We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine for a business hotel but not luxurious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nice Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Nice Riviera
Ranked #43 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fine for a business hotel but not luxurious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

My wife and I attended a business conference in the hotel and it was fine for that, but we would have been a bit disappointed had we been coming on a romantic weekend. Staff were friendly and helpful, but the decor is rather tired.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pericles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    514
    188
    75
    31
See reviews for
266
551
34
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Settle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

We enjoyed staying at this hotel for 8 nights in October. We would definitely stay there again!!
It's so close to everything, the old town is a couple of blocks away, Place Massena is a 2 minute walk. Close to restaurants, and the big shopping mall. 10minute walk to the bus station that takes you to Monte Carlo for 1euro. Very close to the beach as well.
The staff were amazing, made you feel like an individual rather then just another person staying at the hotel. They remembered our names and room number everytime we came back after a day out.
Breakfast was ok, was included in our trip. Hot food only contained Sausages and Bacon and Scrambled eggs which can get boring after 8 mornings in a row.
Our executive room on the 6th floor had a large balcony with sun loungers, it had free internet and was very clean! Only downer was you could hear the lifts going up and down all night.
Overall a great hotel!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissLillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

Stayed here for 7 nights in October with young children. Staff were wonderful and very helpful nothing was too much for them, especially the manager gentleman. Room was very modern exceptionally clean and spacious. On arrival to our room the children were left colouring book and crayons which i think was a very nice touch. We were breakfast inclusive through Expedia, the breakfast was fantastic with lots of choice, hot food including bacon, sausage, scrambled egg and pancakes with maple syrup. Lots of cereals, yoghurts, hams, cheeses, huge variety of breads, pastries, croissants, and a fantastic Nespresso machine for fresh espresso if you wanted. Breakfast was always very busy as they had a couple of tour parties in but that never once impacted on our quality of food or service.

Location is just perfect with 5 mins walk to Place Massena and surrounded by shops and restaurants (small brasserie diagonally across from hotel was fantastic with great croque monsier!)

Hotel pool is just off reception which was great for the kids, pool was perfect size for them to swim and have fun, also hot tub and sauna for adults to enjoy too very luxurious surroundings made it a nice relax after a busy day in Nice. There were always towels for use at the pool readily available.

On departure, the manager gave my two children a small jar of sweets for their journey - what a lovely thought! It's all these small details that make a holiday special.

Overall cant thank staff and management enough for their kindness and extreme professionalism to make sure we had a great holiday. Can't wait to go back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happytraveller362691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

We very much appreciated the location. All the staff with whom we had contact were warm, friendly and obliging. We had special requirements for religous reasons and these were also dealt with in an understanding manner. We do intend visiting Nice again and hope that we will be able to stay there one more time. The Saturday price was expensive compounded by the cost of daily parking in the underground car park. On the other hand the hotel is centrally located so that may well be a factor in determining the the high price. Having said that the car park is most convenient and there is a direct lift from the car park to the various floors inside the hotel. As we had been on a touring holiday this was a very welcome feature

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nevking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

I read the reviews and was a bit puzzled by the difference of views. A key reason to choose for an October stay was the indoor pool. The hotel is also very central, being near the main shopping area and not far from the old town and promenade des anglais. The breakfast was included in the price for my booking, so I wasn't bothered about its price (though if I had had to pay 18 euro I probably would have had breakfast at the cafe across the road). The rooms were pleasant and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I booked in a package with British Airways which was good value.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snorbens64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

We booked this hotel breakfast included with British Airways. We stayed here four nights (October 10-13). We originally booked this hotel for three nights but had to stay another night because of the train strike. The hotel gave us the same room for the additional night which was nice of them to do. Our bedroom and bathroom is spacious (see attached photos). It has a balcony as well (see attached photos). We had the air condition on in our room which helped keep the street noise down. There is free internet access (not WiFi) in our room. Television channels are in French. We were told the hotel is in the process of changing their cable service. Our room has a small refrigerator, ironing board only, Braun Tassimo coffee and tea maker, Carte Noire expresso, Twinings Darjeeling Tea, sugar, milk and cookies. The hotel staff at front desk and breakfast room were helpful and courteous and spoke English too. The hotel is clean. It has a lounge/bar (seat 25 people) and has free WiFi !!!!!! Next to the lounge/bar area is an indoor swimming pool, sauna and 3 exercise machines. Breakfast which is pretty much the same every day includes, juice, tea, coffee/espresso, bottled water, yogurt, fresh fruits, creme fraiche, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, croissants. The location is fantastic. It's close to the main square (5 minutes walk), beach front (20 minutes walk), train and bus station (20 minutes walk), shops (5 minutes walk) and restaurants next to hotel.

By the way, if you like seafood go to Boccaccio. The hotel recommended Boccaccio to us which is located at 7, Rue Massena. We ordered paella for two and it was delicious. We wanted to sit out in the patio area and had to wait about 15 minutes for a table. The restaurant gave us complimentary drink each while waiting. There are many nice restaurants near Boccaccio.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

From the stained old carpet to the gaudy decor, this hotel is a dump. It is nowhere close to a 4-star hotel ---- I would say 2-star at best. The carpet in the hallways and throughout our room was worn and visibly stained. The staff were indifferent towards us and our concerns, and obviously didn't care when we cut our stay short (by 4 nights) in order to move to a better hotel. The location, while convenient enough, is questionable at night. I wouldn't want to be outside around there after dusk.

There are so many other nice, acceptable hotels to stay at --- don't settle for this one.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CloisterGarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanpastor, Duty Manager at Hotel Nice Riviera, responded to this review, 21 October 2010
We would like to let you know that since your stay in our hotel we did some renovations and changed all the carpeting floor in the hallways. And please note that in November we will do some new renovations concerning wallpapers.

In September the lead auditor of the internal oversight service from the tourism office proceeded to an audit and we fill all the criteria for a four stars hotel.

As the furnitures are concerned, we take note of your remark and advise our owners for our next renovations.

Concerning our location, our hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Nice, a few steps away from the beaches and the Old Town, close to the Exhibition Centre and the shopping area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Musiciens
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#53 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#24 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nice Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nice Riviera

Property: Hotel Nice Riviera
Address: 45 - 47 rue Pastorelli, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Nice
#24 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nice Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Nice Riviera Hotel places you in the heart of Nice on the French Riviera, only a few minutes from the glorious beach and a short walk from the renowned Promenade des Anglais; ideally placed whether you are visiting for pleasure or on business. The Nice Riviera Hotel's 120 attractive rooms welcome singles, couples and families. Guest rooms present a quality contemporary ambience with interiors of soft pastel tones, full-length window drapes and fabrics of warm rich colour on smooth bamboo parquet flooring and modern amenities for your comfort and convenience. A 65m² daylight conference room with A/V equipment can host 70 people. Each day starts with a rich buffet breakfast and you can find relaxation in the cafe lounge bar enjoying a free WiFi connection. The Wellness area includes an indoor heated pool, sauna, jacuzzi and a fitness corner to help you rejuvenate and revive the spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Lastminute, ACCOR, Priceline, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Nice Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Nice
Nice Riviera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing