We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How did this hotel get 4 stars.Off ebay?”
Review of Hotel Nice Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nice Riviera
Ranked #54 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 11 October 2010

As soon as I walked into the foyer of this hotel I knew I had made a big mistake. This was reinforced immediately by an indifferent front desk check in and then being shown to a pokey,badly decorated room devoid of any character personality or charm. How on earth did it get 4 stars.I chose it through a deal from lastminute.com and immediately regretted not staying at the Holiday Inn where i had been comfortable and happy on previous trips.What swayed me was the swimming pool,but didnt realise this was located next to the reception area!! Terrible,avoid if you are looking for a four star experience.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mcgroovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanpastor, Duty Manager at Hotel Nice Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2010

We would like to let you know that in September the lead auditor of the internal oversight service from the tourism office proceeded to an audit and we fill all the criteria for a four stars hotel.

Then, concerning the swiming pool, please note that we are the only 4 stars hotel in Nice with an inside heated swiming pool, including jacuzzi, sauna and fitness, without any access fee and OPEN ALL YEAR LONG.

We are really surprised to notice that you found our front desk team "indifferent", usually it is one of our best quality. Judging by several guest's comment, we use to be "frendly", "warm welcoming", "attentive", "courteous"... We hope you will come back and change your mind on our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

564 - 570 of 1,313 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2010

i hit Nice tired and decided to treat myself to the 4 star rather then searching out my usual two star. Jean Mark at the front desk was polite and professional. his boss joined our conversation and was a decent fellow as well. the room unfortunately, was not impressive. nicely redone bathroom - although i can't understand the European penchant for the half shower door option - and comfortable bed but the decor was harsh and most importantly, the windows in the room were old style and didn't keep out the street noise. i know that the star system in Europe is different then in the US and i should have looked at the room before agreeing to take it, my bad, but i would think that i could at least count on a quiet nights sleep. the tv offered no BBC or SKYE network access which was disappointing. i paid $220 US for the room - had it been $150 it would have been more in the correct range. I had intended to stay four nights but the next morning i checked out and found something far more realistic - i won't mention the name here but if you search Nice hotels you'll find my review.
the windows really need to be upgraded and the price structure reevaluated. its just not that its a "bad:" hotel - just not a good value.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nd2trvmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

This was our 3rd stay in this Hotel over the last 4 years. We have always found it to be a very clean and welcoming place. the staff are great and speak good English. Our room was street facing but the sound proofing was very good and there was no disturbance. The air conditioning was superb and the bathroom was very clean and well appointed. We will certainly go back again when we next visit The Cote d'Azure.

The Hotel is located very close to Place Massena, The Promenade des Anglaise and the Old City (Vieux Nice).

With regards to the fitness centre: this was only 2 exercise bikes and 1 weights machine and the swimming pool was small: but we were not too bothered by this as we walked to the beach every afternoon for a swim which was so much more pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocWhoManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

I stayed here for 5 nights on the 12th september 2010 with my family,

The hotel is in a fantastic location its just around the corner from the main square, close to the main tram lines and 3 blocks back from the seafront.

The hotel is of a good standard it was well presented, it had a nice lounge/bar area, indoor swimming pool and sauna and all the staff on the front desk were all very helpful and friendly, helping us with public transport, sights etc.

The room was a good size especially as all 3 of us shared one room to keep the cost down, 1 large double and 1 double sofa bed, fridge, tv, tea/coffee, hairdryer, complimentary smellies, slippers and robes which was a nice added touch. bathroom good size, maids came everyday the room was very clean and very quiet rooms.

We didnt book breakfast as it was 17 euros per day which was very expensive as all the cafes near by did breakfasts for about 7 euros.

Nice is lovely, the front promenade is fantastic, the old town and the quaint squares are lovely theres always somewhere to stop for food or a drink.

We got the train to Monaco, Cannes and Antibes the trains are really frequent and are about 5-7 euros return and only take 30 mins to all these destinations which are all fab places to visit.

We were lucky we as we managed to go to the yacht festival in cannes whilst we were there which was amazing.

would definatley recommend this hotel, nice and the others resorts on the cote'd azur for a long weekend or even a week as there is so much to see.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mims6321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Quiet 5th floor twin room with well equipped, exceptionally clean bathroom.
All of the hotel staff were charming and exceptionally helpful at all times.
The hotel was conveniently situated for walking everywhere & only 5 mins from the sea.
We went out for breakfast each day en route to our desired destination and did not have time to use the pool/gym so cannot comment on either.
Enjoyed our brief visit to Nice and the sunshine was a bonus, particularly as rain had been predicted for the three days we were there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazel2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We stayed for a week in this hotel from 18th the 25th August 2010, no complaints hotel was in great location, just 10 mins walk to beach, and old town. the staff were very friendly and breakfast good. would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Nice. Took a train to Monaco and Cannes, well worth visiting.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HENDERSONBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

the hotel was great and the staff we first class. When we stayed it was never to busy and I always got the pool to myself. The room was more like a 5 star hotel. It so close to the city centre but feels very peaceful once into your room and only about 10 mins walk to the beach or the old town. We just loved this hotel and we were travelling on motorbike which we got into the Garage so were safe and secure for the duration of our stay. Only down side I feel was that it was a bit expensive to park. Will return some time!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d_macdonald60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Musiciens
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#37 of 203 in Nice
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nice Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nice Riviera

Address: 45 rue Pastorelli, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Nice
#30 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £76 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nice Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Nice Riviera Hotel places you in the heart of Nice on the French Riviera, only a few minutes from the glorious beach and a short walk from the renowned Promenade des Anglais; ideally placed whether you are visiting for pleasure or on business. The Nice Riviera Hotel's 120 attractive rooms welcome singles, couples and families. Guest rooms present a quality contemporary ambience with interiors of soft pastel tones, full-length window drapes and fabrics of warm rich colour on smooth bamboo parquet flooring and modern amenities for your comfort and convenience. A 65m² daylight conference room with A/V equipment can host 70 people. Each day starts with a rich buffet breakfast and you can find relaxation in the cafe lounge bar enjoying a free WiFi connection. The Wellness area includes an indoor heated pool, sauna, jacuzzi and a fitness corner to help you rejuvenate and revive the spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nice Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Nice
Nice Riviera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing