We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Nice Centre Vieux Nice
Nearby Hotels
US$365
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$345
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice(Nice)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$372
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$311
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Hotel le Florence(Nice)(Great Value!)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Best Western Alba Hotel(Nice)(Great Value!)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$380
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Villa Nice Victor Hugo(Nice)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$362
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$403
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$361
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,216)
Filter reviews
1,216 results
Traveller rating
267
534
282
77
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
534
282
77
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stoprooftop poolold townconference centeraccor hotelsreception stafffamily roommin walkthe hotel is cleanhotel is locatedsmall fridgestayed at this hotel for nightsplace garibaldicroissantsbuffet breakfastcoffee machinesea front
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
285 - 290 of 1,216 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Where to start. Priceline rated this a 4 start which is a total joke. It is located in a very non-pretty part of town, somewhat dirty and extremely out-dated. Front desk lady was nice but didn't understand priceline and the fact that we already paid for the room. So that took 20 mins to resolve. The rooms advertised non-smoking yet reeked of cigarettes. We called the manager to come confirm so we could change rooms and he said it smelled fine and handed us deodorizing spray but noted to please save some for other guests. The bed was on a slant so one of us was sleeping downhill all night. The advertised "rooftop" closes at 8. And isn't very appealing to begin with. The carpet had stains and cigarette burns. The AC in the rooms did not work well and the dial did nothing when trying to adjust. Overall a roach box. We also gave a card to the hotel for incidentals. It was voided and supposedly zeroed out. Upon return home we were told we were charged tax for the rooms because they forgot to do so. Again they don't get the fact that we bought on priceline and shouldn't be paying tax.

Room Tip: All rooms seem depressing and no good view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCJONESEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre M, Directeur général at Novotel Nice Centre Vieux Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear guest,

I am sorry to read that, in spite all our implication, your stay in our hotel did not meet your expectations and that these issues affected your satisfaction during your stay in my hotel.
It is true that your check in took a little a bit longer than usual but it was because there was a misunderstanding concerning the rate you booked on priceline; My staff took the time to contact the agency with you and they confirmed us that you paid for the room and Vat but that the city taxes were an extra charge that should be paid on departure.
The location of the hotel is located at 1, 5 km from the old town (the heart of the city Centre of Nice and the Town Hall) from the port of Nice and of the sea. The tram situated just behind the hotel or a visit with the town blue bikes, they may be another way to discover the city of Nice.
Please be assured, that I will do my utmost to provide an appropriate follow up to all your other comments that have already been shared with my staff.
I hope that, despite these inconviniences, you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful city and we will have the pleasure to welcome you again

Best regards
Pierre Messe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We booked the Novotel Nice Centre through a website, which presented the hotel quite nicely, thus we decided to give it a go. It is nicely located near a tram stop (approx. 3-5 min walk), which is pleasantly convenient.

CHECK-IN
Usually, hotels swipe your card for incidentals, so when we were asked for a credit card, it was no news to us. To charge us €300 for a room that is absolutely bland and -literally- nothing to break, I found it extortionate. Very disappointing that there was no explanation why the hotel has such a policy. Don't hurry to say that 'this is France, there's a language barrier...'. Everyone, literally everyone speaks good English in Nice. It is an international touristic destination, so such behaviour is not acceptable. We were told that the room is a Superior room at 6th floor (top floor), which created expectations. Mind that this is a 4-star hotel.

ROOM
Far from Superior... Awful view to the deserted exhibition centre, noisy air-conditioning, dirty carpet (hasn't been hoovered for ages). The toilet seat is located in a separate cabinet (yet it is that small), which is not suitable for the average, claustrophobic person. No access to a washing bin when in the small cabinet. There is no space, for example a shelf, to put your book, phone, iPad when you're done. The floor hasn't been mopped for ages as well.

SMELLY DRAINS
I couldn't even wash my hands... Each time the tap was running, a strong -particularly unpleasant odour- was coming out of the washing bin drains. The air extraction grills were all dusty and filthy. For a 4-star hotel, this is unacceptable.

BED & PILLOWS
Really uncomfortable mattress. No pillow choices. Current pillows are not really pillows...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AgileWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre M, Directeur général at Novotel Nice Centre Vieux Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear M Wolf,

I am sorry to read that your stay experience in our hotel hotel did not meet your expectations and that these issues affected your stay in our hotel.

Please be assured, that we always do our utmost to provide the best service to our clients.
It is true that at the check in a pre-authorization is made on the credit card in order to guarantee the incidentals such as the bar, restaurant, parking etc.. The amount is calculated in function of the length of the stay of our guests, and it is automatically cancelled at their check out. We apologize if at the check in we did not explain it clearer. Concerning your disappointment about the room indeed, my staff put you on the last floor, on the quietest side of the hotel in order to make you spend a restful stay in our beautiful city, I sincerely regret that you did not appreciate this attention.
We will start a refurbishment program at the beginning of next year of our rooms. It is true that tastes and colours change quickly, and our rooms dating from 2008 may sometimes appear "old".
All our rooms are based on the Novotel standard, with toilets separated from the bathroom as we often welcome families that really appreciate this configuration. For your comfort, you can also find in each room an ergonomic desk and a night table to store your objects.

I do hope that, despite these issues, we will be able to welcome you again as a client of Novotel.

Sincerely,
Pierre Messe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Visited with 2 kids but the room was really small and the hotel is kind of getting old. Location is good, parking is nearby (20 Euro per night) but entrance is confusing and difficult with special codes etc. Not tried any food in the hotel so cannot comment really

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre M, Directeur général at Novotel Nice Centre Vieux Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Madam,
We are happy to read that you have spent a nice stay with us and that we gave you entire satisfaction.
Most than half of our rooms are specially designed for accommodation of families, they all are 25m2 with double sofa bed or baby beds, bathroom and toilet separated. Children are very special guests in Novotel hotels all over the world with play area, video games, libraries, swimming pool and outdoor playground and lots of equipment at your disposal on a simple request.
Always concerned by our clients satisfaction, we have started and will continue until the first half of 2014 a refurbishment of our rooms (the oldest ones dating of 2008).
We sincerely thank you for your trust and hope to welcome you again in our hotel
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Overall everything about this hotel was decent, nothing more nothing less. The breakfast buffet was quite vast but the quality wasn't top notch.

Rooms were clean and fresh and the shared areas were OK but nothing more. The location is quite a bit from downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mekkmekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

After several weeks of traveling through Europe, we booked one night at Novotel. We were not disappointed with this hotel but realize its location and what what your being offered. Sourcing food is a challenge, knowing that we picked up some items from the many food outlets at the airport. Microwave and kettle in the room. Free wifi was great, free movies on the t.v., and the room was clean and quiet. Computer/printer in the lobby free for printing off your boarding pass etc. Language a bit of a challenge but the staff were friendly. If you plan on staying here, this shouldn't be your hotel central, for business if your working in the commercial area close by but that's it. All in all we were pleased with this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Challenger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews