We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing pool, disappointing room”
Review of NH Nice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Nice
Ranked #30 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We went to this hotel for 5 nights with my wife during August.

The negatives:Our room was smoking however we requested a non-smoking one and also the floor in the room was really uneven. We spoke to reception about it and they said they are aware and it will be fixed soon. We were offered a different room but all this after we unpacked so just stayed anyway. Cleaning ladies only came 3 times during 5 days as well.

The plus side: The location is good, tram stop right in front of the hotel, beach is a nice 20 min walk accross the old town and train station to Monaco, Cap Ferrat etc is also just about 10 mins walk away. Breakfast was brilliant, not a great hot choice but the pastries, bread, fruit were fresh and amazing, good choice of cheese, nice coffee, etc. All staff were really polite, helpful, smiling and just positive in general so it made up for the quality if the room. The best thing was the roof terrace with the bar and pool. Amazing view, great service at the bar. Lunch offer fantastic value (main course, drink + coffee for 13 euros!) and always delicious.

Despite the negatives I would go back to this hotel mainly because of its roof terrace and staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank L452L0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

413 - 419 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

this place looks nice but they have discos on the roof till 12 and later both nights i was there and i was on second floor and there is 6 floors then the roof so loud
not good for a 200 plus pound a night hotel and brekfast is rubbish

when i complaned to staff they did noting about it did not care at all and said we dont have a complant department

and the floor in the room was all lifting up not good

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brad s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Lovely place, very clean, great service , pool on roof with views , shops walking distance from Hotel, plenty of restaurants close by, staff where very helpful, Laundromat only a street away if washing required, had no issues ,very central to all, location I thought was great
To be put onto Accommodation list.. also Free Wi fi..

Room Tip: Pool clean, great place to relax if not for shopping..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrieth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Just returned from an enjoyable 4 night stay. Room was clean, had nice decor and fresh towels daily.
Reception staff were helpful and friendly, we arrived just before 10:30am but there were no rooms to check in to until 3pm, so we used the time to rest up on the roof terrace and poolside. Only 20 sunbeds for the entire hotel, so we were forced to lay on the concrete floor with our towels until some become available. Pool is small but adequate for the amount of time you would actually spend there.

Location of the hotel is a little out of the centre but a Tram stop is right across the road which runs every few minutes towards the centre, then a short walk through the bustling side streets to get to Promenade de Anglais. Hard to choose from the thousands of little restaurants!

Train station is around a 10 minute walk in the opposite direction, for links to Monaco or Cannes. After waiting over 30 mins for our train, it pulled up full to the brim. Everyone on the platform seemed to aggresively push and shove their way onto the train apart from us, being pregnant I didn't want to take the risk! So we had to wait another 30 mins for the next.

Instead of paying the 40euro (approx) for taxi from the airport to the hotel, it is easy enough to get the number 98 bus from the airport. Get off at the stop after it turns off Promanade de Anglais then pick up the tram. (Takes around 30 mins) Tram stop outside the hotel is "Palais de expositions" This costs 6 euro each and the ticket is for both the bus and tram.

The beach all along the Promanade is all pebbles (which is surprisingly painful to walk on), not the sandy beaches I was expecting. If you want very comfortable sun beds with thick pads, parasols, good music/atmosphere and waiter service from the bar/restaurant. I cannot recommend the private beach called "Hibeach" enough. You normally have to pay 20euro per bed for the day but it was a national holiday so it was free the day we used it.

Would return to NHNice if we visited Nice again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VonJ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Location was good for the Tram, only. I would have not payed full price for this hotel. Booked on priceline and received a good room on the 4th floor. Everything seem new. Like others have said, if you walk to the beach or Old town, be prepared to see homeless people/family on the streets.

My major complaint for this hotel was the parking. We had a rental car the first day and needed parking. The counter person asked if I needed parking, and I said yes. She failed to indicate that by saying yes, it meant parking for the entire time. She should've asked if we need parking the whole time if there policy is to charge for all of the days--ahead of time. We were given a parking ticket to allow us to go in and out. I swiped it once in and once out. When we checked out, we were told we needed to pay for all three days of parking (20 euros each day), even though we did not use the parking the remaining days--and our ticket clearly showed us entering and exiting only once.

Perhaps this is something only in Europe, but US visitors be advise just in case you only need parking for one day. Also, unless you are storing the car and not moving it--it's cheaper to park as a regular visitor rather than a hotel guest. The 20 euro is for the full day rate. Since we were using the car for most of the day, it would have been cheaper to pay the hourly rate.

Room Tip: Air Conditioning worked well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Checking in was smooth sailing, and I was presented with a nice, clean room.I promptly went upstairs to the roof top terrace to get a glimpse and the views are just gorgeous up there.

It's so relaxing up on the roof top lounging by the pool and enjoying the lovely views of the city. I had dinner at the restaurant on the rooftop, and the food was delicious, and the service was top notch as well.

I was able to sleep very well in the bed. My bed was made, and my room organized (including my own stuff that I had thrown all over the bed) the next day while I was out. I was just extremely pleased with the service.

There is a tram stop right in front of the hotel, which is extremely convenient. If you are arriving in Nice by train, there is a tram stop at the train station that takes you right to this hotel.

Some may complain about the location being too far from the beach and furthermore, the promenade. But the hotel is really only about 1.5km from the beach, very walkable. And once there, you can just walk along towards the promenade while relaxing and enjoying the views anyways.

You'll also want to be sure to walk through the little streets as you're approaching the beach. So many lovely little shops and marketplaces. I literally stopped at every ice cream and gelato place for a scoop the one morning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

It's a short tram ride or an interesting walk to old town so we felt we saw a lot of the city.
The hotel is clean and well-run with a gorgeous rooftop pool and bar. Only downside - sun lounger hoggers!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelicJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame
Thiers / Train Station
Nice Excelsior Hotel
Nice Excelsior Hotel
#10 of 203 in Nice
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Nice

Address: 2-4 Parvis de l'Europe, 06300 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Cimiez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nice
#10 Green Hotel in Nice
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £65 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Nice hotel offers an exceptionally practical and accessible location, providing guests with the perfect starting point to take advantage of the rich historical heritage of Nice and the French Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Booking.com, Splitty, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your NH Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Nice Hotel Nice
Nh Hotels Nice
Nh Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing