We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel, newly refurbished and very convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Ranked #41 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here on two occasions during our week in the South of France.
On the first night we had a standard room on floor 2 (there are 3 floors), which overlooked the side road and had a view of the sea to the left. The whole floor was newly refurbished and was very nice. Decorated and furnished much like the UK Premier Inn's it had kettle/coffee making facilities, a large comfortable kingsize bed and other usual furnishings.
There were actually two installations of large patio windows which provided a very functional double glazing and sound proofing facility. These gave access to a very small (juliet style) balcony to let in some fresh air.
The air con worked well.
At night the room was very quiet, which surprised us as the hotel is on the main promenade with lots of passing pedestrians and traffic.
The second visit we paid extra (almost double) for a deluxe sea view room on the front of the hotel overlooking the promenade and beach.
This room had some extras, bathrobe and slippers, tassimo cofee maker etc. It was generally much the same as the first room in terms of decoration, the room was clean and well decorated. The ample bathroom had new fittings and was very clean and pleasant, plus a good range of toiletries. It again had twin patio doors giving very good sound insulation from the road traffic.
Both rooms had reasonable signal for the free wifi facility, but probably not fast enough for video calls.
Plenty of guests staying there and no corridor noise or door slamming, which we hate.

The reception staff were delightful, spoke excellent English and met all our requests with courteous enthusiasm. We left our cases here until it was time to depart for our next location.
If you are flying in to Nice Airport you can get the 98 bus from terminal 1 or 2, which takes only 15 minutes, is 6 euros per person and it stops right outside the hotel (the Grimaldi stop on the promenade). A taxi will cost 25 euros.

The hotel is well situated directly on the Promenade des Anglais and so its 2 minutes to the beach front. It is also an easy 10 minute stroll to the Castle, Cours Salaya (flower market) and miriad Restaurants in the town.
There is a bar/restaurant on the opposite corner where you can get breakfast for 11 euros, a little cheaper than the breakfast in the hotel and you can enjoy it in the sunshine.
All in all well recommended.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are in general better (floors 2 or 3). There are some rooms that face the inside we un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmwman995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

We would like to thank you for your kind comment about our hotel and staff on Trip Advisor and we are very grateful for have received you.
We appreciate your recommendation which helps us to build a better e-reputation for our hotel.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be an honour for us to give you warm reception again.

Warm regards,

The manager
Bruno FELIX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 1,989 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you want to be where all the action is this hotel is perfect.Step out the door and you are on the promenade within easy walking distance of the Old Town.If you are happy to walk for 20 mins you can easily reach the Old Port.
We had a room that looked out onto an internal patio area .Whilst this did not give a sea view it was extremely quiet with undisturbed sleep and we would recommend this type of room.The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable.Bathroom was also very well equipped although not everybody may appreciate the lime green colour of the walls.
Reception staff were really helpful and we would really recommend this hotel.Breakfast is not cheap at approx. 19 Euro , but is worth having if you can get it as part of your room rate

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikelizEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We would like to thank you for your comments about our hotel and staff.

In our Mercure Hotel, all our staff is trying our best to offer a great service to our clients; therefore your feedback is very important for our team who works hard for giving you an impeccable service. We will always take clients’ demand into serious consideration and try to keep improving our service quality.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be our pleasure to give you warm reception again.

Faithfully yours,

Bruno FELIX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We read the reviews and decided this would be a good choice of hotel for me wife to use for an extended visit to Nice. Well we chose a room overlooking nearby gardens and a side view of the sea front. The room itself was spacious and well appointed. We had a balcony but you were not able to sit on it as it was fairly narrow. Some rooms had a bath but ours was shower only. Overall i thought the standard of the room was very good.

The staff are friendly and very helpful. English was no problem for the reception and breakfast staff and BBC1 and Chanel 5 on TV were plus points. The breakfast was very good and in particular the sausages and egg were very good. Not quite so keen on the bacon but the cold meats and cheeses more than made up.

Location is excellent and very easy to get to from the Airport - the Airport Bus is a little expensive at €6.00 but stops very near the Hotel. Returning to Nice Airport the bus stop is right outside.

I doubt if the Mercure claims to be the best Hotel in Nice but I would be very interested to see what beats it. There is no restaurant but the area is full of all kinds of eating places - so should not be seen as the negative. I would add that the mini bar worked very well and the local SPAR a short walk up the road is well wort a visit.

Overall a good choice of Hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: If you want a sea front view then you must book a Privilege Room. However the room layout including...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shark127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We would like to thank you for your kind comment about our hotel and service on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your recommendation which helps us to build a better e-reputation among hotels in Nice. We are very grateful for having this chance to receive you.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be an honour for us to give you warm reception.

Faithfully yours,

Bruno FELIX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent location across the beach. Our room is clean, quiet and has complete bathroom amenities. Comfy bed, fresh sheets. Fast wifi. Airport bus is just around the corner. Shopping and dining once you step out of the front door. We have no complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for taking your time to post your comments about our hotel and share your experience on Trip advisor.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be our pleasure to give you warm reception again.

Faithfully yours,

Bruno FELIX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Located overlooking the beach and promenade in Nice, The Mercure des Anglais has has it all, from location, Price, to exceptionally helpful English speakers at the front desk at all hours, a breakfast buffet that was sumptuous and way beyond expectations staffed by conscientious waiters that kept chafing dishes and platters full and tables clean as a whistle, and finally,walking proximity to downtown shopping and
restaurants. We had south-facing ocean view room 322 (4th floor in American terms) with a whole wall of glass and a little balcony overlooking the street, promenade and unobstructed view of the Mediterranean! No worries about street noises, since there were two walls of glass (one with slider and one with a
door) to provide insulation.
Sleek, modern and immaculate room with fridge, safe and plenty of hangers, and shelving for our stuff as we were traveling for two
weeks. The "rain" shower was adjustable, and the toilet had its own room. The bed faced the Mediterranean and linens were luxe. The (approx 4ft.tall) headboard also served as a room divider, with additional hanging lamps and spot readers; we used the surface(about 18") to
organize daily. Internet connections excellent any time of day.

The lobby is sleek but small. Elevators (2) and
clean, well kept interior stairs gave easy access to
floors, one of which was the dining room. Friendly business patrons from France, Germany and Italy were frequently in the lobby, as well as travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OneLifeToLive100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for taking your time to post your comments about our hotel and share your experience on Trip advisor.
In our Mercure Hotel, all our staff is trying our best to offer a great service to our clients; therefore your feedback is very important for our team who works hard for giving you an impeccable service. We will always take clients’ demand into serious consideration and try to keep improving our service quality.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be our pleasure to give you warm reception again.

Best regards,
Bruno FELIX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here mid April 2014 and loved it.
Excellent position on the Promenade Des Anglais with bus stop right outside.
10 / 15 minutes walk to the old town and same for train station.
Beach straight across the road.
The rooms are very clean and the bed very comfortable. Tea, coffee facilities included.
Reception staff were helpful and the chap on duty whilst we stayed had a very good sense of humour, really welcoming.
Have to say that from the outside it doesn't look much don't be deterred.
Only had breakfasts at the Hotel itself, they were very good with wide choice and unlimited.
Perfect location.

Nearby:

There are so many places to eat right alonside that you will be spoilt for choice.We found Le Lodge to be very good and visited many times trying different meals and not disappointed once.
We were warned before hand that the Cote d'Azur was expensive so were prepared for that but at least what you did get for your money was quality.
A breakfast averaged at 15 Euros [Coffee Croissant bread and Jam].
Beach lounger 15 Euros for the day.
Visit the market and old town, have a coffee and watch life go by.
20/30 minute train rides to Cannes and Monaco are a must.
We loved it.

Room Tip: Front sea view rooms are well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alansparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We would like to thank you for your comments about our hotel and staff.

In our Mercure Hotel, all our staff is trying our best to offer a great service to our clients; therefore your feedback is very important for our team who works hard for giving you an impeccable service. We will always take clients’ demand into serious consideration and try to keep improving our service quality.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be our pleasure to give you warm reception again.

Faithfully yours,

Bruno FELIX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here during Carnival du Nice in Feb, for the Rock n Roll 10 mile race. It was a great location for the parades and race festivities. No frills but It was a good location for Nice in general and staff were very nice. This hotel was older but upgraded, well kept, clean and had everything you could need. Great for business or leisure and withing walking distance to everything!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EarthOcean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We would like to thank you for your kind comment about our hotel and service on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your recommendation which helps us to build a better e-reputation among hotels in Nice. We are very grateful for having this chance to receive you.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be an honour for us to give you warm reception.

Faithfully yours,

Bruno FELIX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice
0.3 mi away
Mercure Nice Marche aux Fleurs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Villa Nice Victor Hugo
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Nice
Le Meridien Nice
#81 of 204 in Nice
2,144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel West End
Hotel West End
#39 of 204 in Nice
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais

Address: 2 rue Halevy, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#11 Green Hotel in Nice
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#29 Family Hotel in Nice
#29 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £83 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the sea, at n°1 on the Promenade des Anglais,the hotel is located above the famous Ruhl Casino. In thevery heart of the city, you will enjoy Massena pedestriandistrict as well as the typical Old Nice. As far as practicalmatters are concerned, a car park with direct access islocated below the hotel (fee-paying service). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Nice Promenade Des Anglais Hotel Nice
Mercure Nice Promenade Hotel Des Anglais
Accor Nice Promenade Des Anglais
Mercure Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing