We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible room but good location..”
Review of Hotel Beau Rivage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beau Rivage
Ranked #73 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Terrible room but good location..”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I feel bad giving 2 stars because the staff working at the hotel were really kind and great people but for the price we paid for what was supposed to be a 'better' than average room was not worth it. The photos posted by Tripadvisor users are much more accurate than the hotel website photos. Our room was TINY and constantly smelled damp/musty! We didn't get bathrobes or anything else we saw in the hotel promotion photos online either. The bathroom was extremely run-down, old, with black mould and the tiles were not clean. After every shower- the old, stained, dirty carpet in the bedroom was soaked some how and that made the entire room damp and humid. It felt like the air conditioning wasn't working (although it was) just because of how damp and humid the room was from poor water drainage. It was so damp that by the second night my husband got sick and we spent the rest of our trip tending to his head cold! The bed was comfortable but the room had paper thin walls and every time the people from surrounding rooms closed their room doors, our room door would jolt and make a slam sound too.. That was annoying! The location is PERFECT! 60 second walk to the beach, minutes to Cours Saleya with tons of nice restaurants and old Nice to enjoy.. That is what you are paying for, not the room quality. The quality is in the service and location but the state of the room is very poor and needs to be Renovated!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responsable Qua... Q, Quality Manager at Hotel Beau Rivage, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read that you appreciated the location and the friendliness of our staff.

It is with great interest that I read your detailed review of our hotel. We do take seriously into consideration all the comments made by our guests, and we are this way going to react.
We apologize for the all the inconvenience you have encountered during your stay at the Beau Rivage.

We have passed on your remarks to the housekeeping manager and engineer manager. We are very sorry to learn that your husband fell ill during his stay.

For your next visit in Nice, we invite you to discover our new rooms categories with patio view, a peace full place in the heart of the old town, dedicated to relaxation. Do not hesitate to ask more information at our reservation department, our staff will be happy to assist you.

We feel sorry that in spite of all this we haven't been able to fulfil your expectations.

Our priority remains guests satisafction. Our reception is at your disposal 24h/24 for any discontentment during your stay in order for us to solve immediately the matter.

We sincerely wish to avoid any doubt about the service the hotel can offer.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    257
    168
    81
    48
See reviews for
71
355
42
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Our waiter was in a hurry to either get off work or have an abhorrence for Americans. We were hurried in the taking of our order, no water arrived nor bread. I had steak tartar which arrived minutes after the order was taken. Obviously this dish is normally made at the table for one. This was preprepared and left in the sun. The taste was off. My fault in not returning the dish. Instead I asked for mustard and hot sauce us salt and pepper. Our waiter was very unhappy with me. My request finally arrived along with the toasted bread. He was arrogant and unkind. We left without him even asking if the food was alright since I left most of it untouched. Needless to say FOOD POISONING. 24 hours in bed. Thank you Beau Rivage and thank you chef.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindacriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
431 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Our second visit here some 18 months on. The place has had a face-lift and the rooms have been significantly upgraded. We chose a Superior room which was on the side and not too noisy. If you require a very quiet night then ask for a room at the back.
The a/c was one of the best I have come across- much needed in August. Very comfortable bed and there are tea facilities and a corkscrew in the room.
For some reason we only got turn down service on our last night- but this was an unexpected surprise. Will stay again- and there are many deals on the internet.
Its location is second to none for exploring Old Nice- and the 98 bus from the airport stops 50 yards from the entrance ( Ring the bell on the bus as it turns off the Promenade des Anglais). It also has its own beach-pebbly not sandy- which is 20 euros per day for a lounger and only 100 yards from the hotel across the main road.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are distinctly quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oilmanDorset_U_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responsable Qua... Q, Quality Manager at Hotel Beau Rivage, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your loyalty !

We would like to thank you for posting your comments and are pleased to read that you appreciated the location of our hotel. Your feedback is very precious for us.

We are happy to know that you have discover our renovate rooms. For your next visit in Nice, come discover our new rooms categories with patio view, a peace full place in the heart of the old town, dedicated to relaxation. Do not hesitate to ask more information at our reservation department; our staff will be happy to assist you.

We have a pleasure to offer to our guest, tea/coffee facilities from “superior rooms”. We are happy to read that you have beneficed of turndown service, it is a little plus !

To meet the expectation of our customers we have contracted a partnership with a car park near the hotel. Our guests are able to park at the flower market at the special package rate of 20 € per night instead of 26 €.

We hope to welcome you again at the Hotel Beau Rivage.

Yours faithfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Good points
- Excellent location - right next to the 'vielle ville', beach and promenade.
- Allowed us to check in to our room well before 3pm which was great after an early flight
- Comfortable bed and nice tv

Bad points
We were excited to stay in this hotel as we had paid quite a lot of money and the website promised good things, however when we opened the door to our room we were very disappointed. The room was small, a bit worn out and worst of all there was a huge damp patch right beside the wall of the distinctly average bathroom, the shower/bath was leaking quite heavily into the carpet. To top it off we found a pair of white trousers in the wardrobe. We decided to ask reception if we could get a different room but the response was very rude, "no, we are fully booked". I explained about the leak and the grumpy receptionist replied that she would send someone to fix it. She then proceeded to ignore me. Needless to say no one ever appeared to fix the leak and we resorted to covering it up with plastic laundry bags and our suitcase. When we left it was soaking underneath. This was certainly not to our standards or what we would expect from a 4 star hotel.

Another problem is the noise levels or the very thin windows to be more precise. They appear to be single glazed so you are able to hear every single noise on the street. The music from the bars died down at about 1am but then we could hear lots of people singing and shouting and then the bin men cleaning up well into the early hours of the morning with lorries.

Advice - avoid room 417, get an courtyard room if possible.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmat93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responsable Qua... Q, Quality Manager at Hotel Beau Rivage, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are pleased to read that you appreciated the location of our hotel. It is with great interest that I read your detailed review of our hotel. We do take seriously into consideration all the comments made by our guests. Your feedback is very precious for us.

Concerning your comment about room and reception staff, we have passed on the remarks to our housekeeping manager and front office manager in order to strengthen their team training. We deeply regret that you were disappointed. These unpleasant event are definitely not representative of the Hotel Beau Rivage, please accept our apologies.

Provide a better soundproof quality is one of our major priorities of the moment. The hotel has already invested in the windows replacement in order solve this problem.

The Beau Rivage Hotel has different room categories from classic to Junior Suite with different size, they vary from 20m2 to 35m2 depending on the category. You can enjoy our new rooms categories with patio view, quieter and bigger, a peace full place in the heart of the old town, dedicated to relaxation. Do not hesitate to ask more information at our reservation department, our staff will be happy to assist you.

We feel sorry that in spite of all this we haven't been able to fulfil your expectations.

Yours faithfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Hotel Beau Rivage is a 4* hotel, however, it would not be my first choice in Nice. Location, fantastic and you assume from the pictures that it faces the sea, it doesn't! It has its own (great) beach area with facilities, bar, restaurant, massage, beds, towels etc that the hotel faces the sea... all the rooms either look over the street or an internal courtyard. Our room was tiny (Rm230) in fact so small, I had to go out to change my mind as there was not room to do it in the bedroom! More importantly, NO POOL. The shore in Nice is very stoney and very hard to get in and out of the sea so a pool would have been great. Staff great. Room clean with great facilities. Bar small and a little lacking in personality. However, right outside bars and restaurants within a very short walk.

Room Tip: State you do not want one of the smaller rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyEgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responsable Qua... Q, Quality Manager at Hotel Beau Rivage, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you to have taken time to share with us your impressions about our hotel, We are pleased to read that you appreciated the location of our hotel in the heart of the old town, just behind the famous “Promenade des Anglais”.

It is with great interest that I read your detailed review of our hotel. We do take seriously into consideration all the comments made by our guests. We do apologize for the inconvenience encountered.

The Beau Rivage Hotel has different room categories from classic to Junior Suite with different size, they vary from 20m2 to 35m2 depending on the category. For your next visit in Nice, come discover our new rooms categories, with a larger space and a terrace.

We are surprised and deeply to learn that our bar is not been at your taste. Our bar is a place where you can enjoy a relax moment on sofa, cosiness, modernity and warmth describe bar atmosphere, with cocktails homemade created by our barmen.

Our reception is at your disposal 24h/24 for any queries or remarks regarding the service or quality. Do not hesitate to inform our staff of any discontentment during your stay in order for us to solve immediatly the matter.

Our priority remains guests satisafction.

In our respectful greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
116 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Beau Rivage has an excellent location in Nice, very close to the beach and main shopping streets; that was what we were looking for and we were not disappointed. The drawback was quite a lot of noise from the street and also the room was a bit smaller and bit a more worn than we were expecting.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casper B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responsable Qua... Q, Quality Manager at Hotel Beau Rivage, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I am very grateful for your feedback.

We are pleased to read that you appreciated the location of our hotel in the heart of the old town, with many events and entertainments!

For your next visit in Nice, come discover our new room’s categories with patio view, a peace full place in the heart of the old town, dedicated to relaxation. Do not hesitate to ask more information at our reservation department, our staff will be happy to assist you.

Provide a better soundproof quality is one of our major priorities of the moment. The hotel has already invested in the windows replacement in order solve this problem.

We hope to welcome you again!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked this hotel last minute Its a lovely hotel, the receptionist angeline was fantastic, very friendly and even though we were 3hrs early a room was available we were given room 507 ,quite a large room the bed was really big and comfortable. The air con was working there was tea and coffee making facilities ,lots of other goodies (at a price)
Breakfast was well presented and varied. Everything you could wish for really.
This hotel is just off the beach and close to the square, flower market and old town a great position
We loved our stay

Room Tip: We found 507 quite big room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marydelahay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responsable Qua... Q, Quality Manager at Hotel Beau Rivage, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your trip! I am delighted to read that the hotel & especially Angeline have contributed to making it an enjoyment moment for you.

For your next visit in Nice, come discover our new room’s categories with patio view, a peace full place in the heart of the old town, dedicated to relaxation.

We have contracted a partnership with the Beau Rivage private beach, where you can enjoy the largest private beach on the French Riviera! Between pebbles and teak, discover the two atmospheres offered by the Beach Beau Rivage Luxury a Zen and stylish space and Trendy more fashionable and relaxed.

Our priority remains guests satisfaction.

All team and myself, look forward to welcoming you again at the Beau Rivage Hotel.

Yours faithfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel Albert 1er
#44 of 205 in Nice
589 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Nice
#74 of 205 in Nice
2,002 reviews
Hotel West End
#49 of 205 in Nice
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beau Rivage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beau Rivage

Property: Hotel Beau Rivage
Address: 24 rue Saint Francois de Paule, 06300 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#35 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beau Rivage 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Beau Rivage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing