We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four stars? It's a joke! Expensive. Stay away.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Nice Centre
Ranked #57 of 204 Hotels in Nice
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Four stars? It's a joke! Expensive. Stay away.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We booked the Novotel Nice Centre through a website, which presented the hotel quite nicely, thus we decided to give it a go. It is nicely located near a tram stop (approx. 3-5 min walk), which is pleasantly convenient.

CHECK-IN
Usually, hotels swipe your card for incidentals, so when we were asked for a credit card, it was no news to us. To charge us €300 for a room that is absolutely bland and -literally- nothing to break, I found it extortionate. Very disappointing that there was no explanation why the hotel has such a policy. Don't hurry to say that 'this is France, there's a language barrier...'. Everyone, literally everyone speaks good English in Nice. It is an international touristic destination, so such behaviour is not acceptable. We were told that the room is a Superior room at 6th floor (top floor), which created expectations. Mind that this is a 4-star hotel.

ROOM
Far from Superior... Awful view to the deserted exhibition centre, noisy air-conditioning, dirty carpet (hasn't been hoovered for ages). The toilet seat is located in a separate cabinet (yet it is that small), which is not suitable for the average, claustrophobic person. No access to a washing bin when in the small cabinet. There is no space, for example a shelf, to put your book, phone, iPad when you're done. The floor hasn't been mopped for ages as well.

SMELLY DRAINS
I couldn't even wash my hands... Each time the tap was running, a strong -particularly unpleasant odour- was coming out of the washing bin drains. The air extraction grills were all dusty and filthy. For a 4-star hotel, this is unacceptable.

BED & PILLOWS
Really uncomfortable mattress. No pillow choices. Current pillows are not really pillows...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgileWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre M, Directeur général at Novotel Nice Centre, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear M Wolf,

I am sorry to read that your stay experience in our hotel hotel did not meet your expectations and that these issues affected your stay in our hotel.

Please be assured, that we always do our utmost to provide the best service to our clients.
It is true that at the check in a pre-authorization is made on the credit card in order to guarantee the incidentals such as the bar, restaurant, parking etc.. The amount is calculated in function of the length of the stay of our guests, and it is automatically cancelled at their check out. We apologize if at the check in we did not explain it clearer. Concerning your disappointment about the room indeed, my staff put you on the last floor, on the quietest side of the hotel in order to make you spend a restful stay in our beautiful city, I sincerely regret that you did not appreciate this attention.
We will start a refurbishment program at the beginning of next year of our rooms. It is true that tastes and colours change quickly, and our rooms dating from 2008 may sometimes appear "old".
All our rooms are based on the Novotel standard, with toilets separated from the bathroom as we often welcome families that really appreciate this configuration. For your comfort, you can also find in each room an ergonomic desk and a night table to store your objects.

I do hope that, despite these issues, we will be able to welcome you again as a client of Novotel.

Sincerely,
Pierre Messe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    467
    236
    61
    48
See reviews for
351
264
59
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Visited with 2 kids but the room was really small and the hotel is kind of getting old. Location is good, parking is nearby (20 Euro per night) but entrance is confusing and difficult with special codes etc. Not tried any food in the hotel so cannot comment really

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre M, Directeur général at Novotel Nice Centre, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Madam,
We are happy to read that you have spent a nice stay with us and that we gave you entire satisfaction.
Most than half of our rooms are specially designed for accommodation of families, they all are 25m2 with double sofa bed or baby beds, bathroom and toilet separated. Children are very special guests in Novotel hotels all over the world with play area, video games, libraries, swimming pool and outdoor playground and lots of equipment at your disposal on a simple request.
Always concerned by our clients satisfaction, we have started and will continue until the first half of 2014 a refurbishment of our rooms (the oldest ones dating of 2008).
We sincerely thank you for your trust and hope to welcome you again in our hotel
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Overall everything about this hotel was decent, nothing more nothing less. The breakfast buffet was quite vast but the quality wasn't top notch.

Rooms were clean and fresh and the shared areas were OK but nothing more. The location is quite a bit from downtown.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mekkmekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
554 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

After several weeks of traveling through Europe, we booked one night at Novotel. We were not disappointed with this hotel but realize its location and what what your being offered. Sourcing food is a challenge, knowing that we picked up some items from the many food outlets at the airport. Microwave and kettle in the room. Free wifi was great, free movies on the t.v., and the room was clean and quiet. Computer/printer in the lobby free for printing off your boarding pass etc. Language a bit of a challenge but the staff were friendly. If you plan on staying here, this shouldn't be your hotel central, for business if your working in the commercial area close by but that's it. All in all we were pleased with this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Challenger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

I had quite a lot of problem communicating with the staff here for small issues like food order or other small requests as well and finally had to go to the manager level to get my problems solved.
The location is also a little away from the main beach stretch and the real downtown area although it's called nice centre so may be good for a business traveler but from tourist point of view not the best location if you want to be close to where the action is ....the hotel massena or any in that area is more comfortable from tourist point of view.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GIRISH1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre M, Directeur général at Novotel Nice Centre, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Novotel Nice Centre.
We have taken note of your comments and rest assured they will be considered to continue to improve our quality and customer satisfaction.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Ok, so I decided to stay at this hotel as it appeared to be a little up market. I was attending a conference at the Acropolis Convention Centre.
Check in was fine, no problems there and there are 2 bottles of mineral water "included" in the price of your stay. Buffet breakfast have plenty of choices, but the scrambled eggs are a strange consistency and very salty, and the sausages are very greasy. All for 15 euros. Not the best value as you can grab a cheaper breakfast in the many cafes around the hotel. To get to the conference centre you have to cross a vast car park, which is fine during the day, but maybe not the best at night. The daily room clean was fine, but there are bits of things stuck to the walls - is it chewing gum? Not that I wanted to investigate closely, but this hotel could do with a renovation. The reception, lounge, bar and restaurant are fine, but the rooms really are only so-so.

2 bad things:

1. Why does the 2nd floor smell of diapers/number 2s? This persisted for my whole stay I mean, why do I have to walk through a corridor that smells of sewage?

2. I enquired at the reception where the best place to take the 98 bus back to the airport, and was instructed by the lady to go to Place Garabaldi. When I got there, bus 98 never stopped there to pick up passengers and there are signs everywhere indicating that 98 only dropped passengers off only. Tip: walk to the closer bus stop adjacent to the Lycee. The bus will pick you up there. Also, you can buy your tickets at any tram ticket machine.

In summary, avoid. Not the 4 stars it cliams.... maybe 2 1/2 - 3 at a push

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TDMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre M, Directeur général at Novotel Nice Centre, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Guest,

I regret that your stay in our hotel does not have to give you complete satisfaction despite standards quality we strive to implement daily.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and I will take advantage of your opinion to continue our quality improvement process.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to Novotel Nice Centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nice hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a number of nights when visiting Nice. It is a good hotel which seems to take itself reasonably seriously - everything is very clean and the standard of service is quite high. It is fairly generic, though, but I suppose at least you know what you are getting that way.

The area its in is slightly outside of the touristy part of Nice but there is also a tram stop nearby which takes 5 minutes to get to the old town part. You could also walk (and I did a number of times) and it doesn't take too long (15 mins) - it seemed fairly safe to me so I disagree with the experience of some others.

The hotel has a rooftop pool and some sun loungers which are useful for sunny days despite the curiously low temperature of the swimming pool. The television also has a broad selection of international channels. We didn't eat there but thought the breakfast was a bit expensive - there is a small patisserie just past the tram stop (5 min walk) which is open until about 8pm most nights where we just collected a few things for the next day. There are also quite a few nearby grocery shops on the tram route.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre M, Directeur général at Novotel Nice Centre, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you to share your experience at the hotel.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Nice Centre and we are glad you appreciated all the service we can provide.

We hope to have the luck to welcome you again as soon as possible at Novotel Nice centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame
Cimiez
NH Nice
NH Nice
#27 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Musiciens
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#54 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Riquier
Hipark Nice
Hipark Nice
#68 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Musiciens
Holiday Inn Nice
Holiday Inn Nice
#18 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Nice Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Nice Centre

Property: Novotel Nice Centre
Address: 8 Parvis de l Europe | GPS: 6 Avenue Marechal Lyautey 06000 Nice, 06300 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Nice
#34 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#36 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Nice Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Novotel Nice Centre Vieux Nice Old Town, freely escape towards Cannes, Monaco and Corsica. Ideally located at 10 min from the old town, the flower market, the sea and the famous "Promenade des Anglais". Our hotel, in front of The Acropolis Congres Center, is fitted with a free Wifi Access, and provides 5 meeting rooms. Take time to relax in our panoramic swimming pool, our splendid patio or at the wellness area just in front the hotel. Be gourmet in our restaurant by tasting our bio dishes selection. Allow yourself to be pampered at the Novotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Lastminute, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Nice Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Nice Centre Hotel Nice
Accor Nice Centre
Nice Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing