We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value - very friendly and helpful service”
Review of Hotel Gounod Nice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Gounod Nice
Ranked #63 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, England
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent value - very friendly and helpful service”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

This is an attractive building with somewhat tired decor but our room was very quiet, spacious and comfortable. There was a separate shower room as well as a bathroom, which we found very convenient. We arrived late without a reservation: we were welcomed and directed to an excellent Nicois restaurant. All staff were pleasant and helpful. There's good parking right next to the hotel. The Promenade des Anglais is a short walk away. Overall, extremely good value.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWSUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    250
    75
    25
    10
See reviews for
91
256
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

From the outside the hotel is a real gem! Inside....we had to do a quick cleaning of the bath, one item of clothing went missing and never was found, the place was okay, but nothing to get excited about.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Family4Adenture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Stay date: May 2011
Stay length: 2 nights
Room type: Double with queen size bed

Main good thing:
Location - 2 minutes walk either to the beach/promenade, center and railway station
Main bad thing:
Very tired look inside the hotel/room.

Location of the hotel is very convenient. Almost all main places reachable not more than in 2 minutes by feet. Beach/promenade, centre of the city, casino, city tour stop, sightseeing train, railway station.

Balcony for my room - I just love such things :)

Hotel is good looking from the outside. Room size was good.
Inside looks very, very, very tired (desperately needs renovation).
Cleanliness of the room. Well, my room had spider net on the closet, dirt stains on sink.
Bed was too short for me ( I'm 1m 85cm (6,07 feet) hight). Legs was hanging over the bed when sleeping :)

On my next stay will definitely try to look for other hotel in the same area.

If inside of this hotel will be hardly renovated/refurbished, I would stay there again as l like the feeling of such French style hotels.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BoWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore, maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Great location......close to the train station, water and city sights. Rooms were very small with little room for 2 people and suitcases. Had to walk across the bed to get to the closet. Bathrooms were small and no shower curtain.......just a tub with a hand held shower head. Desk people were cordial and spoke English. No mini bar; had to pay for internet; air conditioner not working in our room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phylbro1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxboro, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Hotel Gounod Nice offered my family a good place to stay a few blocks from the beach. We rented a suite, which included one room with a queen size bed and one room with two twin beds. The beds were firm, as we found all the beds in the four places we stayed in France. The bathroom was well equipped with a hand-held shower in the tub, a bidet, sink and toilet. It was good size by French standards. Breakfast was included for us, since we stayed three nights. The croissants were fresh, the hot beverages were good, and the other items included cold and hot meats, yogurt, fruit (fresh apples cut and added to canned fruit) and scrambled eggs, served buffet style.

It is located about a ten minute walk from the Nice Ville train station, a twenty minute walk to Old Nice, and a fifteen minute walk to the beach. All the front desk people spoke good English and were polite and helpful.

Their sister hotel next door offers an indoor Jacuzzi and an outdoor, rooftop, "solar heated" pool available to Hotel Gounod guests, but which we did not explore.

If you are looking for an older but well maintained hotel, not in the most "touristy" section of town, which offers good value, try Hotel Gounod.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan_David11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

A bit disappointed would be how I would rate our stay at Hotel Gounod. It could have been really cute and fun, with a bit of extra work on management's part.
We were led to believe this was a 3 star hotel that was renovated but somewhat basic and not in the best part of Nice. They were right about basic and not the best location.
The outside of the building itself is cute - a classic old style south of France place with balconies and curlicues giving it lots of character. Unusually for Europe, the inside is worse than the outside. "Fawlty Towers" sprang to mind when we walked in - lugging our bags up the 6 or so steps. It wasn't the staff, they were pleasant enough and spoke English. It was the decor - tired, cheap and just wrong. Office style ceilings, a vending machine and a tacky bar in the lobby, cheap prints on the walls, ageing carpet and yuck tiles on the balcony. Very old lift (with an attitude problem we decided - it didn't seem to like coming to the 5th floor, and would start and stop with a sudden jerk, though it seemed to always be there when we wanted to go up fortunately). A bit of an 'old' smell in the halls and lobby. Insufficient hot water for the shower. Nice new fittings in the bathroom though. The french doors and windows were double glazed so our room on the 5th floor was quiet. It was as though they'd started to spend money on renovations then stopped. Breakfast, whilst not fantastic quality, was very ample, and good value for money"Speln. We didn't use the neighbouring "Splendid" hotel's spa facilities as the outside looked pretty ordinary when we walked past. We liked our balcony and on our last night had champagne and ice-cream up there and laughed about our stay - it was quirky and the staff were doing a good job in a bit of an 'old grande dame' place.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cmsljoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Täby
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

A very nice hotel to stay in, at least in this season. We stayed there four nights. The only thing missing was a shower curtain! We stayed in a very big twinroom. nice furniture. Very good breakfast. Easy to walk to interesting places in Nice.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murklan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Musiciens
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#41 of 204 in Nice
1,011 reviews
Hotel les Cigales
#46 of 204 in Nice
475 reviews
Centre
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Suede
Hotel Suede
#56 of 204 in Nice
508 reviews
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Centre
Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gounod Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gounod Nice

Property: Hotel Gounod Nice
Address: 3 rue Gounod, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Musiciens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gounod Nice 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city center, 400 meters from the beach, casinos, and boutiques area, the Gounod is charming 3 stars hotel typical of Nice architecture from the early 1900s'43 rooms, private parking, air conditioning, Wifi (nominal charge), satellite tv. Gounod's guests have acess to the panoramic pool and heated jacuzzi of the Splendid Hotel & Spa, next door, under same management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Superbreak UK, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gounod Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing