We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, Great garden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Villa Victoria
Ranked #10 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel, Great garden”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in April 2012 - it was the 2nd destination on our honeymoon, and we were delighted with the room after the tiny closet we got in Paris! While the hotel itself is small, the rooms were lovely and the location was excellent as we walked from the train station to the hotel, while the promenade was a brief walk as well.

The best part about the stay was the breakfast in the garden. Breakfast itself was limited with boiled eggs, assorted breads and preserves, cornflakes, but the garden was gorgeous and the waiting staff was great as well. One waiter took multiple pictures of my husband and I most willingly!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    360
    85
    12
    6
See reviews for
123
446
40
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Was away for 4 nights with my mum, asked for a garden view and got just that. Ground floor, large, really quiet and clean. Breakfast included in the price, was typical of French Hotel, carb centred but boiled eggs/cheese/cold meat available for wheat avoiders. Within walking distance of beach, old town, restaurants, bars etc. Found Nice to be reasonably priced (strong pound/weak euro helped). Staff in hotel always helpful/friendly and coped with our attempts to speak French. Garden is beautiful and great for relaxing in after a days wandering - beware of mosquitos in early evening. Didn't really use air con so can't comment on that. Fantastic time and will be back, hopefully to stay in Villa Victoria again.

Room Tip: Ground floor, garden view - worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ucieOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in June. We had asked for a garden room as we wanted a quiet room. The view over the garden was lovely and the room very nice but really quite small. Good air con and the tea making facilities were appreciated. The free coffee and cakes in the afternoon were also a nice touch. The best thing by far though was the garden. Perfect for an aperitif or a night cap ! We didn't have breakfast but went down to Cafe Fleur in rue de France for a great breakfast for only 6 euros. The hotel is in a very good location. 5 mins to the promenade and a 15 minute pleasant stroll to the Old Town. Handy for the tram and very handy for the bus to / from the airport. Will stay here again when we return to Nice.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are quiet with lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eryngium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Yes, the hotel was clean, the staff and friendly, and the afternoon tea/coffee and cakes were lovely, yet the extremely small size of our room makes it impossible to rate it higher. Not only was the room tiny, but it didn't even come with a chair that had a back on it--a four-legged stool was the all that came with the room. Even the in-room coffee maker came only with decaf, for the hotel was out of regular coffee during our stay. The bathroom was the saving grace, for it was probably as large as the sleeping quarters and quite clean and modern. The hotel's location was also more than adequate, being quite close to the sea and numerous restaurants and shops. For 15 euros, the breakfast was more than disappointing, for hot food was not available.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjlv07b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel, chose a twin bedded room on the garden side including breakfast. The room was comfortable and clean and looked out on an apricot tree. The location was perfect for us--a nice walk to the Place Massena and Old Town, train station and seaside promenade. Breakfast was in the garden, lots of choices and a pleasant staff to help and clean the tables. In the afternoon, the hotel put out pastries with a pod coffee machine and one could help oneself and we did when we returned. We found numerous streets filled with charming and less expensive little restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel and went to a different restaurant each night (not in the more touristy areas with identical menus). All in all, a very satisfactory place to stay.

Room Tip: We chose a garden room--they are more expensive but we had a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobynFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Just stayed here for 3 nights whilst attending the Monaco GP. It was booked as part of a Thomas Cook package. The Hotel is well placed for the railway station, about a 10 minute walk and is also only about 5 minutes walk to the sea front and another 10 to the old town. Transfer from airport was about 20 mins.The area it is in is OK but not somewhere with anything to interest the visitor. Inside the reception, corridors and lift are presentable if not particularly stylish. Our room was a twin on the front and was clean, comfortable, with a good shower, TV and air-con but was not what I would call stylish or contemporary.
The star of this hotel is the lovely garden to the rear, where we had breakfast. It is a real treat, with orange trees, jasmine etc. Breakfast is standard continental - nice bread and pastries, and they do a nice apple tart. There is also toast and cereals and savoury options (salami, cheese and something suspiciously like pork pie).
To sum up I think this is a good 3 star hotel well located and lifted by its garden.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fuzzbadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Palisades, CA
Level Contributor
185 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Good location within walking distance of train station/airport bus#99 stop and the seaside promenade. Also not too far from Old Town Nice and Gare Routiere(bus station) with easy tram/bus access to most sights including #100 bus to Monaco. Rooms could use some refurbishing. Great location for the price.

Room Tip: Number 307 is a large older room with high ceilings and overlooks the lovely courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kanda84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Victoria

Property: Hotel Villa Victoria
Address: 33 boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#5 Family Hotel in Nice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#29 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Nice, near the Promenade des Anglais, the Villa Victoria is an Art Deco style period building a short walk from the pedestrian area of Old Town. Rare and valuable in a city centre, the hotel features a 600m² garden composed of regional flowers and shady trees. Guests are invited to enjoy this peaceful area for breakfast or a relaxing moment. In a warm and family atmosphere, the team of the Hotel Villa Victoria is at your disposal to provide quality services and a home worthy of its reputation. All of the guestrooms have been stylishly and tastefully renovated to provide a cosy living space. They are air-conditioned and soundproofed and equipped with modern en suite facilities and free Wi-Fi internet access. Villa Victoria is perfectly situated between the railway station and the airport (8 kilometres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing