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice is the perfect place to stay in Nice for all shopping enthusiasts. All the fashion and luxury within walking distance from the hotel: Galeries Lafayette, Louis Vuitton, Hermes, Dior, etc. On the services side, the hotel has a private garage with valet service, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi, room service in partnership with a restaurant nearby, and more. Many restaurants are also close to the hotel. Recent renovations have been made to provide a better quality of services. The 110 rooms and suites of the Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, fully equipped with new high-end luxury bedding, invite the client to relax between two different activities in the capital city of the French Riviera. On the business side, the hotel has a conference room for up to 45 people. And for Incentives up to 150 delegates for reward travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Massena
l Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing