We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No a/c in July?!!”
Review of Hotel Beau Rivage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beau Rivage
Ranked #73 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Croton on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“No a/c in July?!!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Let me first say that the hotel is located in a great place.

It is across from the beach, and you have access to a 'for-pay' private beach area.

Unfortunately, upon check-in, we were casually told that the a/c would be out of service for the 4-days while we were there...they did offer to give us free water...what a slap in the face!

When we got to our (very small) room, the carpeting was wet from a leak. I had to go back downstairs, and after several minutes of negotiating, we got an upgraded room and complimentary breakfast.

I guess if you don't push and complain, you don't get anywhere. But, I wish they were more customer oriented, and had done something when we first arrived!

Not a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responsable Qua... Q, Quality Manager at Hotel Beau Rivage, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for posting your comments and are pleased that you appreciated the location of our hotel.

It is right that we do had worries with the air conditioning during a few days. Engineers have been working all day long on the air-conditioning system but could not make it with a shorter delay however now everything is resolved.

we prefered to directly inform all our guests upon arrival so they would not be surprised. Also we made our best to make the situation the less painful we could. We complimentary offer still or sparkling water from the mini bar everyday and fresh drinks were available all along the day in the lobby area everyday as well.

This unpleasant event is definitely not representative of the hotel Beau Rivage, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience encountered.

We are really sorry for the annoyance with the wet carpet in your first room. Our reception team is available to provide help and support to the guest encoutering any kind of trouble because Quality and guest contentment remains to us a priority, for that reason we always try to find the best solution for our guest’s comfort.

We understand your insatisfaction, we were pleased to offer an upgrade with complimentary breakfast as an allowance.

The Beau Rivage Hotel has different room categories from classic to Junior Suite with different size, they vary from 20m2 to 35m2 depending on the category.

We sincerely wish to avoid any doubt about the service the hotel can offer.

Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    257
    168
    81
    48
See reviews for
71
355
42
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rostrevor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Pleasant room and decent size bathroom, very comfortable bed. Staff pleasant and helpful. Wonderful location within walking distance for all our requirements,buses, shops, trains and restaurants. Breakfast expensive and disappointing. Would consider staying again but would like breakfast included in price.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking courtyard bigger and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirew1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responsable Qua... Q, Quality Manager at Hotel Beau Rivage, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for posting your comments and are pleased to read that you appreciated the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff. It is important to us that our guests feel at ease.

The rate of our breakfast correspond to the prices one can find in a 4 stars hotel, we offer continental buffet with : bacon, beans, scrambled eggs, different varieties of cheese and delicatessen, yoghurts, organic products, hot drinks, fruit juice, pastries, wide variety of breads, etc...

All team and myself, look forward to welcoming you again at the Beau Rivage Hotel.

Yours faithfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is ideally located in the old town one block back from the Promenade. So if it's beach time and restaurants you are after then it's difficult to go wrong with the Beau Rivage. Misses getting full marks as the air conditioning wasn't working whilst I was there but I am sure getting that fixed will be at the top of the list of priorities this week. I should also mention that the reservations manager was kind enough to allow me to make a very last minute adjustment to my booking when my plans changed unexpectedly. Thank you :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaynesBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responsable Qua... Q, Quality Manager at Hotel Beau Rivage, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you to have taken time to share with us your impressions about our hotel, We are pleased to read that you appreciated the location of our hotel and friendliness of our staff.

It is right that we do have worries with the air conditioning during your stay, but now everything is resolved. In fact, a failure occurred with the A/C system. Engineers have been working all day long on the air-conditioning system but could not make it with a shorter delay

This unpleasant event is definitively not representative of the Hotel Beau Rivage, and we do apologize for the inconvenience encountered during your stay at the hotel. Customer satisfaction remains our priority.

We are pleased to learn that our reservation manager found a solution for your change of plans.

We hope to welcome you again at the Hotel Beau Rivage.

Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a lovely, relaxing stay in this stylish hotel. Staff were efficient, helpful and friendly. Hotel was located amongst the 'buzz' but still peaceful and quiet. Room was a decent size, with quiet air con and beautifully decorated. Breakfast till 10.30, provided a good variety of choices, handy although a little pricey.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Priestgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responsable Qua... Q, Quality Manager at Hotel Beau Rivage, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your trip! I am delighted to read that the hotel & the team could contribute to making it an enjoyment moment for you.

I am very grateful for your kind words and be assured that they will be shared with each team member.

We look forward to your next stay!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
212 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Small hotel well located by the flower market and one block from the Promenade. Strange, dated decor and tiny bedrooms and average bathrooms. Only one person could move about at a time. We had a room overlooking a sort of roof garden and left our windows open at night which was a plus as I detest air con. The pillows were horrible ( I like down pillows) and these gave me a neck ache. The breakfast was good, with fruit, yoghurts, breads, cheese, cold meats, eggs etc etc. The coffee however was deplorable, it tasted like paint stripper. The wifi worked very well (so important) , the reception staff were friendly and helpful and the young male waiter at breakfast very cheery. There is a small bar - nothing special but a nice to have. I would stay again.

Room Tip: First floor is good as you don't have to wait for the lift and courtyard facing was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responsable Qua... Q, Quality Manager at Hotel Beau Rivage, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I am very grateful that you took the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor!

It is with great interest that I read your detailed review of our hotel. We do take seriously into consideration all the comments made by our guests.

Regarding your remarks for the pillows, our front desk and housekeeping manager are at your disposal for any request.

Concerning your comment on the coffee quality, we have passed on the remarks to our food and beverage manager in order to resolved this point, and deeply regret that you were disappointed.

Our priority remains guests satisafction. Our reception is at your disposal 24h/24 for any queries or remarks regarding the service or quality. Do not hesitate to inform our staff of any discontentment during your stay in order for us to solve immediatly the matter.

For your next visit in Nice, come discover our new rooms categories, with a larger space and a terrace. Do not hesitate to ask more information at our reservation department, our staff will be happy to assist you.

We hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived in the middle of FIFA and the start of school holidays.
It was great to be back on French soil, we were greeted genuinely and all our questions were answered well. We had found previously in other countries staff were keen to tell us what they thought we should know. We loved the location and again easy access to transport and we travelled by train to Cannes for a day trip and did a tour of Monaco and Monte Carlo
Which were both fun. Last night in Nice we had dinner on the beach, l would skip this and possibly just have drinks with friends. There are numerous restaurants and street stalls close by. We did have noise issues even though France lost.
The room was bright and airy, the breakfast was good. A great place for lots of action, friendly people and plenty to do.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maree W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responsable Qua... Q, Quality Manager at Hotel Beau Rivage, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read that you appreciated the location and our staff.

For your next visit in Nice, come and discover our new room categories, facing the courtyard and dedicated to relaxation. For your next booking, do not hesitate to ask more information to our reservation department, our staff will be happy to assist you.

We hope to see you again soon and feel free to call us for your next reservation.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Arrived early, staff efficient and polite. Room was apparently being cleaned (more of that later).

Nice bathroom, very nice bed and pillows, tea and coffee etc. But, windows had only shutters, no curtains or blinds, so it was light early and noisy.

Worst of all the room was tired and dirty. I could write the word "DUST" on the window seat, the carpet had many cigarette burns and the bedside table was very scruffy.

Good location, but tired rooms. The website shows the beach, but it's over the road and 20 Euros each to use.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TDYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responsable Qua... Q, Quality Manager at Hotel Beau Rivage, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

It is with great interest that I read your detailed review of our hotel. We do take seriously into consideration all the comments made by our guests.

Concerning your comment about the room, we have passed on the remarks to our housekeeping manager in order to strengthen their team training, and deeply regret that you were disappointed.
This unpleasant event is definitely not representative of the Hotel Beau Rivage, please accept our apologies

The beach is located on the seafront on the famous « Promenade des Anglais ».

Our priority remains guests satisafction. Our reception is at your disposal 24h/24 for any queries or remarks regarding the service or quality. Do not hesitate to inform our staff of any discontentment during your stay in order for us to solve immediatly the matter.

We sincerely wish to avoid any doubt about the service the hotel can offer. Hence, we hope to welcome you again at the Hotel Beau Rivage to prove you that we can offer a quality service.

Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nice hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel Albert 1er
#41 of 205 in Nice
589 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Nice
#74 of 205 in Nice
2,002 reviews
Hotel West End
#47 of 205 in Nice
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beau Rivage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beau Rivage

Property: Hotel Beau Rivage
Address: 24 rue Saint Francois de Paule, 06300 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#35 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beau Rivage 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Beau Rivage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing