We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Ranked #38 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location and good hotel”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Arrived before check in time with the intention of just dropping our bags but room was ready. The hotel seems to share a block with Le Meridien. Bus stop is very close to the hotel from the airport (6 euro), and just on the corner for the return. Great room located on 2nd floor - double aspect with sea view plus park view. Modern minimalist decor (which we like) and spotlessly clean. Serviced well each day to maintain standard. As there is a casino below the hotel, and the room faced onto Avenue des Anglais we were initially concerned it may be noisy - but the room was whisper quiet due to the triple glazing (with only the occasional motor bike audible). Excellent deep air conditioning. Very pleasant helpful reception staff - with just one exception! Good continental breakfast, but gets busy around 9am. Worth catching the bus to Ville Franche for a day trip, just a 15 minute bus ride. Only downside to hotel is no bar - but there is one just across the street. Enjoyed a restaurant called L'Ecurie that seemed more authentic than many in the old town - excellent food. I would stay at this hotel on my next trip to Nice.

Room Tip: pay extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DIYMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for your kind comment about our hotel and staff on Trip Advisor and we are very grateful for have received you.
We appreciate your recommendation which helps us to build a better e-reputation for our hotel.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be an honour for us to give you warm reception again.

Warm regards,

The manager
Bruno FELIX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    925
    313
    94
    44
See reviews for
245
1,118
121
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was a very basic room, had the major necessities but lacked charm. The bed was very stiff and not very comfortable. The location of the hotel was awesome, right across the street from the beach, ten(ish) minutes taxi drive from the airport, and only a ten minute walk to Nice Ville (the train station).

I did appreciate that room had a double glass sliding door to seal out the noise, which it did very well. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: If there is option to book a sea view room, do it. I wish we had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CS_Stach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for your kind comment about our hotel and staff on Trip Advisor and we are very grateful for have received you.
We appreciate your recommendation which helps us to build a better e-reputation for our hotel.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be an honour for us to give you warm reception again.

Warm regards,

The manager
Bruno FELIX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband, brother, sister--in-law and I visited the Mercure Promenade des Anglais 24/6 for 3 nights and we had a wonderful time. The hotel is in a perfect location- 2 minutes from the Promenade des Anglais and a short walk from the 'Old Town'. The staff in reception were most welcoming and even booked restaurants for us,,,,,staff in the breakfast room were also very professional and friendly. Although we always try to speak a little French when in France- the staff here spoke perfect English and would put us all to shame in our attempts to speak French!!! I would highly recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you for taking your time to post your comments about our hotel and share your experience on Trip advisor.

I hope your husband is good now, we welcome you to come back visiting Nice once again, it would be our pleasure to give you warm reception again.

Faithfully yours,

The manager
Bruno FELIX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I travelled to Nice at the begining of May 14 we booked 6 nights at the hotel. Its such an excellent location, opposite the beach and easy walking distance to everything, the staff are excellent. Our room wasn't huge but it had everything you would need for a short stay. On our 2nd day there my husband suffered a heart attack and was admitted to hospital for 15 nights and during this time I was able to continue staying at the hotel. I have to say the staff totally supported me through the ordeal and helped me whenever possible from simple things like where to catch the tram to making calls to the hospital on my behalf. Lets be honest no one goes on holiday expecting awful things to happen but I'm just glad I chose to stay in a hotel where nothing was too much trouble. So I would highly recommend this hotel - thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndreaK2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for your kind comment about our hotel and staff on Trip Advisor and we are very grateful for have received you.
We appreciate your recommendation which helps us to build a better e-reputation for our hotel.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be an honour for us to give you warm reception again.

Warm regards,

The manager
Bruno FELIX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

awsome location, nice and welcoming staff, renovated and fresh rooms, very neat and clean. comfortable beds. perfect sleep quality. yummy breakfast with a great sea view. i would go back there myself and would totally recommend this hotel to everyone!

Room Tip: if you want a nice quiet room, take the ones on 3d floor towards the inner yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi_sthlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you for taking your time to post your comments about our hotel and share your experience on Trip advisor.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be our pleasure to give you warm reception again.

Faithfully yours,

The manager
Bruno FELIX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here two nights after the Cannes lions before heading home. Booked online and was shown pictures of a superior queen room. When I arrived I was given a tiny tiny interior room overlooking gravel with an overwhelmingly strong smell of mildew or must, covered with a hefty spray of perfume. I immediately called front desk to change rooms and was given the room I was originally shown in the online booking photos, overlooking the street with a balcony and sitting area.
Service was impatient and rushed. One agent- Delilah? delliot? - had a particularly harsh habit of slamming phones and looking annoyed when people asked questions. Really, I'm watching her tell an old man he's too tired to operate an adapter as I type. Poor old man.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderLush_337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking your time to post your comments about our hotel and share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are sorry you have been disappointed with your arrangement.
Therefore your feedback is very important for our team. We always take clients’ demand into serious consideration and try to keep improving our service quality.



Best regards,
The manager
Bruno FELIX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratton
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My wife and I only spent one night here, but if ever we come back to Nice would consider staying longer as we really liked the location, the staff were really friendly and helpful (they all spoke excellent English). We arrived there to find that not only was there a taxi strike but also a national rail strike. This affected our plans to go by train to Cagnes Sur Mere, where an old school friend was picking us up and taking us to his house in Vence. The staff couldn't have been more helpful in showing us where to catch the bus to Vence where we would meet our friend and his wife.

But back to the hotel: the room was spacious with a 6ft bed and the bathroom had a large walk-in shower and was described as "Garden View" - a slight misnomer as it overlooked a triangle of public "garden" but one could see the sea and watch people walk along the Promenade des Anglais. I would recommend this as, if one had a sea view, one might get disturbed by the noise from the Casino sandwiched between the Mercure and Le Meridien. Rue Halevy has a number of good eateries - we had an excellent lunch of grilled sardines in one less than 100m from the hotel and a late supper in the café right opposite.

All in all, a good value, comfortable hotel which has the advantage of being on the Promenade and near the old town/ port. Recommended.

Room Tip: As I said, try for a Garden View room on the third floor rather than Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear client,

Thank you for taking your time to post your comments about our hotel and share your experience on Trip advisor.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be our pleasure to give you warm reception again.

Faithfully yours,

The manager
Bruno FELIX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Nice
Le Meridien Nice
#79 of 204 in Nice
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Villa Nice Victor Hugo
0.3 mi away
Mercure Nice Marche aux Fleurs
0.3 mi away
Hotel West End
Hotel West End
#45 of 204 in Nice
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais

Property: Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Address: 2 rue Halevy, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#11 Green Hotel in Nice
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#29 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#29 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the sea, at n°1 on the Promenade des Anglais,the hotel is located above the famous Ruhl Casino. In thevery heart of the city, you will enjoy Massena pedestriandistrict as well as the typical Old Nice. As far as practicalmatters are concerned, a car park with direct access islocated below the hotel (fee-paying service). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Nice Promenade Des Anglais Hotel Nice
Mercure Nice Promenade Hotel Des Anglais
Accor Nice Promenade Des Anglais
Mercure Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing