We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The divorce of the bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Ranked #25 of 204 Hotels in Nice
La Plata, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The divorce of the bathroom”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

It´s my fifth time at the Massena. I used to love this hotel. Its location is convenient and it is located in a beautiful French building. We were attending to a conference and having decided to arrive in advance, we decided to book at Massena for our first night in Nice, before moving to the hotel booked by our company.
Great was our deception. The room, a standard one, was not only outdated but the carpet need a deep clean. What is more strange the bathroom was divided and the toilet was in a sort of small closet completely isolated from the shower and the sinks.
I had read that the hotel was recently renovated. Definitely not the first floor. A mate travelling with us was destined to a room with a deep sewer smell. My deception is greater because I know it has better rooms, even standard ones. I found myself not appreciated as loyal guest.
I found the rooms dusty.
The A/c does not work properly but on my request to the front desk , I must say that the service came in a moment. They were the most gentle people I found at Massena. They fixed it and it was OK.
Wi Fi worked well and breakfast service , though completely t impersonal, is quite good. Many tasteful choices and food of high quality.
After many years of loyalty and recommendations to many friends , next time I will think twice. We paid four stars, we received not more than two. All hotels have standard rooms but four stars should be four stars.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room at the first floor. They are completely outdated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaF_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelnicemassena, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Madam,
We thank you for your comment telling us what we have to improve. We read carefully your remark regarding the room and are little bit surprised. Most all of our rooms benefits of separated toilets which is really appreciated from our guests.
For information, the rooms you have had on the first and second floor will be renovated this next winter. Last winter, we did the other floors. The one you have had are similar as the ones you had the previous years before the renovation.
We will be glad to welcome you again and by the way let you discover our renovated rooms.
Best Regards.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    522
    206
    68
    37
See reviews for
135
619
47
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We came from a sad little hotel to this wonderful place where they upgraded us to a deluxroom on the 5th floor with a balcony. It was superb with a very short walk to the old town. Couldn't have wished for more. The WIFI worked well, could maybe have been a little bit faster and a slight neusance that it kicked us out every now and then. We also needed one access for every device but that is minor details to this lovely hotel which was top knotch. Lovely atmosphere and decore. Always helpful. Would have loved to stay here on our return home as well but unfortunately for us they were fully booked due to a conference.
Would fully recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed at 514
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loekis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrine P, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Loekis,

What a pleasure to see your wonderfull rating of 5/5 !
Many thanks for taking time to share your experience at the Hotel Massena with the Trip Advisor community.
I am pleased to read that you describe the hotel massena as a wonderfull place.
The satisafcation of our customers is our priority, we strive to offer the best service throughout the year.
Our Deluxe rooms do provide a high quality of comfort and I'm glad you could stay in one of these rooms.

For your next visit in Nice, check out our Trip Advisor Page on which you will be able to take advantage of a free room upgrade (subject to availability).

We look forward to welcome you soon ! Maybe you this winter for the famous Nice Carnaval starting from February 13, 2015 !

Your sincerly


Perrine Pellet, public relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Location is a few blocks from the sea and old town..Room was very nice with std amenities. Bathroom did not have an outlet for electric shaver or electric toothbrush. Around the corner is a nice small grocery store where you can get some wine (reasonable prices) for the room. There are many shops for shopping in this neighborhood. Restaurants are nearby either tohe right or left of the hotel and a few blocks forward from the hotel are many cafe/bistro type of restaurants but be cautious. Ate at one that mentioned all the positve descriptions for their menu items yet a filet I ordered came black and needed to be replaced.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scuba077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrine P, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you ! We appreciate you taking the time to review our Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the hotel's location.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Yours sincerely,

Perrine Pellet, public relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I spent a night here after a conference. The hotel seems to have been renovated recently so the rooms are very clean and modern. The location is great and close to the main attractions, with an excellent staff who were very friendly and efficient. I booked at the last minute on Expedia and got a very reasonable rate but a very small room. The room was clean and was fine for a single traveler. The hotel provides free wifi but it is very annoying as it automatically logs out the user every 20 minutes for "security" reasons. Not much atmosphere in the bar but there are many cafes nearby so who wants to spend their time in the hotel anyways.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OttawaTravellingDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrine P, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Massena Nice.
Indeed, our hotel is regularly renovated to provide maximum comfort and modernism to our customers.
The decor is carefully chosen by the owner of the establishment and is renewed every season.
I'm glad you had a good price, know that by booking directly with our reservation department you'll also get the best available rate.
++ On our Facebook page we provide an exceptional discount of 10% off for any bookings from one night.

WiFi connection in the hotel is free and unlimited. For security reasons the connection interompt every 45 minutes.

It is with pleasure that we note your satisfaction with the cleanliness and hospitality of our staff.

We hope to see you again very soon,

best regards,

Perrine Pellet
Public Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Very central location near the central plaza and easy walk to main shops, restaurants and beach etc. good character and size able rooms for France with king bed. Bathrooms are adequate. Breakfast was ok but also easy to eat out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, second floor and above facing the road would be best but the higher t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrine P, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Wayne M,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay.
Hôtel Massena behind his Belle Epoque facade actually offers a lot of character in its decoration, regularly updated by the owner of the establishment.
The location is also undoubtedly one of the best Nice to enjoy both beaches, restaurants, sightseeing ...
I am delighted to read that your bedroom with a king size bed with a modern bathroom gave you satisfaction.
For your next visit, please take a look at our official blog where we share all our favorite places for shopping, restaurant, leisure ideas ...
Hoping to have the pleasure to welcome you very soon,

Best regards,
Perrine Pellet
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just a short walk away from the Old Town, this is an ideal central location. A bit noisy, but that's cities for you. The room was air conditioned and spacious, but a little short on hangers for your clothes. My one criticism would be the lack of handles in the bath/shower area. As I have a back problem, my mobility is limited, and getting in and out of the bath/shower was tricky, and felt a little risky. The breakfast is a generous buffet style, and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. I had an enjoyable short city break as a result.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrine P, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your lovely feedback.
It's a pleasure to read your satisfaction about our central location near the old town, the staff and the comfort of our beds.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your room. Regarding the bathroom, please note that we have rooms to welcome disabled guests. For your next booking, I invite you to contact our reservation department, which will be very happy to advise you on suitable rooms.
I'm glad you appreciated our buffet breakfast during your short city break on the Cote d'Azur.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Hotel Masséna.

Best regards,

Perrine Pellet
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The location of the hotel is ideal either for tourism or for business. it is just two steps far from place Massena, so from the heart of the city.
The standard room iwas OK: the bed was king size and very comfortable, bathroom was good and clean too.
Breakfast was nice with juice, pastries, bacon, scambled eggs etc.
The meeting room is very pleasant (large and well equiped). The food and drinks provided during breaks are many and varied.
The staff is always very friendly and at the customers' service.
I will recommend this hotel to my friends and organise other meetings there.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows facing the street seemed to have better internet access than those with windows f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrine P, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you for having posted your comments further to your business visit at the Hotel Massena.

The Hotel Masséna's team is happy to help guest organise their professional meetings and to tailor its services and organisation to their specific needs.

We are glad you had a great experience too with the location, comfort of our rooms and the cleanliness of the bathroom.

Thank you for recommending our property to your friends, we'll be pleased to welcome them for tourism or business trip on Nice.

Best regards,

Perrine Pellet
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#21 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Address: 58 rue Gioffredo, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly L'Hotel Massena)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#37 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Real Boutique Hotel in Nice with a character and its famous Belle Epoque facade of the early century, the Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice welcomes you in a friendly atmosphere. 4 Star hotel with all the comforts in the heart of Nice, the Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice is the perfect place to stay in Nice for all shopping enthusiasts. All the fashion and luxury within walking distance from the hotel: Galeries Lafayette, Louis Vuitton, Hermes, Dior, etc. On the services side, the hotel has a private garage with valet service, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi, room service in partnership with a restaurant nearby, and more. Many restaurants are also close to the hotel. Recent renovations have been made to provide a better quality of services. The 110 rooms and suites of the Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, fully equipped with new high-end luxury bedding, invite the client to relax between two different activities in the capital city of the French Riviera. On the business side, the hotel has a conference room for up to 45 people. And for Incentives up to 150 delegates for reward travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Massena
l Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing