We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet hotel in convenient location”
Review of Hotel Gounod Nice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Gounod Nice
Ranked #63 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sweet hotel in convenient location”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Located in good and quiet location Nice -- easy to walk to many destinations. Roooms are straight forward and clean andcompletely reasonable rates for what you get. Very nice hotel staff -- helpful, especially Andre. Would recommend for anyone looking for a mid range hotel in Nice, great city.

Room Tip: I would suggest getting on a top floor facing out, but there is only one elevator, so sometimes have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CowSong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    250
    75
    25
    10
See reviews for
91
256
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
590 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We enjoyed the Gounod. It was friendly (some staff did not speak English [my problem, of course, not theirs]) good breakfast. The rooms was, perhaps, a little tired, but we've stayed in much worse for much more money.
The location is a short walk from everywhere and has the benefit of being quiet in the evening/night.
Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Bob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

This is a true french style 3 star hotel and after reading some of the negative comments, some people seem to be expecting a four star plush hotel for the price of this one!
I have just stayed here for a week with my two children, aged 14 and 11. The room was plenty big enough. Nicely decorated. Spotlessly clean with new bedding everyday. Ok there was no shower curtain, but unless you have octopus arms, the water stayed in the bath. The staff were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was good - we didn't expect a hot selection to be on offer. Use of the facilities next door at their sister hotel was brilliant. My children loved the pool. Hope to return next summer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breenie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Hotel is in good location being less than 10 minutes walk from both the seafront and railway station. Check in and out were both speedy.

We had a room on the 4th floor which was modern and spacious. The room faced the rear of the hotel. The bed was kingsize. The bathroom had a bath and a separate shower. There was also a separate dressing area.

The breakfast room was small but we always got a table without waiting. The breakfast selection was good as was the service when required.

We had access to the swimming pool , bar and restaurant at the Hotel Splendide next door although we did not have time to use these facilities.

All in all, Hotel Gounod exceeded my expectations and I will certainly return

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDB00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Travelled here with my partner for a three nite stay and thoroughly enjoyed this hotel and nice.
Although the gounod has limited facilities we found our room and the staff to be of a high standard also the breakfasts were quite acceptable.
We used the pool /jacuzzi on the rooftop of the hotel splendid next door which was very pleasant
We loved Nice, it is a great city for walking round and the choice of restaurants is amazing.
Also we would recommend jumping on a bus and visiting the mountain village of Eze.
We would be happy to return to this hotel as we had a very enjoyable time.

Room Tip: Our room was no503 and was a large double with a large bathroom and space to lounge with a couple of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickyblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Once again, the Hotel Gounod exceeded expectations. Mr. Meyer, the Manager, was as charming, knowledgeable and courteous as ever and Laurent, in the breakfast room , provided excellent service. The maids kept the room spotlessly clean. The view from the balcony is without compare and the hotel is is located in a very elegant part of Nice, close to the the main shopping streets of Jean Medecin and Gambetta. It is within easy walking of the Promenade and the Old Town. I wnat to give a special mention to the restaurant of the Splendid (Gounod's sister hotel next door) which has a panoramic view of Nice, the sea and the towns leading to Italy with a wonderful chef, Jean-Louis Bund. .

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nifr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I reviewed this Hotel Gounod a couple of years ago, and said it was "the most charming hotel in the world." Well, guess what? We went back last year and this year, and it is still the most charming hotel in the world. Been there around 10 times. The concierges are most respectful and very friendly. They are always extremely helpful whenever any questions are asked, especially Eric. The breakfasts are absolutely delicious, including eggs, sausage, cereal, orange juice, cheeses, croissants, fruit-filled and chocolate pastries, ham, and others. The breakfast room is waitstaffed by Laurent, who is one of the kindest people we have ever met. And a great worker, of course. The rooms are kept spotlessly clean, and all cleaned by the time we finished breakfast. Many rooms have balconies, which are very pleasant and relaxing. Hotel is located only a few minutes from the gorgeous Promenade, and only a few minutes from delicious restaurants, such as Le Jockey, and Meyerbeer Restaurant. Rooftop dining and a pool at the Splendid Hotel next door (sister hotel) provides great food and a panoramic view of the city. We will absolutely go to the Hotel Gounod again, perhaps again this year.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MusselsMarinara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Musiciens
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#41 of 204 in Nice
1,011 reviews
Hotel les Cigales
#46 of 204 in Nice
475 reviews
Centre
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Suede
Hotel Suede
#56 of 204 in Nice
508 reviews
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Centre
Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gounod Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gounod Nice

Property: Hotel Gounod Nice
Address: 3 rue Gounod, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Musiciens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gounod Nice 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city center, 400 meters from the beach, casinos, and boutiques area, the Gounod is charming 3 stars hotel typical of Nice architecture from the early 1900s'43 rooms, private parking, air conditioning, Wifi (nominal charge), satellite tv. Gounod's guests have acess to the panoramic pool and heated jacuzzi of the Splendid Hotel & Spa, next door, under same management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gounod Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing