We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A destination for a return trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture
Ranked #19 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Very pleased with the hotel. Lovely, friendly staff. Delicious, generous breakfast and comfortable and clean room. A great location to explore Nice and the surrounding areas.

I am planning a return to Nice and will be staying at Le Grimaldi.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannemary7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,067)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

Previous reviews have it spot on; clean, well located, not bad value for Nice. The breakfast is expensive at 15 euros, you can have the same in any of the cafes nearby for about 5 euros. Also if you ask them to book a taxi anywhere - get a quote - we got charged 29 euros for a short trip to pick up a car hire - not the fault of the hotel. And if you are taking the train to Monaco, take plenty of change as the machines at the train station do not accept notes or Visa.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simla10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Far enough from the beach to be quieter at the end of the day, but out the door and turn left, walk a few blocks past fruit stands, restaurants, shops and there is the beach. The room was lovely, clean and a nice size for 2 ladies with lots of stuff. The bath was spotless and had lots of shelves and drawers. You could open the shutters and almost touch the quaint old church across the street. Everyone at the front desk was always friendly and helpful, where is a good restaurant ?(la Maison de Marie) where is a safe tatoo shop? The breakfasts were always lovely with plenty of choices. We booked on Fast Booking.com and it included breakfast and a beach package which included a lounger, towel, umbrella and table and a lovely lunch. We stayed 5 nights and would come back and recommend the hotel to others

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MINORGIRLS5JEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

This is a great little hotel situated in the heart of Nice.
We received a very friendly welcome, our bags were taken up to our room and then they presented us with a lovely bottle of Rose to welcome us to Nice. Not bad!! The guys at reception were excellent; they booked restaurants, organised car hire, sorted taxis, recommended beaches and made our stay very relaxing. 10/10 guys.
We had a nice room overlooking the street which was remarkably quiet. AC was great and the fridge came into its own for keeping the wine cool.
Breakfast was excellent with a great spread.
Would I go back? Yes.

Room Tip: on the street rather than overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HoraceChestwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We had a wonderful time at Le Grimaldi, with friendly and very helpful staff. The location of the Hotel is excellent with just a 10minute walk to the beach and 15minutes to the Old Town. The rooms were excellent ( we were in a party of 10), with the air con and fridge a blessing!
Thoroughly recommend Le Grimaldi!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scottyb85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

My partner and I stayed 2 nights at this lovely hotel. We only have positive comments about this place. The room was very clean, with a typical french design. We had the standard room (115 euros per night), which was small but it was fine for us. I particularly liked the Occitane en Provence bath products provided. The air conditionned worked perfectly as well at the free high speed wi-fi internet. The location was also very good, at 10-15 minutes walk to the beach & the center and 15 minutes walk to the train station. The service at the reception was also excellent. We did not take the breakfast in the morning as it was a little bit expensive and we prefered eating out on a terrase in the restaurants nearby. I should also mention that there is no free parking available. I would strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I found this hotel using trip advisor as it was the best in our price range for Nice (which is generally quite pricey).
We came for our honeymoon and stay 4 nights in the Junior Suite (1 of 2) the suite wasn't huge but more than enough for 2 people. It has a seperate bathtub and a shore/toilet (although we had a lot of trouble both fitting in the tub), there is a sweet terrace (not the best view) but the room on the whole was very traditional and not like the usual stale rooms in the big chains!

We booked our transfers through the hotel as well and had no problems at all- although we did change the time of our return taxi and they hadn't booked it, but it was all sorted and we didn't have to worry.

The breakfast was small, but it is just continental so it's more breads, cold meats, cheese, cereals, yoghurt and the option of boiling your own egg. ALthough the other guests didn't seem to realise you had to do it yourself and I found my egg missing when I went to get it (extremely annoying). The room was always cleaned perfectly and the staff were helpful and friendly.

The location of the hotel is perfect, a couple of minutes walk from the beach and also about 10 minutes walk to old town (which is definitely where you want to be).

Overall a great honeymoon- thank you Le Grimaldi!

Room Tip: Definitely worth upgrading your room as it's still cheaper than most standard rooms in other hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayLoverLuong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Thiers / Train Station
Nice Excelsior Hotel
Nice Excelsior Hotel
#13 of 204 in Nice
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture

Address: 15 rue Grimaldi, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre , Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#45 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £62 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the famous Promenade des Anglais and the beach of Nice in the heart of downtown, Le Grimaldi is ideally located for your stay in Nice. The hotel is the perfect illustration of our taste for the Provence and the Azur Coast. You will find a colourful, a warm atmosphere and allude to with modernity the eclectism of the Riviera. From 2pm until 7pm, be our guest at our HappyTime, enjoy one ice-cream tasting with original flavours of the Provence : lavander, amond milk, calisson and so many yummy and fresh others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grimaldi Nice
Le Grimaldi Hotel Nice
Grimaldi Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing