We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My annual stay at the Gounod - and it's as lovely as ever”
Review of Hotel Gounod Nice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Gounod Nice
Ranked #65 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Back again at the Gounod - I think this is my 13th or 14th stay, from which you will gather I am very satisfied with it!

The hotel has such charm and character. Its central location is an easy cheap and quick bus journey from the airport (and then about 5 minutes walk from the seafront).

The hot and cold buffet breakfast is always plentiful and fresh.

The staff are charming.

The rooms are immaculately clean.

There is free use of the computer in the reception area. Wifi is available in the bedrooms - at varying prices for different amounts of time. Just under 20 euros for unlimited use for 30 days was a real bargain compared with what some hotels elsewhere charge!

I will of course return to the Gounod. I love Nice, and simply wouldn't even THINK of staying anywhere else other than this delightful hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side of the hotel are a little quieter than at the front of the building.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Perpetuatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others know about your stay with us; it is always a pleasure to have feedbacks, and it is even more pleasant when it comes from repeat guests.
We look forward to welcoming you again and hope you will enjoy your next stay as much as the previous ones
have a splendid evening
michel tschann - gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gounod Nice
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2012

Nice 3-star hotel in a beautiful old building in the centre of Nice. Location is perfect for tourists arriving by train and by air- not more than 1km from the main railway station, many buses, including airport shuttle, also stop there. For drivers hotel has a convenient but pricey private parking 18 euros per night. The room I got for half-price (promo) was tiny and would not be comfy for a couple, the access to small balcony was blocked by a desk. The room of my parents had enough space and accessible nice balcony but it was quite expensive. Both rooms had renovated, impeccable bathrooms (one with bathtub and the other with shower) and flat TV with several French, Italian and There is 1 small, a bit worn elevator. Breakfast is inexpensive and good for French standards. There are many shops, cafes and restaurants within walking distance, the sea with famous Promenade des Anglais is 5 minutes away. Old Nice quarter with Marche aux Fleurs is 30 minutes on foot. The guests can use a spa and roof-pool in neighbouring Splendid hotel but I didn't check that option.

Room Tip: ask for a size of a room, some rooms are too small for a couple
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank skoczmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2012

bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others know about your stay with us; I was delighted you enjoyed the hotel and its location ! as you noticed, Nice is pleasant all year round and I hope you also enjoyed our weather
I look forward to personnally welcome you next time you stay with us
have a splendid day
michel tschann - gm shinhotels (at) hotmail.fr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

The hotel has the total French feel about it. It's not posh but clean and you are cared for by the very pleasant staff. We stayed B&B and the breakfast was very enjoyable. Our break in June was made all the better for staying here, compared to other hotels we have used. The saying 'You get what you pay for' is true and this place is a bargain.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

bonjour thanks a lot for your kind comments; we were delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you again
When you come again, please do not hesitate to let me know personnally
have a wonderful day and a very happy new year

michel tschann - gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The Hotel Gounod was the right choice for the right price. Our stay at the end of November was the off-season, thus making it very affordable for the location a 4 blocks from the sea. Keep in mind that you get what you pay for, so keep your expectations reasonable as you likely look for this hotel in search of a mid-priced option.

We had a 2 bedroom suite to accommodate our family of 4, something that seemed to be particularly challenging in Nice. Room 209 had 4 single beds in 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, and small kitchenette (mini-fridge, sink and stove-top). The lobby and breakfast room were welcoming, but the guest rooms showed their age with considerable wear and tear. Our room on the Rue Gounoud was not as quiet as some other reviews mentioned, but others may have been off the street. On-site parking was a bonus, at an additiona charge, but the street parking was extremely limited. The hotel is within walking distance to the train station.

The breakfast was OK, standard offering of cereals, yogurt, cheese, ham & salami, canned fruit, and a choice of croissant or another pastry. Frankly, it was not too much and not exactly memorable. Staff was helpful upon request and provided solid recommendations for dinners that met our needs very well. Interestingly enough, they did not recommend their supposedly more luxurious sister hotel, The Splendid, and I understand why. The Splendid hotel restaurant was OK, but nothing special aside from a panoramic view.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EUHawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

bonjour thanks a lot for your kind comments; we were delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate the value/price ratio, and look forward to welcoming you again
When you come again, please do not hesitate to let me know personnally
have a wonderful day and a very happy new year

michel tschann - gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights room had tv shower ac balcony & a mini fridge which was good to keep a few beers in because going out was a rip off .staff were friendly & helpful .breakfast room got busy and ran out of food one morning .the train station is nearby but you are a bit of a walk frm the old town

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktyop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This was our first stay at the Gounod and having read recent reviews for this hotel, we were not disappointed. The room was large on the fifth floor and very quiet, which was important to us. We were able to sit on the balcony enjoying a glass of wine on most days of our stay in the beginning of October. The weather was excellent and as all guest are able to use the facilities at the adjacent hotel, all needs are catered for. The hotel staff were very helpful and comminicated well in English. The rooms may be slightly tired but does not detract from the enjoyment of our stay.

Room Tip: The street outside the hotel is not busy, but room at the back will be quiet. Some balconies are on...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tregde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Our room (208) in this hotel was very small, no room to unpack properly as wardrobe was very small. Ceiling was peeling, paintwork on wood was in need of updating, the paint on the shutters was flaking off and in dire need of renovation.

Bathroom was nice but lacked shower curtain and bath mats so water went on floor making it very slippy.

Staff were ok generally but did not engage very much with guests unless you asked them questions. There was no real bar in reception where you could get a drink apart from a machine.

Breakfast room was freqeuntly cramped and on one occasion nearly ran out of food (3/9/11).

Although breakfast was continental style, some sausages and srambled eggs were available but would not reccomend either. Croisants were ok as were selections of jams, fruit cheeses and coffeee was ok.

Location to centre was good and only a short walk (uphill) to railway station.

Would not stay here again as felt very cramped and stay in hotel was only downside to our holiday, have seen better and cheaaper hotels close by so will try next time round.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the outside wall facing the street.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrzejtadeusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Musiciens
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#39 of 204 in Nice
1,025 reviews
Musiciens
La Malmaison Nice
La Malmaison Nice
#26 of 204 in Nice
167 reviews
Hotel les Cigales
#48 of 204 in Nice
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Suede
Hotel Suede
#59 of 204 in Nice
513 reviews
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Centre
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gounod Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gounod Nice

Address: 3 rue Gounod, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Musiciens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: £52 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gounod Nice 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city center, 400 meters from the beach, casinos, and boutiques area, the Gounod is charming 3 stars hotel typical of Nice architecture from the early 1900s'43 rooms, private parking, air conditioning, Wifi (nominal charge), satellite tv. Gounod's guests have acess to the panoramic pool and heated jacuzzi of the Splendid Hotel & Spa, next door, under same management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Gounod Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing