We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Ranked #44 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect, situated on the Promenade de Anglais where you can look out over the beautiful sea and watch the beautiful people walk by! We chose a superior queen room with sea view and the room was lovely, the view is spectacular. The room was decorated in a modern style, has a good size bathroom with shower and nice toiletries. The room had tea/coffee and espresso machine. We had free water on arrival plus 2 free glasses of champagne at the casino bar (casino is on ground floor), also 2 free day passes for the local bus service which was really useful. The staff at the hotel are very helpful and polite. The continental breakfast buffet was great, plenty of choice and nice and fresh.

On the downside, although the balcony was the full length of the room it was not wide enough for a chair which was a shame. Because the hotel is on the busy promenade it was a little noisy at times with cars passing by, however this could not be avoided with a hotel on the prom.

Overall a great hotel and recommended.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank carol_thrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

We would like to thank you for your comments about our hotel and staff.

In our Mercure Hotel, all our staff is trying our best to offer a great service to our clients; therefore your feedback is very important for our team who works hard for giving you an impeccable service. We will always take clients’ demand into serious consideration and try to keep improving our service quality.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be our pleasure to give you warm reception again.

Faithfully yours,

Bruno FELIX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

528 - 534 of 2,044 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in April. The hotel has no frills, in that there doesn't appear to be a bar or real restaurant (they serve breakfast, but I think that's it). But if, like us, you want a hotel that is excellently situated, spotlessly clean, has a comfy bed, decent bathroom and very helpful staff, you really can't go wrong with this hotel!
It is near the old part of Nice, which is the best place to be.
It is right by the Promenade des Anglais, with ample cafés and restaurants nearby (try turning right out of the hotel, instead of left {left takes you to the promenade} for plenty of choice of places to eat and drink). Hotel charges approx €19 per person for breakfast. We didn't bother because for €5 you can eat a great breakfast outside a cafe watching the world go by.
We took a taxi from the airport. The taxi rank is directly outside Arrivals. Approx €35 each way, but definitely worth it.
The train from Nice to Monaco was so easy and Monaco/Monte Carlo is not to be missed while you are in the area. Drinks at the Cafe de Paris, outside the Grand Casino in Monte Carlo.... Wow!!
Other stuff worth doing in Nice: the flower market and the park are lovely and worth half a day to walk round.
All in all, I would have given Mercure 5 stars if they'd have had a bar for a drink after a long day.... This is the only thing I can suggest. It was very clean, comfy and both well placed and well priced for a short break in Nice

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTwoDs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

We would like to thank you for your kind comment about our hotel and service on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your recommendation which helps us to build a better e-reputation among hotels in Nice. We are very grateful for having this chance to receive you.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be an honour for us to give you warm reception.

Faithfully yours,

Bruno FELIX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is definitely the best location for a hotel on the Promenade des Anglais. Not cheap but the Privilege rooms overlooking the sea are modern and have everything you need. Don't however book the breakfast! Overpriced and very basic offering the same choice every day. Dirty cups and crumbs from tables just swept onto the floor. Not what you would expect from a hotel of this standard. Plenty of breakfasts available in nearby cafés for half the price. No lounge or bar available in the hotel. We would however definitely use this hotel again as it is close to the old town, markets, bars restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Ask for a Priviledge room as these overlook the sea. Other rooms are quite dark ( but cheaper ).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking your time to post your comments about our hotel and share your experience on Trip advisor.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be our pleasure to give you warm reception again.

Faithfully yours,

Bruno FELIX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Our stay at this hotel was simply ok. The best way to explain it was just 'bog standard'. The location was great, and for a reasonable priced hotel in Nice it was fine, but there was nothing special. The room felt very clinical and had quite a cold appearance. However we spent little time in the room and therefore as a base and for a comfortable and quiet night sleep it was fine.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking your time to post your comments about our hotel and share your experience on Trip advisor.
In our Mercure Hotel, all our staff is trying our best to offer a great service to our clients; therefore your feedback is very important for our team who works hard for giving you an impeccable service. We will always take clients’ demand into serious consideration and try to keep improving our service quality.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be our pleasure to give you warm reception again.

Best regards,
Bruno FELIX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank MaciejTadeusz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Just go back from 3 night at Mercury, We received a room facing the patio on th second floor . The window was at the ground level of the patio and the room abet old. No balcony ,So we upgrade to room. The hotel has two floors, the second and third. We receive a room facing the garden at the third floor . The room was nice and big, Beyond that terrible bed!! Old mattress and feel the springs. Large balcony. But divided into two parts with an interior window prevent noise can not sit only to stand. Room key did not open, several times had to go down again to get a new key. There is no doubt that the money is not worth the price we paid.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank SassiIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion T, Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you for posting you review on Trip Advisor.

Your feedback will be taken in consideration in order to help us to improve our services to serve you better in the future.

Best regards,

Cindy Andujar
Marketing and Quality Intern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located on the promenade. No lobby at all. Very complicated to find your direction from alivator to your room. Small room, old, very uncomfortable mattress, not enough water power in shower. Bad bad value for money. Choose better .

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank TripblogerErez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion T, Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2015

Dear guest,

Thank for taking your time to share your experience with us.

I would like to inform you our hotel is going to be under renovation next winter. The front office area as well as the breakfast will therefore be refreshed as from January 2016.

We upon to welcome you again to experience our new facilities.

Best regards,

Cindy Andujar
Marketing and Quality Intern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice
0.3 mi away
La Villa Nice Victor Hugo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Nice Marche aux Fleurs
0.7 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#9 of 203 in Nice
1,281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel West End
Hotel West End
#33 of 203 in Nice
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais

Address: 2 rue Halevy, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#11 Green Hotel in Nice
#25 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#29 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £83 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the sea, at n°1 on the Promenade des Anglais,the hotel is located above the famous Ruhl Casino. In thevery heart of the city, you will enjoy Massena pedestriandistrict as well as the typical Old Nice. As far as practicalmatters are concerned, a car park with direct access islocated below the hotel (fee-paying service). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Nice Promenade Des Anglais Hotel Nice
Mercure Nice Promenade Hotel Des Anglais
Accor Nice Promenade Des Anglais
Mercure Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing