We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quaint Little Hotel with Great Service and Ideal Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture
Ranked #18 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Le Grimaldi is a quaint little hotel located in Nice,France along the French Riviera. It is ideally located between the Old Town and the more modern areas of Nice. The service was great and every employee joyfully served us with a smile on their face! The family suite was a decent size and was kept quite clean. If I ever come back to Nice I will definitely return to Le Grimaldi Hotel!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Jnicole1428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionGrimaldi, Directeur général at Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

My Dear,
Thank you for your comment top put on Trip advisor,
c is for us a pure REGAL read,
Indeed, we consider this hotel more like a family home or we invite our Friends
we are delighted that you enjoyed all our sourrire that siont that reflects the pleasure to welcome you!
we hope to have the chance to see you again and again

friendly
Hélène ROUGEVIN-BAVILLE
Directrice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Le Grimaldi in Nice from 5/24 - 5/26/2014. We had a tough time finding a hotel during this time because the Monaco Grand Prix was being held the same weekend. Our travel agent found this lovely hotel and we were pleasantly surprised. I've read past reviews that the hotel was in need of refurbishing and perhaps some of the hall carpets could be changed or the lobby furniture could be updated but that was not the case with our room. We were on the second floor facing a lovely church. The room and bathroom were clean and ready when we arrived. There was a 15 euro/person charge for breakfast, although small, it adequately met our needs. The staff was helpful and we loved the old style elevator only big enough for 1 person and 2 suitcases. The hotel is within walking distance of the Promenade des Anglais and many restaurants. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajerzgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionGrimaldi, Directeur général at Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear "Ajerzgirl"
You apreciated Le Grimaldi!
Thank you, it is our desire to welcome you in a lively and autentique place.
Thank you to note that we did (and we always continons) to make improvements in the rooms and in public areas.
We await you during your next stay in the capital of the French Riviera.
thank you again
Hélène ROUGEVIN-BAVILLE
Directrice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Great hotel in the center of Nice. Perfectly located - close to the old town but far away enough from the tourist zone to be quiet and chilled out. The room was comfortable, clean and sweet with a great view and a small balcony where we had breakfast and looked out on the city. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMCLondres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionGrimaldi, Directeur général at Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

JMCL dear,
Thank you for taking the time to review the TripAdvisor site.
Our hotel is in the purest tradition Nice and I am delighted that the Home and decoration you have liked.
Looking forward to your review in our beautiful city of Nice.
Many thanks
Hélène ROUGEVIN-BAVILLE
Directrice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I am not sure why it has taken me so long to get around to reviewing Le Grimaldi. It was recommended by friends many years ago and we are so happy they did. We travel through Nice a few times a year and look forward to our stay at the hotel.

First of all, the staff is the best---Anne Duranton, Anais, and David are very friendly and helpful, no matter what the situation. They welcome us warmly when we arrive, and make us feel at home. English is spoken which is very helpful, as well as other languages. And they are all very gracious not to laugh at me when I try to speak French.

Other reviewers have mentioned the perfect location of the hotel, and we agree---minutes to the beach, the old town, the port, shopping, museums, and convenient to buses to other parts of the cote d'azur---and of course to a multitude of restaurants.

We always get a "Chambre Supérieure" which is roomy and comfortable. The bathrooms are nice as well, with double sinks, and separate shower and bath. We think the hotel is a good value in general, and have checked other hotels in the area to compare prices. The rooms have safes and also free wifi, and the makings for tea and coffee, plus a small fridge.

Breakfast is not included in the price, but it is good, and much better than what one would find at the cafes.. at least if one would like to boil an egg, have fresh fruit, yogurt, toast, cheese and some charcuterie.

We highly recommend Le Grimaldi.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank salnanart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionGrimaldi, Directeur général at Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest, Dear Salananart,
You say that you love the Hotel Le Grimaldi ****.
What a pleasure for us to read!
We chose to welcome you and we wanted to do well.
It's done!
Thank you for your kindness. We are waiting for your next stay with impatience.
Nice, the beach, the sun waiting for you.
The team joins me in thanking you for sharing your experience on the trip advisor site.
Waiting for you.
Hélène ROUGEVIN-BAVILLE
Directrice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have been to Nice at least a dozen times. The last10 years or so, we have stayed at Le Grimaldi. We love everything about it, especially the staff. Anne Duranton is one of our favorites. I highly recommend this hotel. Jeanette L.

Room Tip: Our favorite room is #57.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lockerbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionGrimaldi, Directeur général at Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear customer, dear Jeannette,
Thank you very much for putting a comment on the site Tripadvisor.
We are fortunate to have Anne among us, and have a team that has only one desire: to satisfy our customers.
We look forward to welcoming you for your next stay in Nice.
Looking forward to hearing from you soon.
Hélène ROUGEVIN-BAVILLE
Directeur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The hotel is in the perfect location and only 2 blocks from the promenade. It is also a 10 minute walk from the train station. The hotel is clean and tidy and all the staff we met were efficient, welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and they provided us with numerous tips for our stay. Breakfast was included and this consisted of various breads, cheese, ham, eggs, cereal, fruit, fruit juice, tea/coffee, cereal, jam/marmalade etc. Our only slight criticism was the lack of an English speaking channel on the television. Whilst appreciating that we did not go on holiday to watch television, it would have been nice to have caught up on the news on our return in the evening. As it had said BBC News and Sky News was available in the information pack and on booking we did ask at reception regarding this and was told there was no signal available. This is a minor criticism and would definitely not put me off highly recommending this well run and excellent hotel.

Room Tip: We were in a room over the main entrance and as it was hot in the evenings we left the patio door on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pembs_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionGrimaldi, Directeur général at Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Such a fantastic review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor!

Your kind words give us great joy. Our ambassadors take great pride in providing excellent service and I have shared your nice comment with all of them.

It would be wonderful for our ambassadors to have another opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Hélène ROUGEVIN-BAVILLE
Directrice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We have visited Nice on more than 20 occasions in the last 10 years and have spent all but 5 at Le Grimaldi. Our recent visit in early April confirmed yet again why we continue to do so. First and foremost we find the staff go out of their way to be as welcoming and as helpful as possible. This was typified by the way they assisted us during the volcanic ash episode a few years ago to get home as painlessly as possible. Anne Duranton has been there all this time and she treats us like long lost friends every time we visit and ensures everything is in order for our stay. David and Anais also deserve special mention. We usually stay in one of the 2 Junior Suites, the one overlooking Rue Grimaldi being our favourite as it has a balcony. The breakfast meets our needs perfectly, offering a good choice and as much, or as little, as you want. The location of Le Grimaldi is something else we like as it is situated half way between the station and the main bus stops, making it easy for travel along the Cote D'Azur. It is also a short walk to the Promenade Des Anglais and the shops and there are numerous restaurants within easy walking distance. We are looking forward to our next visit already!

Room Tip: If you can stretch to a Junior Suite it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionGrimaldi, Directeur général at Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Peter,

What a pleasure for me to read your comment.
You describe better than that whatsoever charming Hotel Le Grimaldi ****.
The whole team is there for you and you feel it.
For us it is a success!
Anne, David and Anais are affected by your lovely words of encouragement.
We look forward to seeing you on your next stay.
See you soon
yours sincerely

Hélène ROUGEVIN-BAVILLE
Directrice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Thiers / Train Station
Nice Excelsior Hotel
Nice Excelsior Hotel
#10 of 203 in Nice
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#8 of 203 in Nice
841 reviews
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture

Address: 15 rue Grimaldi, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre , Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#45 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £59 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the famous Promenade des Anglais and the beach of Nice in the heart of downtown, Le Grimaldi is ideally located for your stay in Nice. The hotel is the perfect illustration of our taste for the Provence and the Azur Coast. You will find a colourful, a warm atmosphere and allude to with modernity the eclectism of the Riviera. From 2pm until 7pm, be our guest at our HappyTime, enjoy one ice-cream tasting with original flavours of the Provence : lavander, amond milk, calisson and so many yummy and fresh others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grimaldi Nice
Le Grimaldi Hotel Nice
Grimaldi Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing