We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel NOT 4*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame
Ranked #34 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel NOT 4*”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Nice average hotel to far from the promenade is in the train station area what is not great.very safe a lot of police present.. I believe all the rooms have a garden view what is lovely . rooms very small,.bus 99. from the airport o. 98. To the train station five minute waking to hotel. Breasfast good fruit cool meat,yogurts, patisserie really delicious,it was good. Staff no very enthusiastic for a 4*hotel. We pay 400 euros for 3 nights NOT good value for money.

Room Tip: Our room was garden view not balcony all the furniture in from of the window ,we have to move the ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viajera60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadette D, Hotel Manager at Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.

Yours sincerely,

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    451
    220
    81
    30
See reviews for
158
432
89
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

First impression was a very nice lobby! We arrived quite early in the morning and were pleasantly surprised that we were given a room before 10:00 a.m. Staff at reception were very pleasant and accommodating. I believe we had a standard room including breakfast. The room was clean and bright - double bed, large flat screen TV, good internet connection. Would have been nice to have another chair in the room. The bathroom had a window that opened, was a good size and fairly up to date although the bathroom itself had only a bidet. The toilet was separate in a small "room" on the other side of the bedroom. We had a room obviously at the back with no view other than walls of other buildings but it was nice and quiet. Could actually hear the birds! The buffet breakfast was in a bright, modern setting and had an excellent and very fresh selection. Pleasantly surprised after coming off a cruise! We thought the location was good for what we were doing. Very central for walking or transportation. Reception staff were helpful with directions. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadette D, Hotel Manager at Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
146 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Chose this hotel for its great location in the centre of the town. It is near the cathedral, Place Massena, shops and many dining places. The room has an average size and doesn't look at all like a four star hotel but it's clean and comfortable so it's ok. Breakfast is the same everyday. The reception is good though. They are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geminitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadette D, Directrice at Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Google Translation
Chèr Client,

Nous vous remercions d’avoir pris le temps de nous faire part de votre avis concernant votre séjour dans notre hôtel.

Mon équipe et moi-même sommes très sensibles à vos remarques et vos appréciations, elles nous encouragent à maintenir nos efforts afin que la prestation que nous vous apportons réponde au mieux à vos attentes.

Dans l’attente de vous accueillir prochainement dans l’un des hôtels du réseau Mercure, nous vous prions de croire, Chèr client, en l’expression de nos sentiments les meilleurs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londres, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Having travelled for over 10 hours last Friday, we arrived at the hotel and were told that we had been ''transferred'' to another Mercure. NO APOLOGY was given. No explanation. Being too exhausted to argue, and convinced that they would do compensate us for the last-minute change, we assumed that there was another Mercure on the promenade.

The staff at Promenade des Anglais lied that we should have been aware of the change in plans as they sent us an email. (No such email was ever sent)

We apparently had been transferred to the worst Mercure in Nice - Notre Dame. The staff at the new hotel insisted that we take a room of EUR200 (the cost of the initial room), not for a double, but a single room. They said that this was what the 'email from the manager' said. However, this manager was not available to take any questions. When we checked, this was more expensive than even double rooms in Notre Dame.

From the lobby, it was obvious that the second hotel was worse in quality. We were put on the 7th floor (apparently the best rooms in the hotel) but ours was awful! Pokey tiny. The 'queen size' bed was tiny, light didn't work and the WC was leaking onto the floor. When we complained, we were told that the maintenance man had gone home. The church bells rang every hour straight into our room and the room service did not pick up the phone when called. As compensation, two free drinks were offered at the bar. (We returned the insulting token)

To crown it all, we noticed that instead of refunding our money, it was deducted again and again- three deductions for one night of discomfort and noise.

Again, the phantom manager had 'just gone out'.

The Mercure brand has left a bitter taste in our mouths. We will NEVER go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank N W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadette D, Hotel Manager at Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guests,

You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.

We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
658 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Booked on a "Private Sale" deal - good value. All staff we dealt with were helpful. Great location for a short stay. We were in a garden room - very quiet. Usual conveniences - small fridge, safe, large flat screen TV (only News channels in English). Didn't eat in, so unable to comment on catering - far too many places in the City to choose from so we experienced as many as possible. Try the Rue Massena for plenty of variety.
Did a day trip to Monte Carlo/Monaco - 3 euro return on the 100 service bus (Ligne Azur) from the Promenade Des Arts. The preparations for the Grand Prix were afoot - lots of scaffolding so not at it's best. Also a day in Cannes by train - about 14 euro return. Made a stop returning at Juan le Pins - no extra cost - much better service than in UK.

Room Tip: Garden room was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadette D, Hotel Manager at Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here while watching an event in Monaco, so didn't spend much actual day time in the hotel.

BUT, we did eat out from there on two evenings. This hotel is very well located, right off a main wide shopping street - Avenue Jean Medecin. It was a 10 minute walk down to a nice selection of restaurants on the Rue Massena - we had three very well recommended by the hotel and ate at two of them.

The hotel is right next door to an underground car park - so ideal for us in parking our hire car. Good rates, provided by the hotel too.

Rooms were fine, large and well appointed.

Good little bar downstairs.

Good breakfast.

All in all ideal for what we wanted - i.e two nights city centre accommodation.

Room Tip: We had a room on the street - which was a bit noisy - so I'd probably ask for one on the gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watermaster952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadette D, Directrice at Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Google Translation
Chèrs clients,

Nous vous remercions d’avoir pris le temps de nous faire part de votre avis concernant votre séjour dans notre hôtel.

Dans l’attente de vous accueillir prochainement dans l’un des hôtels du réseau Mercure, nous vous prions de croire, Chèrs clients, en l’expression de nos sentiments les meilleurs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed her for 1 night on a romantic break and was pleasantly surprised!

Great location, right in the centre of town, overlooking the Notre-dame & 10 minutes walk from beach.

Got upgraded on arrival to a terrace suite which I would highly recommend!! (The other standard rooms aren't so lavish...)

Great city hotel, would recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadette D, Assistante de Direction at Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Client,
we thank you for your nice comments about our terrace room.
We transmit your remarks to our staff and look forward to receiving you on another occasion in our hotel,
Best regards,
Eva Emmanuelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Cimiez
NH Nice
NH Nice
#27 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Musiciens
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#54 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Novotel Nice Centre
#57 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#22 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame

Property: Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame
Address: 28 avenue Notre Dame, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame is a recently refurbished 4 star hotel located opposite Notre Dame church, close to the Promenade des Anglais and the old city. On the tram line, the hotel is 300 m from the station and 7 km from the airport. The hoteloffers 200 rooms with 2,000 sqm of inner gardens. Enjoy our solarium, beauty centre, swimming pool and rooftop bar with panoramic views over the city. Public undercover pay car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame Hotel Nice
Accor Nice Centre Notre Dame

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing