We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Covenient hotel, comfortable room, indoor pool”
Review of Hotel Nice Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nice Riviera
Ranked #46 of 204 Hotels in Nice
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Covenient hotel, comfortable room, indoor pool”
Reviewed 30 October 2010

I read the reviews and was a bit puzzled by the difference of views. A key reason to choose for an October stay was the indoor pool. The hotel is also very central, being near the main shopping area and not far from the old town and promenade des anglais. The breakfast was included in the price for my booking, so I wasn't bothered about its price (though if I had had to pay 18 euro I probably would have had breakfast at the cafe across the road). The rooms were pleasant and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I booked in a package with British Airways which was good value.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snorbens64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    559
    205
    82
    36
See reviews for
304
590
36
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

We booked this hotel breakfast included with British Airways. We stayed here four nights (October 10-13). We originally booked this hotel for three nights but had to stay another night because of the train strike. The hotel gave us the same room for the additional night which was nice of them to do. Our bedroom and bathroom is spacious (see attached photos). It has a balcony as well (see attached photos). We had the air condition on in our room which helped keep the street noise down. There is free internet access (not WiFi) in our room. Television channels are in French. We were told the hotel is in the process of changing their cable service. Our room has a small refrigerator, ironing board only, Braun Tassimo coffee and tea maker, Carte Noire expresso, Twinings Darjeeling Tea, sugar, milk and cookies. The hotel staff at front desk and breakfast room were helpful and courteous and spoke English too. The hotel is clean. It has a lounge/bar (seat 25 people) and has free WiFi !!!!!! Next to the lounge/bar area is an indoor swimming pool, sauna and 3 exercise machines. Breakfast which is pretty much the same every day includes, juice, tea, coffee/espresso, bottled water, yogurt, fresh fruits, creme fraiche, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, croissants. The location is fantastic. It's close to the main square (5 minutes walk), beach front (20 minutes walk), train and bus station (20 minutes walk), shops (5 minutes walk) and restaurants next to hotel.

By the way, if you like seafood go to Boccaccio. The hotel recommended Boccaccio to us which is located at 7, Rue Massena. We ordered paella for two and it was delicious. We wanted to sit out in the patio area and had to wait about 15 minutes for a table. The restaurant gave us complimentary drink each while waiting. There are many nice restaurants near Boccaccio.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Imee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

From the stained old carpet to the gaudy decor, this hotel is a dump. It is nowhere close to a 4-star hotel ---- I would say 2-star at best. The carpet in the hallways and throughout our room was worn and visibly stained. The staff were indifferent towards us and our concerns, and obviously didn't care when we cut our stay short (by 4 nights) in order to move to a better hotel. The location, while convenient enough, is questionable at night. I wouldn't want to be outside around there after dusk.

There are so many other nice, acceptable hotels to stay at --- don't settle for this one.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CloisterGarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanpastor, Duty Manager at Hotel Nice Riviera, responded to this review, 21 October 2010
We would like to let you know that since your stay in our hotel we did some renovations and changed all the carpeting floor in the hallways. And please note that in November we will do some new renovations concerning wallpapers.

In September the lead auditor of the internal oversight service from the tourism office proceeded to an audit and we fill all the criteria for a four stars hotel.

As the furnitures are concerned, we take note of your remark and advise our owners for our next renovations.

Concerning our location, our hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Nice, a few steps away from the beaches and the Old Town, close to the Exhibition Centre and the shopping area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford on Avon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Well located hotel on a relatively quiet road towards the west (harbour) end of town. Close to flower/,fruitmarket. 5minutes to trams and 15 minutes to bus terminal, Only 10 minutes to promenade and right in centre of general and up- market shops.
Only B&B but great selection of restaurants close by. Breakfast is adequate.
Use the hotels own taxi transfer service for hotelto airport--considerably cheaper than a street taxi.
No lounge and the bar area seats only 25 people. All TV programmes have to be paid for(even CNN). Not an hotel for children.. Own car park but Euros 20 for first night and 15 for suceeding nights.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0bin1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham,England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

As soon as I walked into the foyer of this hotel I knew I had made a big mistake. This was reinforced immediately by an indifferent front desk check in and then being shown to a pokey,badly decorated room devoid of any character personality or charm. How on earth did it get 4 stars.I chose it through a deal from lastminute.com and immediately regretted not staying at the Holiday Inn where i had been comfortable and happy on previous trips.What swayed me was the swimming pool,but didnt realise this was located next to the reception area!! Terrible,avoid if you are looking for a four star experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcgroovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanpastor, Duty Manager at Hotel Nice Riviera, responded to this review, 23 October 2010
We would like to let you know that in September the lead auditor of the internal oversight service from the tourism office proceeded to an audit and we fill all the criteria for a four stars hotel.

Then, concerning the swiming pool, please note that we are the only 4 stars hotel in Nice with an inside heated swiming pool, including jacuzzi, sauna and fitness, without any access fee and OPEN ALL YEAR LONG.

We are really surprised to notice that you found our front desk team "indifferent", usually it is one of our best quality. Judging by several guest's comment, we use to be "frendly", "warm welcoming", "attentive", "courteous"... We hope you will come back and change your mind on our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

i hit Nice tired and decided to treat myself to the 4 star rather then searching out my usual two star. Jean Mark at the front desk was polite and professional. his boss joined our conversation and was a decent fellow as well. the room unfortunately, was not impressive. nicely redone bathroom - although i can't understand the European penchant for the half shower door option - and comfortable bed but the decor was harsh and most importantly, the windows in the room were old style and didn't keep out the street noise. i know that the star system in Europe is different then in the US and i should have looked at the room before agreeing to take it, my bad, but i would think that i could at least count on a quiet nights sleep. the tv offered no BBC or SKYE network access which was disappointing. i paid $220 US for the room - had it been $150 it would have been more in the correct range. I had intended to stay four nights but the next morning i checked out and found something far more realistic - i won't mention the name here but if you search Nice hotels you'll find my review.
the windows really need to be upgraded and the price structure reevaluated. its just not that its a "bad:" hotel - just not a good value.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nd2trvmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

This was our 3rd stay in this Hotel over the last 4 years. We have always found it to be a very clean and welcoming place. the staff are great and speak good English. Our room was street facing but the sound proofing was very good and there was no disturbance. The air conditioning was superb and the bathroom was very clean and well appointed. We will certainly go back again when we next visit The Cote d'Azure.

The Hotel is located very close to Place Massena, The Promenade des Anglaise and the Old City (Vieux Nice).

With regards to the fitness centre: this was only 2 exercise bikes and 1 weights machine and the swimming pool was small: but we were not too bothered by this as we walked to the beach every afternoon for a swim which was so much more pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocWhoManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Musiciens
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#41 of 204 in Nice
1,010 reviews
Centre
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Centre
Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#21 of 204 in Nice
1,026 reviews
Centre
Hotel Aston La Scala
Hotel Aston La Scala
#50 of 204 in Nice
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nice Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nice Riviera

Property: Hotel Nice Riviera
Address: 45 - 47 rue Pastorelli, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Nice
#26 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nice Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Nice Riviera Hotel places you in the heart of Nice on the French Riviera, only a few minutes from the glorious beach and a short walk from the renowned Promenade des Anglais; ideally placed whether you are visiting for pleasure or on business. The Nice Riviera Hotel's 120 attractive rooms welcome singles, couples and families. Guest rooms present a quality contemporary ambience with interiors of soft pastel tones, full-length window drapes and fabrics of warm rich colour on smooth bamboo parquet flooring and modern amenities for your comfort and convenience. A 65m² daylight conference room with A/V equipment can host 70 people. Each day starts with a rich buffet breakfast and you can find relaxation in the cafe lounge bar enjoying a free WiFi connection. The Wellness area includes an indoor heated pool, sauna, jacuzzi and a fitness corner to help you rejuvenate and revive the spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , 5viajes2012 S.L., Southall Travel, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Nice Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Nice
Nice Riviera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing