We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent option only if you get a good deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture
Ranked #25 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Decent option only if you get a good deal”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Go for it if central, convenient location matters and you get a good deal from travel agent website (probably packaged with flight and comes to much lower than quoted in the hotel website). The room is reasonably clean and in acceptable condition (comes with wardrobe, desk, chair, small TV and not much space in between) but the quality of service varies (Katerina the receptionist was speedy in responding to queries prior to arrival but the male one I actually met didn't smile a lot). Light sleepers may not like the room because the door is very thin that you'll hear anyone walking past your door, especially at night and especially if like me, your door is near the lift. No view from the windows to speak of. Shower etc worked fine but on day 1 we got poor quality towels that small bits were left all over our skin after wiping.

The best bit of the hotel is the location. 5 mins to the beach and 15 mins to Cours Saleya. Next door to a couple of mini markets, patisseries, sushi shop and loads of restaurants. Very close to car park in Rue Grimaldi (EUR8 per night). But the hotel itself doesn't have parking bay. In fact the road in front of it is one way, narrow and can be busy at times. You'll have to drag your suitcase from the car park (2 mins walk and watch out for the dog poo).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HahaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    256
    113
    41
    9
See reviews for
122
295
31
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

You need to know, I am not dodgy as I am backpacker since long time. Here I was on a business trip and had a normal price hotel.

> First step in the room, not really clean and there was hair in the bath. There was a terrible smell out of the drainage. So I expect that whole the carpet in the hotel was not really clean at all (at least it smelled like that).
> In the night, the walls are like paper! As people next to my room came home, it sounded like they are standing next to me. You hear all the water lines really good and the doors quailty is poor (lot of light from the corridor came in).
> In the morning, breakfast was not good at all. Cheap toast bread and low quality food. Coffe was okay at least. I just ate breakfast there once, the other days I went to the market right next to the hotal before I went to work.
> The staff was ok. Not bad, not good, Just ok.
> The location was really good. It's a 5-7 minute walk to the old town of nice and the shopping street is right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amikaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We had a room at the front of the hotel, on one of the top floors. We could see the Med from our window. The hotel is 5 minutes from the Med and the 'Old town". The staff are amazingly helpful and the location was fantastic. We would definately go back!
It has a lovely garden room were you can relax at the end of the day.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyMoffatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The undeniable benefit of this hotel is the location, as has already been pointed out by many other reviewers here. We booked a special offer via a website and were able to have a triple room for a very reasonable price.

Unfortunately when we arrived we were given a double room, not a triple. We went back down to reception to inform them and they said they would bring a 3rd bed to the room for us at some point later that day. I was surprised by this as I couldn't see how they would fit a 3rd bed in such a small room.

A single fold out camp style bed was provided.The maid who delivered the bed was determined to squeeze it in but had to permanently lodge the bathroom door open in order to do so, which wasn't really appropriate for 3 friends who were sharing a room, unless they wanted to see each other whilst using the toilet or having a bath. I was going to go and fetch the manager to complain about this but couldn't really be bothered with the conflict because we just wanted to get on with our holiday. We rearranged the furniture ourselves and managed to close the bathroom door.

The other negative point that I would make is that some of the facilities featured on the hotel's own website were not provided. When requesting the promised tea and coffee making facilities we were told that these were not available in the hotel. The room safe for personal artefacts and valuables was available, but had to be hired at an extra cost.

Would I stay here again? Only if there was a very special offer price and I was on a short trip where I wasn't expecting to spend much time in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank U2fanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The hotel itself is a fairly standard, medium-sized, medium-priced, medium-quality place serving a decent continental breakfast…but it is in an absolutely brilliant location. Ten minutes walk from the Vieille Ville, three minutes walk from the Promenade des Anglais and opposite a boulangerie, a cheese shop, a wine shop and a mini-supermarket/greengrocer. Given that there are also more than a dozen reasonably priced restaurants within a stone’s throw and a multi-storey car-park at the end of the road for those mad enough to take a car into central Nice, it could not have been in a better position.
Little to say about the bedroom: ours was perhaps a little on the small side and the walls were paper thin, but it was scrupulously clean and the bed was comfortable – which is all that you really need on one week’s holiday. The staff were polite and friendly, and the main receptionist even gave us the choice of conversing in English or French. If I were to return to Nice, there is every chance that I would return to the Hotel De Flore.
And one piece of advice - Car parking is prohibitively expensive in central Nice; public transport throughout the Region is excellent and cheap, so it is a no-brainer: Don't hire a car!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SemperteFallant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Fabulous location, walking distance to old part of Nice, beach, bus stations, shops, very good service. We always choose this hotel when visiting Nice

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nino G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Typical "boutique" sized rooms, nice sized bathroom and excellent central location. One negative is the door locks. They used old fashioned keys and they do not lock on their own when you close the door, and you can use the key from inside the room. My teenagers stayed in their own room and I cautioned them not to use the key to lock the door when they were inside the room because they wouldn't be able to get out in an emergen y. I instructed them to just rely on the security bar instead.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmbtravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAVEILLAN, General Manager at Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your review. The hotel of Flore follows closely all your comments through the web site and then examines and treats them with attention. We often work to make your stay more pleasant and have the pleasure to inform you that several things are already envisaged to satisfy your wishes and requests. Thank you for your interest.
Best regards

Robert Aveillan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#36 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Hotel de la Fontaine
#5 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Suede
Hotel Suede
#54 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture

Property: Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture
Address: 2 rue Maccarani, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Quality Hotel Flore Nice Promenade)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#23 Family Hotel in Nice
#24 Business Hotel in Nice
#36 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Flore Nice Promenade is a 4-star hotel ideally situated in the centre of Nice. The hotel offers 65 rooms that have been carefully thought out and designed for your well-being with a refined, warm Provençal decor. From 6pm, let's enjoy of our HappyTime with Provençal savors in our living room or in the patio : drinks, wines, apetizers... let be tempted yourself ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Flore Hotel
De Flore Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing