We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location, lovely garden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Victoria
Ranked #7 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2010

I stayed at the Villa Victoria with a group of friends for 3 nights in September '10. It's a very pleasant hotel in a great location. We didn't have breakfast there as we thought it was a bit expensive and there were some nice places near by. The rooms were very nice, we choose the garden view rooms and they were very clean. It was very quiet at night and we all slept well. The staff were really helpful and we enjoyed our stay there.

I noticed in some other review a suggestion that there were fleas in the hotel. I don't believe that this is the case. I think that perhaps they were bitten by mosquitos as a number of my group were bitten by mosquitos during our stay. This may have happened while we sat in the garden on one of the evenings.

All of the group agreed that we would definately stay here if we visited Nice again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 830 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2010

This hotel was OK for 1 night. We stopped in Nice for a day during a multi-week tour. The hotel was an easy walk from the station. We arrived early and had to leave our bags behind. The reception area was very nice, clean and modern. The garden was lovely. We stayed in one of the garden rooms on the ground floor.

The good:
- Nice reception/building
- Friendly staff
- Nice garden view
- Quiet room despite being on ground floor
- Coffee at reception
- Coffee and tea facilities in room
- Location
- Large room

The bad:
- Rooms are in dire need of updating, very old 80's Miami beach style decor
- Stained upholstery on chairs in room and floor
- No shower only bath in room provided
- expensive breakfast

The price was on the higher end as it was during tourist season and do not feel it was a great value for the money. I would carefully have to consider other options before deciding to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AB121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We stayed at Villa Victoria for 5 nights and couldn't have been happier. The location was along a quiet tree-lined boulevard within walking distance of the Promenade Anglais and Old Nice. You could also catch the convenient Tram to Old Nice within a few blocks of Villa Victoria. We had one of the rooms with a balcony facing the inner courtyard where you could sit in the Gazebo and enjoy complimentary espresso and pastries in the afternoon. It was quiet and peaceful after a long day of sightseeing. The room was very clean and the bathroom had a lot of counter space, especially by European standards. The staff were very friendly and accomodating in all ways. They reserved a 1/2 day tour for us to Antibes, Cannes and St. Paul Vence and we were very happy with our guide. They also recommended La Maison de Marie, which was one of our favorite restaurants for food, service and atmosphere. I would not hesitate to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We stayed for a week on this, our first visit to Nice, and were very satisfied with the hotel. We chose it for the location which suited us admirably as it was central to everywhere we wanted to go - notably, the old town. The rooms were clean, light and comfortable and the staff were unfailingly helpful and courteous. The reception staff in particular went out of their way to assist us. The fifteen euro breakfast is pricy but we enjoyed it and there are plenty of other handy breakfast locations nearby for the budget conscious. We appreciated the coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms which one expects at home but rarely finds abroad. We also greatly enjoyed being able to have a reviving cup of coffee and a roll when we arrived back in the afternoons.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theklablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Friendly, well-run hotel in a great location within walking distance of most attractions in Nice.
Pleasant, helpful staff.
Rooms were very comfortable, and a good size by French standards. We had a Garden View room, with a small balcony looking out over a wonderful, peaceful garden oasis.
A nice touch was the afternoon "tea" in the lobby, which consisted of juice, coffee and cake.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justwannatravel0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We loved this hotel, our first time to Nice. Our room was super with a view out onto the enclosed garden. Staff were friendly and willingly gave advice re public trasport, what to see and do etc. Garden is great place to relax or to enjoy complimentary afternoon coffee and croissant. Hotel was easy walking distance to Promenade de Anglais and the shopping area. Plenty of restaurants close by. Nice was one of the highlights of our trip. Be sure to climb up to the Chateau Hill - the views are awesome and to the fresh food and flower markets in the Vieille Ville

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dacabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

The hotel was actually rather nice and the breakfast was good if very over-priced. The bed was the worst one I have ever slept in - lumpy and slanted - and if you can't get a good night's sleep why would anyone want to stay there?

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JetLagged2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Hotel Suisse
#8 of 204 in Nice
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Victoria

Address: 33 boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#5 Family Hotel in Nice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#29 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £68 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Nice, near the Promenade des Anglais, the Villa Victoria is an Art Deco style period building a short walk from the pedestrian area of Old Town. Rare and valuable in a city centre, the hotel features a 600m² garden composed of regional flowers and shady trees. Guests are invited to enjoy this peaceful area for breakfast or a relaxing moment. In a warm and family atmosphere, the team of the Hotel Villa Victoria is at your disposal to provide quality services and a home worthy of its reputation. All of the guestrooms have been stylishly and tastefully renovated to provide a cosy living space. They are air-conditioned and soundproofed and equipped with modern en suite facilities and free Wi-Fi internet access. Villa Victoria is perfectly situated between the railway station and the airport (8 kilometres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing