We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Victoria
Ranked #7 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2009

I have just returned from this lovely hotel.I stayed with my sister in law and elderly mum who has mobility problems and I must say straight away the Staff were excellent and ever so helpful.This was my mums 1st holiday away in 25 years and she thought she would be able to manage to see Nice on foot but unfortunately it wasnt to be but the Receptionist organised the hire of a wheelchair from a nearby chemist and it turned this into a really great break for her.She was able to see all of Nices beauty and sights. Back to the hotel the rooms were lovely and really spacious the biggest ive stayed in Nice lovely decor and really comfortable beds lots of wardrobe space and a safe Really nice bathroom with plenty of towels and Yves Rocher toiletries shower on small side but did what was needed.Rooms were at front of hotel on 3rd floor 308 & 304 but had no problem with noise once windows were closed.The rooms also had tea and coffee making facilities which was great and you could also make same in lobby and enjoy a pastry mini fridge in room with complimentary bottles of water which were very welcome. Weather was gorgeous and even though it was very hot the air conditioning was brilliant kept room lovely and cool.Breakfast room was airy and spacious and the garden was outstandingly gorgeous. Breakfast was included in our rate and was very nice plenty of lovely breads yoghurts,jams pancakes sausages cereals cheeses and oh the lovely pastries the cause of the extra few pounds i took home!Lovely quiet area yet close to all the sights and the promenade.I really loved this Hotel it was the nicest hotel I have stayed in ,so far in Nice and It was made all the better by the really nice front desk staff I will definetly back hopefully sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrancesC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 830 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights last month. Our room faced the garden (rooms facing the street could be noisy). We agree with everything positive that has been posted here! The front desk were extremely helpful when we had a computer problem. Walking distance to the beach, yet in a lovely residential neighborhood. We give them FOUR stars!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

Great location and lovely garden to relax in after a day in' full-on' Nice. Hotel feels very French and calm with lovely staff to help you. Breakfast expensive but good - can also be eaten in the garden which is lovely. Efficient air-con and rooms clean and comfortable. Would like to return but hotel a bit expensive. Hotel beach costs 15 Euros for sun bed and parasol. Nice is very expensive, so beware.
Just left out of hotel is good Italian restaurant and a nice bar on the opp corner. Great if you do not want to venture far from hotel in the eve.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

This was classified as a 3 star hotel but we felt it warranted a greater star rating. The hotel is very clean, beautifully presented, well maintained, and the staff extremely helpful who could not do enough for guests. The coffee and pastries in reception and complementary bottles of water on arrival are a nice touch. The lady running breakfast can get a little stressed but is very friendly. The rooms were clean, a good size and had air con, a flat screen TV, Sky (limited English channels), safe, tea/coffee and fridge although the room was a little sparse of furniture. We had a room on the front and had no problem with noise at all. The bathrooms had bath and shower head although it would have been better if the shower had a bracket to have a stand up shower. Breakfast in the garden is lovely but if not incuded in your room rate it is expensive at 17 Euros. It is well situated at about 6 or 7 mins walk from the seafront and perhaps the same from literally dozens of restaurants near to Place de Massena and the old town of Nice. I would certainly recommend the hotel to others and would definitely stay there again. Nice itself is outstandingly beautiful, The beach is pebbled but spotless, the promenade again spotless and great for people watching. Go up to the waterfall gardens and get a great view of the city. We preferred Old Nice to eat but there are restaurants aplenty everywhere. The set menus are better value but expect to be very full afterwards(!) Beer and wine are very expensive. Getting to the hotel was easy, the 98 bus on bus stand 5 from the airport, 4 Euros each each way, takes about 25 mins tops. Get off at Promenade/Congress stop and walk 10 mins to the hotel. For the return journey they are every 20 mins and can be got from outside the pink hotel on the front. Take the train to Monte Carlo for 6.60 Euros each return; the trains are clean, efficient, aircon'd and when you arrive at Monte Carlo, after dribbling over the huge boats, go up the hill from the harbour to the Casino and drool over the cars parked there. Loved Nice, we will be going back and probably to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_and_Emma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

We stayed here for 13 nights and used it as a hub for day trips around the riviera. We took the 99 bus from airport to the train station and fairly long downhill walk but manageable. Hotel has a clean, cheery reception and breakfast room. Staff were helpful with directions and restaurant reservations. Especially great was Marlena. Chiara and Sara were also more helpful than average. Kara in the breakfast area was also very friendly and hard-working..
There were two of us but we chose a triple because we like a bit more space. We had room 107 which was located directly above the breakfast room, so at about 7 am. or so we would begin to hear chairs scraping on the floor below. Really not a problem for us, we were facing the garden rather than the street because we dislike street noise which is more of a concern for us.
Room was a bit small but manageable. Toilet was separate from bathroom--not all rooms were that way. Bathroom was well designed and made great use of available space. We liked the restaurants Vivieres, Cantine de lulu, maison de marie and la petite maison. Deux palmiers was very close to hotel but I was a bit turned off by the greasy fried food, greasy cheesy pizzas and salads loaded with pineapple. It's a good place if you're craving low-brow american or british food and it's open when other places or not. My travel companion liked their lasagna featured one night, but again it awash with grease from copious cheese.. Waiters weren't particularly friendly.
Laundry service was professionally done and in one day.
Air-conditioning was fine.
As for the hotel..I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to people that don't have to have a really posh place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toothbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Chose the Villa Victoria based on Tripadvisor reviews and was not disappointed. The public spaces are light and airy. The bedrooms, we had 2 rooms, were smallish, but more than adequate. They were very clean as were the en suites. Outside there is a very pleasant patio and garden where you can have breakfast. There is no bar as we know it, but the receptionist will get you drinks which you can have served on the patio. Prices are cheaper than some of the local bars too. Staff are friendly and the receptionists very helpful.
The Hotel weere unable to provide us with the twin rooms that we had booked through Alpharooms and although they had notified Alpharooms' local booking agent, we were not told. The hotel offered a couple of solutions, neither ideal, but one of which we accepted. We were very grateful for their efforts.
A word of warning though! Our rooms were on the back overlooking the garden. We slept with the window open and are now covered in very itchy insect bites. Close the window and use the aircon if the room gets too warm.
The hotel is situated a ten minute stroll to the promenade and about the same from the station for that trip to Monaco and Monte Carlo. It is also a 10 minute walk to restaurants and shops, but we found better restaurants in the old town about 20 minutes way.
We would not hesitate to stay at the Villa Victoria again

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richie-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

The staff was wonderful and very helpful to these first time travelers to France. The location is in perfect walking distance to whatever your needs are in Nice. If you need WiFi access your out of luck here. But you don't go to France to get on the internet. I'd be happy to stay here again and will recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fruncdodo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Hotel Suisse
#8 of 204 in Nice
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Victoria

Address: 33 boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#5 Family Hotel in Nice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#29 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £68 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Nice, near the Promenade des Anglais, the Villa Victoria is an Art Deco style period building a short walk from the pedestrian area of Old Town. Rare and valuable in a city centre, the hotel features a 600m² garden composed of regional flowers and shady trees. Guests are invited to enjoy this peaceful area for breakfast or a relaxing moment. In a warm and family atmosphere, the team of the Hotel Villa Victoria is at your disposal to provide quality services and a home worthy of its reputation. All of the guestrooms have been stylishly and tastefully renovated to provide a cosy living space. They are air-conditioned and soundproofed and equipped with modern en suite facilities and free Wi-Fi internet access. Villa Victoria is perfectly situated between the railway station and the airport (8 kilometres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing